He and Maggie went trick-or-treating together for Halloween. Ian knew his friends thought it was stupid, that he and Maggie were too old, but when you’re with the girl of your dreams and have the opportunity to walk in the dark, holding her hand… well you’d be mad to let that pass.

Maggie’s laughing eyes gazed up at him as he adjusted her whiskers and ears; the black cat costume clung to her curves, doing nothing to hide her beauty. Plans for a future together were already forming in his mind. 

Those plans for college and marriage evaporated in blinding headlights. An out of control car, driven by a drunk driver, mounted the pavement, leaving them only seconds to grasp hands before death overtook them.

Maggie was laid to rest in her hometown; hers was a beautiful plot on the side of a hill. Two days later, Ian’s body was interred some kilometers distant. Reverend Peters, who tended the two communities, conducted both services.

Car cameras that night captured a ghostly image illuminated by moonlight, as it floated beside the country road that connected the two towns. None of those witnesses however, saw the spirit hover over the cemetery on the side of the hill, or saw a hand reach out from Maggie’s grave to welcome her love to his new home.

Reverend Peters returning to the manse after a late call out, saw. He was unnerved, but not fearful. God, heaven and life after death were as natural to him as breathing. It seemed souls didn’t go straight back to their maker as he had presumed, perhaps they too had to wait for the Rapture before meeting God. 

No one would believe him of course, but he would swear on a stack of bibles that he saw Ian McNally enter a grave, miles from where he had laid him to rest that very afternoon. Reverend Peters thought of young Maggie Stewart and smiled. She and Ian would spend eternity together. His God was indeed a merciful God. 

0 0 votes
Post Rating
Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
22 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Sandra James
Sandra James(@sandra-james)
1 year ago

A beautiful story, Mary. Such a beautiful, comforting thought to think this could happen after a tragedy. And Reverend Peters is the minister we want in every church 🙂

Eric Radcliffe
Eric Radcliffe(@eric-radcliffe)
1 year ago

I smiled when I got to the end. I wasn’t expecting that ending Mary.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Genya Johnson
Genya Johnson(@genya-johnson)
1 year ago

I loved your story. Such love you told in so few words. Even after death, they found each other.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Susan Dawson
Susan Dawson(@susan-dawson)
1 year ago

Glad they chose the beautiful hillside one, Mary. An interesting plot.

Pragya Rathore
Pragya Rathore(@pragya-rathore)
1 year ago

This was an exquisite interpretation about the afterlife. Loved the emotions and affection between the characters. Reverend Peter sounded wise and wonderful.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Carrie OLeary
Carrie OLeary(@carrie-oleary)
1 year ago

Such a sad but beautiful love story, Mary. It’s nice that they found each other again, they may not have been such peaceful spirits if not.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Emily O'Leary
Emily O'Leary(@emily-oleary)
1 year ago

I do enjoy a ghostly love story. Bittersweet story, and very nicely written!

Linda Rock
Linda Rock(@linda-rock)
1 year ago

This was so beautiful Mary. I love how your lovers walked hand in hand at the start and Maggie reached out her hand to welcome her love home when both were at rest. A lovely story.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Nimra Savanghan
Nimra Savanghan(@nimra-savanghan)
1 year ago

Beautiful story Mary!

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Christer Norrlof
Christer Norrlof(@christer-norrlof)
1 year ago

I enjoyed reading your story, Mary. It is a beautiful one and very well told.

Lotchie Carmelo
Lotchie Carmelo(@lotchie-carmelo)
1 year ago

I am glad to read your story, Mary. Such a wonderful story of love, an infinite love. I truly believe that theirs is forever until eternity. You make me smile while reading 🙂

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Become a PatronHelp support our family-friendly mission

Recent Comments




22
0
Selected Authors may submit comments (5 Credits)x
()
x
Scroll to Top

Sharing a Post

Why do my friends need to SignIn to read the post I shared?

Actually, this is a voting security feature. During public voting, only club members can read posts submitted for that contest. Since anyone reading the story is able to vote (click the Like button), we reserve these capabilities to members who SignIn. Before we implemented this security feature, people were voting multiple times and making the public voting process unfair and out of balance. To fix this, our staff finally decided to allow only members who SignIn to read the stories. Membership is free and easy, and ensures our club is safe, secure, and family-friendly!