It’s been a hard time for Sandra lately. It’s been from one trouble to the other. The closer she thinks she is getting to see what lies on the other side, the more troubles she has to combat. Her imaginations are running riot. She feels like escaping to somewhere tranquil. Far away from everyone and everything.

Everyday she pulls herself to work. She’s tempted to take some time off but she tells herself, sitting at home will not make any difference. It will only add more salt to injury. Moreover, there are bills to pay. She has called off her affair with her boyfriend, Bryson. He seems not to understand her plight. He can’t see her inside out. All he wants is to have her close and to dote on her. She’s dying silently and he hasn’t taken cognizance.

“I’d rather we go separate ways. Let’s take some time off,” she tells Bryson.

“Have I done anything wrong? Have I offended you?” he asks with a sympathetic look.

“No, you haven’t offended me, neither have you wronged me. It’s just that …”

He cuts in, “It’s just that you don’t love me anymore. But please try to. I love you so much!”

“It’s not what you think. I do love you but I need to get back into my elements. I need some calmness and peace within. I’m so sorry.”

“No problem. I’ll always still love you.”

He turns to leave looking sad. She looks on with pity but her mind has been made up. She sits alone in a park watching people, reminiscing on the halcyon days. Two ladies seat on a bench close to her. One of them says, “Do you know my favourite quote?”

“No.” The other replies.

“It’s by Billie Holiday, ‘I’m always making a comeback but no one asks me where I have been,’” she answers.

“Yeah! It’s a nice one,” she continues, “Mine is, ‘Even the sun has a sinking spell but rises in the morning’.”

Sandra shakes her head. Courage rises up within her. She’s strongly determined not to throw in the towel.

4 2 votes
Post Rating
Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
26 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Susan Dawson
Susan Dawson(@susan-dawson)
1 year ago

Great quotes there, Thompson. The first is especially thought-provoking.

Genya Johnson
Genya Johnson(@genya-johnson)
1 year ago

Two beautiful quotes that have so much meaning. I hope she finds what she is looking for.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Lotchie Carmelo
Lotchie Carmelo(@lotchie-carmelo)
1 year ago

I love it. Using such great quotes is making your story significant. It was thought-provoking and inspiring as well.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Eric Radcliffe
Eric Radcliffe(@eric-radcliffe)
1 year ago

Hello Thompson, that’s a lovely write about relationships and the struggle on both sides. I also like the quotes, there is a lot of wisdom there!

Marianna Pieterse
Marianna Pieterse(@marianna-pieterse)
1 year ago

I enjoyed reading your story, Thompson. I cannot help wondering what brought Sandra to that place she had to pick herself up from. Very captivating.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Carrie OLeary
Carrie OLeary(@carrie-oleary)
1 year ago

A remembered quote can often help us rediscover a firm footing on life. Hope your protagonist finds hers.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Sandra James
Sandra James(@sandra-james)
1 year ago

Great story, Thompson! It’s always amazing how a few unexpected words can completely change one’s perspective and inspire. The ending left a wonderful feeling of hope for the future and finding what she’s looking for. Well done!

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Christer Norrlof
Christer Norrlof(@christer-norrlof)
1 year ago

We have all been there, on both sides of that conflict, not knowing where we come from or where to go. You have expressed the dilemma well, Thompson, and I like it that help is coming from somewhere unexpected.

Santina Forlenza
Santina Forlenza(@santina-forlenza)
1 year ago

Yes Thompson, sun rises every morning even if it sinks every evening. Nothing can inspire better our dreams. And stories are dreams. My LIKE to your story.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Santina Forlenza
Santina Forlenza(@santina-forlenza)
Reply to  Thompson Emate
1 year ago

I am honoured by your honour, Thompson. Thank you.

Dipayan Chakrabarti
Dipayan Chakrabarti(@dipayan-chakrabarti)
1 year ago

A fascinating and inspirational story.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Dipayan Chakrabarti
Dipayan Chakrabarti(@dipayan-chakrabarti)
Reply to  Thompson Emate
1 year ago

You’re welcome, Thompson.

Katy Bizi
Katy Bizi(@katy-bizi)
1 year ago

Ι loved how you used quotes in this piece which qualify for an individual story as both are very thought-provoking!

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Katy Bizi
Katy Bizi(@katy-bizi)
Reply to  Thompson Emate
1 year ago

It’s very clear why they are your favorite quotes. There is so much meaning hidden behind those few words.

Recent Comments


26
0
Selected Authors may submit comments (5 Credits)x
()
x
Scroll to Top

Sharing a Post

Why do my friends need to SignIn to read the post I shared?

Actually, this is a voting security feature. During public voting, only club members can read posts submitted for that contest. Since anyone reading the story is able to vote (click the Like button), we reserve these capabilities to members who SignIn. Before we implemented this security feature, people were voting multiple times and making the public voting process unfair and out of balance. To fix this, our staff finally decided to allow only members who SignIn to read the stories. Membership is free and easy, and ensures our club is safe, secure, and family-friendly!