My name is Rosemary.  I am 10 years old and I have a problem- his name is Jack. He is the school bully and he’s in the same class as me.

My best friend is my dog Sniff. I got him from the rescue home. Why did I name him Sniff? Well it’s because his nose is much bigger than it should be and he just never stops sniffing.

Today, a strange thing happened when Sniff and I were out walking. I was telling him about the trouble I’ve been having with Jack – he put some cockroaches in my lunch box today – then suddenly Sniff dashes off into the bushes by Witches Wood. It was a very unusual thing for him to just run off like that, as he never leaves my side. I could hear him digging and yelping like mad. He returned wagging his tail till I thought it might  fall off, he then dropped something at my feet – it was an old leather pouch. I ran straight home and up to my bedroom and opened it.

I just couldn’t believe my eyes! It was instructions on ‘How to make a broomstick’. And before I knew it, I was planning on how to stop Jack’s bullying. The next day at school, I made sure that he saw me hiding something in my locker. Sure enough, when I went back to my locker, it had been broken into. The broomstick instructions had been stolen!

By the night of Halloween my plan began to unfold. Jack sniggered as he strutted past me. Jumping onto the broomstick, he muttered the magic spell, and off he flew. However, what he didn’t know was that I had kept the page with the spell – ‘How to land your Broomstick’.

So every Halloween on a full moon, we wait for Jack to see him streak across the night sky screaming ‘please, get me down Rosemary’.

I think we’ll wait one more Halloween. Sniff wags his tail, he agrees!

5 1 vote
Post Rating
Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
32 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Susan Dawson
Susan Dawson(@susan-dawson)
1 year ago

When I think about it I can’t remember them including that bit in the lesson in the broomstick training at Harry Potter castle (aka Alnwick). That probably explains why my granddaughter is still flying hers on my smartphone picture.

Emily O'Leary
Emily O'Leary(@emily-oleary)
1 year ago

Haha, got to love some Halloween mischief! That should teach Jack a lesson about stealing!

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Linda Rock
Linda Rock(@linda-rock)
1 year ago

That had me chuckling Eric. Pity we can’t send those incomplete instructions to all the bullies out there.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Carrie OLeary
Carrie OLeary(@carrie-oleary)
1 year ago

It’s always nice to see bullies getting their comeuppance. Your story made me smile, which we all need right now.

Genya Johnson
Genya Johnson(@genya-johnson)
1 year ago

Eric this was great fun to read. I love children’s stories and I could see lots of children enjoying this one. I’ll be looking out for Jack on Halloween. Brilliant.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
musing mind
musing mind(@musing-mind)
1 year ago

Very light hearted story and humorous. Looking at something from a child’s perspective is always very close to my heart. Great story.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Leena Auckel
Leena Auckel(@leena-auckel)
1 year ago

Well Jack will think twice about bullying next time…if ever he gets to land at all. Good old Sniff and Smart Rosemary!

Inderjeet Deusi
Inderjeet Deusi(@inderjeet-deusi)
1 year ago

I enjoyed reading this story and the ending was brilliant.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Andrew Carter
Andrew Carter(@andrew-carter)
1 year ago

Hi Eric, what a fantastic tale. Bullying comes in so many forms, and continues throughout adulthood. Many stem from control issues and are based on fear. I loved the bit about the missing landing spell; it reminded me of ‘how to’ flatpack instructions.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Nimra Savanghan
Nimra Savanghan(@nimra-savanghan)
1 year ago

Gosh, this reminded me a bit of Sabrina ( the older comics ) Loved it!

Fuji
Fuji(@fuji)
1 year ago

What a fun story, Eric! I think Sniff must be the hero – how did he know about the buried pouch with the instructions? You have a real knack for sharing the world of childhood, Eric. Your last story was also brilliant as a glimpse into a young person’s world. Have your grandkids heard this story yet?

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Alan Kemister
Alan Kemister(@alan-kemister)
1 year ago

Hello Eric, great story. One about a kid getting her revenge on a bully is a sure winner. I have one question about the instruction booklet Sniff discovered. Should it have been titled ‘How to Ride a Broomstick’. rather than ‘How to Make a Broomstick’?

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Mary Wallace
Mary Wallace(@mary-wallace)
1 year ago

Eric, this was so much fun. A lovely little story to make us all smile. Thank you.

Christer Norrlof
Christer Norrlof(@christer-norrlof)
1 year ago

I love the way you open the tale by putting us into Rosemary’s situation, telling it in her voice. The ending was very surprising and a fun one! I enjoyed reading it!

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Lotchie Carmelo
Lotchie Carmelo(@lotchie-carmelo)
1 year ago

You make me laugh out loud. Very funny. I hope Jack will think many times before bullying now. Nice story.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Lotchie Carmelo
Lotchie Carmelo(@lotchie-carmelo)
Reply to  Eric Radcliffe
1 year ago

A world without laughter is boring and dull.

Last edited 1 year ago by Lotchie Carmelo
Become a PatronHelp support our family-friendly mission

Recent Comments




32
0
Selected Authors may submit comments (5 Credits)x
()
x
Scroll to Top

Sharing a Post

Why do my friends need to SignIn to read the post I shared?

Actually, this is a voting security feature. During public voting, only club members can read posts submitted for that contest. Since anyone reading the story is able to vote (click the Like button), we reserve these capabilities to members who SignIn. Before we implemented this security feature, people were voting multiple times and making the public voting process unfair and out of balance. To fix this, our staff finally decided to allow only members who SignIn to read the stories. Membership is free and easy, and ensures our club is safe, secure, and family-friendly!