The old man wheeled his wheelchair out onto the front porch. His face was decorated by wrinkles, which hinted at a lifetime of emotions. This man was one who had lived a plethora of ups and downs; he’s crawled out from many valleys and reached the pikes of many mountains. He’s fallen in love and he’s known the pain of watching that love pass away.

He stared out at the rising sun. Its shining beams had just begun to peek out from the horizon. He closed his eyes, taking a deep breath. He held it for a few brief seconds before exhaling slowly. 

His eyes moistened with tears that never fell. He savored the feeling that was living to see the next day. It was a beauty no mere words could ever describe. He chuckled a little sadly, “You always did love sunrises, Martha,” He glanced up at the light orange sky; he knew his beloved wife was up there.

 “You are saving me a spot right?” He asked, then laughed again. “Who am I kidding? You are just waitin’ for me. I’ll make sure to track some mud in when I come, then you can yell at me to mop it up, just like old times…’cept we will have an eternity to do it all my love.”

This elderly man was truly ready for whatever came next in his life. If there was another chapter so be it, but if the epilogue came then he would spend it dancing with his wife up in the stars. He had promised her he would before she passed. 

Without saying a word a 2-year-old girl walked out onto the front porch. She toddled up to her grandpapa and held her arms up expectantly. The grandfather smiled and picked up the child. He held her in his lap protectively, knowing that this little wisp of a child was the world’s future. He had lived his life to the fullest, now it was time for him to let the new generation take charge of this beautiful earth.

5 3 votes
Post Rating
Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
15 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Dana Heckler
Dana Heckler(@dana-heckler)
1 year ago

So incredibly moving!

Eric Radcliffe
Eric Radcliffe(@eric-radcliffe)
1 year ago

Hiya Karynn, what a lovely story of two generations, yet still very much part of the same life, both finding joy in each other, an endless cycle of growth. Lovely written. I enjoyed your story Karynn, and I look forward to reading more from you.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Eric Radcliffe
Eric Radcliffe(@eric-radcliffe)
Reply to  Karynn Heckler
1 year ago

By the way, a “Big Welcome” to the Voice club.

Brandon Heckler
Brandon Heckler(@brandon-heckler)
1 year ago

So wonderfully written. Love your style!

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Robert Hess
Robert Hess(@robert-hess)
1 year ago

Wow, this is good!! Great job!!

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Andrew Carter
Andrew Carter(@andrew-carter)
1 year ago

Beautiful story, Karynn. And wonderfully written for the next generations.

Lashanda Besaw
Lashanda Besaw(@lashanda-besaw)
1 year ago

Wonderful visual descriptions! The symbolism was beautifully written. Great job! I truly hope you continue writing!

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Katy Bizi
Katy Bizi(@katy-bizi)
1 year ago

Such a moving story! Amazingly done, Karynn.

Katy Bizi
Katy Bizi(@katy-bizi)
Reply to  Katy Bizi
1 year ago

And welcome to Voice Club. We hope to see more of your stories!

Lotchie Carmelo
Lotchie Carmelo(@lotchie-carmelo)
1 year ago

Wow. It was a very moving story. How lovely to see our children as the future of the next generation. It is true. Hoping to read more stories from you.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.

Recent Comments


15
0
Selected Authors may submit comments (5 Credits)x
()
x
Scroll to Top

Sharing a Post

Why do my friends need to SignIn to read the post I shared?

Actually, this is a voting security feature. During public voting, only club members can read posts submitted for that contest. Since anyone reading the story is able to vote (click the Like button), we reserve these capabilities to members who SignIn. Before we implemented this security feature, people were voting multiple times and making the public voting process unfair and out of balance. To fix this, our staff finally decided to allow only members who SignIn to read the stories. Membership is free and easy, and ensures our club is safe, secure, and family-friendly!