Your Voice, Your Words, Your Story

(Thanks to member Eric Radcliffe, who sent us this lovely poem, which beautifully describes the importance of each of our voices.  Thank you, Eric!)

We breathe life into words when written and spoken,

they become the expression of our vibration, for they speak of who we are, of the choices made, and of who we wish to be.

You are the sound behind the words that live in laughter and tears from the lessons that made us, taught us, when we faced and overcame our fears.

They become the words of innocence found in children

in their verse and rhyme, for they create, inspire, build the desire to Love all.

And of the words that should have been spoken, written,

but were left asleep, to lay deep, and later on for sorrow to follow.

To find your Pen, your voice, is to make your own space

It is standing up to take your place

4.5 2 votes
Post Rating
Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
24 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Hridini Pandey
Hridini Pandey(@hridini-pandey)
2 years ago

Beautiful poem!

Melissa Taggart
Melissa Taggart(@melissa-taggart)
2 years ago

I love the last line of the poem. It is something I have just learned to do in recent times. Beautiful poem, Eric!

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Carrie OLeary
Carrie OLeary(@carrie-oleary)
2 years ago

I particularly like this line ‘but were left asleep, to lay deep, and later on for sorrow to follow.’ It really makes you want to put pen to paper before your words are lost in the aether. Thank you for sharing

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Susan Giles
Susan Giles(@susan-giles)
2 years ago

May we all stand up to take our place.  Thank you for the encouragement.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
musing mind
musing mind(@musing-mind)
2 years ago

Very beautifully written. The first line itself captures the whole zest. Thanks for sharing.

Culture Dragon
Culture Dragon(@culture-dragon)
2 years ago

comment image

[xie4 xie]

(Thanks!)

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Sandra James
Sandra James(@sandra-james)
2 years ago

Your poem really touched me, Eric. The last two lines are so inspiring – years ago I was discouraged from writing poetry by a cruel teacher. Thankfully, I found my pen, my voice and my space and I eventually stood up and took my place!

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Christer Norrlof
Christer Norrlof(@christer-norrlof)
2 years ago

The beginning of your beautiful poem reminded me of the biblical statement, “The word was with God and the word was God.” As an act of creation, you say that “We breathe life into words.” That shows so much love, understanding and respect for the spoken and written word and makes me realize my responsibility for what I put out there. Thank you, Eric!

Lotchie Carmelo
Lotchie Carmelo(@lotchie-carmelo)
1 year ago

Very well said, Eric. Very beautiful and full of encouragement. Congratulations.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Lotchie Carmelo
Lotchie Carmelo(@lotchie-carmelo)
Reply to  Eric Radcliffe
1 year ago

Hello Eric, thank you for lifting my spirit. Yes, I will continue because reading and commenting make me free from stress and I am enjoying it here. 
Hope your computer will be fixed soon.

Linda Rock
Linda Rock(@linda-rock)
1 year ago

Hello Eric, what an inspiring poem you have written. If there was one extract that resonated with me most it was ‘they speak of who we are, of the choices made, and of who we wish to be.’ How very true, our words are ours alone.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Daisy Blacklock
Daisy Blacklock(@daisy-blacklock)
1 year ago

What a brilliant poem! It is beautifully written and very inspiring.

Shobana Gomes
Shobana Gomes(@shobana-gomes)
4 months ago

Beautifully said, so inspiring.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.

Recent Comments

24
0
Selected Authors may submit comments (5 Credits)x
()
x
Scroll to Top

Sharing a Post

Why do my friends need to SignIn to read the post I shared?

Actually, this is a voting security feature. During public voting, only club members can read posts submitted for that contest. Since anyone reading the story is able to vote (click the Like button), we reserve these capabilities to members who SignIn. Before we implemented this security feature, people were voting multiple times and making the public voting process unfair and out of balance. To fix this, our staff finally decided to allow only members who SignIn to read the stories. Membership is free and easy, and ensures our club is safe, secure, and family-friendly!