“Stop off at our house and pick up the fishing net,” D’Cunha yelled, his voice implying he was in a hurry. His son cycled towards the house and picked up the net. “Dad wants to get to our boat quickly, mom,” he babbled. “Have something before joining your father for deep-sea fishing,” the woman urged. “Oh, no thanks, I’m in a hurry.”

Nature slowly unfolded her treasure at the first ray of sunrise. It was a sunny morning but suddenly it started to rain. “Where is my raincoat dad?”  “You are sitting on it!” Oh no! The boy lowered his brows. “Hey, pull in the net,” D’Cunha shouted. “Sure,” the boy replied.” “Any fish inside?” D’Cunha raised his eyebrows. “No dad, it’s full of plastic waste!” His breathing quickened and his palms got sweaty. “Ugh, take out the trash, please.” grumbled D’Cunha.  They found large amounts of plastic deeper in the sea. It was disturbing.

The boat sailed through the blue waters as the morning sun made ripples of gold everywhere. They returned to their home from the sea. 

Though D’Cunha fished out tonnes of plastic from the sea for one month, he soon realised that the scale of plastic waste was much more than a single person could handle.

The fisherman decided to approach the village council for help. “The people are making fun of me to the extent of even labelling me mad,” he said to the head of the village.

D’Cunha decided to launch an anti-plastic mission in the ward along with the council officials. They went around the town, raising awareness on plastic and its detrimental effects on the environment. “If anyone is reported or caught burning plastic waste, he would be heavily penalised,” warned the village officials. 

Many people from abroad joined them in their crusade. In total, D’Cunha and his team managed to collect tonnes of plastic waste as well as loads of liquor bottles from the shoreline as well as the sea.

 “You are an inspiration to us all, D’Cunha,” admired the villagers.

                                                                 

4.3 28 votes
Post Rating

Help support our family-friendly mission
Buy our Kindle Book- or -Become a Patron

98 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Carrie OLeary
Carrie OLeary (@carrie-oleary)
7 months ago

Interesting story Dipayan. You highlight some real issues within the story. Your fisherman certainly is an inspiration.

Mousam Ray
Mousam Ray (@mousam-ray)
6 months ago

Very interesting story, love this.

Reema Mukherjee
Reema Mukherjee (@reema-mukherjee)
6 months ago

Wow. It’s a real fact and your story will inspire many persons who are aware but not active. Together we can do so many things. We need some to lead us. Thanks for choosing such a simple but awesome topic. It’s brainstorming.

Help support our family-friendly mission
Buy our Kindle Book- or -Become a Patron

Aranya 007
Aranya 007 (@aranya-007)
6 months ago

A very simple story yet it delivers a strong message. It’s wonderful to see how this short story perfectly grasps the current situation of dumping plastic wastes into water bodies. Loved it! Very inspiring ?

Shrabani Chakrabarti
Shrabani Chakrabarti (@shrabani-chakrabarti)
6 months ago

The story is a slice of reality of today-macrocosm brilliantly shelled in microcosm.

Help support our family-friendly mission
Buy our Kindle Book- or -Become a Patron

Shrabani Chakrabarti
Shrabani Chakrabarti (@shrabani-chakrabarti)
6 months ago

Is the story symbolic, Dipayan?

Shrabani Chakrabarti
Shrabani Chakrabarti (@shrabani-chakrabarti)
6 months ago

The voice, though implicit, rings through the lines ushering in a new hope.

Shrabani Chakrabarti
Shrabani Chakrabarti (@shrabani-chakrabarti)
6 months ago

Apart from simplicity and clarity of expression, a poignant lyricism runs through the story.

Help support our family-friendly mission
Buy our Kindle Book- or -Become a Patron

Shrabani Chakrabarti
Shrabani Chakrabarti (@shrabani-chakrabarti)
6 months ago

Yeah you’re right, Dipayan. The smell of the salt is pungent but soothing.

Shrabani Chakrabarti
Shrabani Chakrabarti (@shrabani-chakrabarti)
6 months ago

You’re welcome.

Kaustav Dam
Kaustav Dam (@kaustav-dam)
6 months ago

Good story.

Help support our family-friendly mission
Buy our Kindle Book- or -Become a Patron

Abhijit Ghosh Dastidar
Abhijit Ghosh Dastidar (@abhijit-ghosh-dastidar)
6 months ago

Amidst the dark days, a story like this surely will inspire many. Skillful storytelling is your forte. Loved every bit of it. Best of luck.

Paramita Guha Naskar
Paramita Guha Naskar (@paramita-guha-naskar1)
6 months ago

A good story with a strong message. The time has come that we should do our bit to make Earth liveable for our future generations else it will be too late.

Help support our family-friendly mission
Buy our Kindle Book- or -Become a Patron

Santina Forlenza
Santina Forlenza (@santina-forlenza)
6 months ago

Hi Dipayan, I love your story. Expecially the sentence “The boat sailed through the blue waters as the morning sun made ripples of gold everywhere”; it gives a touch of poetry to the wonderful plot. Congrats!

Chirag Barot
Chirag Barot (@chirag-barot)
6 months ago

Congratulations

Nabendu Paul
Nabendu Paul (@nabendu-paul)
6 months ago

Nice story. Good work.

Help support our family-friendly mission
Buy our Kindle Book- or -Become a Patron

ALOK YADAV
ALOK YADAV (@alok-yadav)
6 months ago

Really inspirational story to save our environment!!!

Avijeet Sarkar
Avijeet Sarkar (@avijeet-sarkar)
6 months ago

Point taken Dipayan. Your story voices the silent concern of many of us.

Help support our family-friendly mission
Buy our Kindle Book- or -Become a Patron

Mousumi Chakraborty
Mousumi Chakraborty (@mousumi-chakraborty)
6 months ago

Too good.

Rahul Singh
Rahul Singh (@rahul-singh)
6 months ago

What a lovely story.

Piali Das
Piali Das (@piali-das)
6 months ago

Nice and inspirational. Congratulations!!

Last edited 6 months ago by Piali Das

Help support our family-friendly mission
Buy our Kindle Book- or -Become a Patron

Ashfaque Ahmed
Ashfaque Ahmed (@ashfaque-ahmed)
6 months ago

Hi Dipayan Da
Undoubtedly a very good story with a great message. It has touched me more as the story deals with the message that I always try to convey.
Thanks a lot and wish a great success.

Lotchie Carmelo
Lotchie Carmelo (@lotchie-carmelo)
6 months ago

It implies a great message, which makes your story extraordinary. I love it. Hope many people can able to read and understand the message of this story. To protect and help the ocean and all the living things underneath. 

Help support our family-friendly mission
Buy our Kindle Book- or -Become a Patron

Fuji
Fuji (@fuji)
6 months ago

Many congratulations on your impressive win, Dipayan. You have helped bring awareness, and also give us hope. Thank you.

Eric Radcliffe
Eric Radcliffe (@eric-radcliffe)
6 months ago

Congratulation Dipayan. A very inspirational story – Thank You.

Romyani Chakrabarti
Romyani Chakrabarti (@romyani-chakrabarti)
6 months ago

The character-focused narrative and the clear voice artistically depicts the present chaos with clarity and realism.

Help support our family-friendly mission
Buy our Kindle Book- or -Become a Patron

sujoy sarkar
sujoy sarkar (@sujoy-sarkar)
6 months ago

Wonderful Dipayan ……The message is loud and clear.

sujoy sarkar
sujoy sarkar (@sujoy-sarkar)
6 months ago

Absolutely no doubt about it.

Help support our family-friendly mission
Buy our Kindle Book- or -Become a Patron

Sagarnil Pal
Sagarnil Pal (@sagarnil-pal)
6 months ago

How green was the fisherman… !! A real crusader and inspiration… We definitely need more of them to save this earth!! ✊✊

Sagarnil Pal
Sagarnil Pal (@sagarnil-pal)
6 months ago

The world today is really in dire need of more of such inspiring people! Who can lead this awareness forward to the masses, make it more acceptable to them.. Good to see such dynamic character being the central figure in this short piece… ???

Last edited 6 months ago by Sagarnil Pal
sujoy sarkar
sujoy sarkar (@sujoy-sarkar)
6 months ago

Really interesting. We need more and more people like him to make this earth a happy place to live in.

Help support our family-friendly mission
Buy our Kindle Book- or -Become a Patron

NIRMALYA RANJAN Guha
NIRMALYA RANJAN Guha (@nirmalya-ranjan-guha)
6 months ago

Blessed my eyes with this story with such a bold message to the society.

Arunava Sarkar
Arunava Sarkar (@arunava-sarkar)
6 months ago

Congrats….

Help support our family-friendly mission
Buy our Kindle Book- or -Become a Patron

Dipanjan Mukherjee
Dipanjan Mukherjee (@dipanjan-mukherjee)
6 months ago

Simple yet strong message. Very nicely written with a good flow of narratives!!

Partha Dasgupta
Partha Dasgupta (@partha-dasgupta)
6 months ago

Wow! So inspiring!!

arijit mukhopadhyay
arijit mukhopadhyay (@arijit-mukhopadhyay)
6 months ago

Congratulations! You deserve it.

Help support our family-friendly mission
Buy our Kindle Book- or -Become a Patron

RIDHVIK RAJKUMAR MITRA
RIDHVIK RAJKUMAR MITRA (@ridhvik-rajkumar-mitra)
6 months ago

Congratulations

RIDHVIK RAJKUMAR MITRA
RIDHVIK RAJKUMAR MITRA (@ridhvik-rajkumar-mitra)
6 months ago

The story is modern and thought provoking..

Help support our family-friendly mission
Buy our Kindle Book- or -Become a Patron

Joydeep bhattacharya
Joydeep bhattacharya (@joydeep-bhattacharya)
6 months ago

Very nice story. It is very simple but interesting topic. I like this. Keep it up.

Rupak Banerjee
Rupak Banerjee (@rupak-banerjee)
6 months ago

A well written nice and interesting story….good work…congrats.

Archisman Sikdar
Archisman Sikdar (@archisman-sikdar)
6 months ago

Congratulations!!!!!

Help support our family-friendly mission
Buy our Kindle Book- or -Become a Patron

sujaya dasgupta
sujaya dasgupta (@sujaya-dasgupta)
6 months ago

It is a wonderful and inspiring story..gives us a strong message..thank you for sharing it with us.

Subhro Mitra
Subhro Mitra (@subhro-mitra)
6 months ago

Dipayan, I enjoyed reading this story. Keeping writing and contributing to this literary forum.

Help support our family-friendly mission
Buy our Kindle Book- or -Become a Patron

Priyanka Chakraborty
Priyanka Chakraborty (@priyanka-chakraborty)
6 months ago

Just awesome.. carefully crafted the environmental issue in front of us. Liked reading it very much..

Ashoke Basistha
Ashoke Basistha (@ashoke-basistha)
6 months ago

Writer or activist, whatsoever may be on your mind, success is yours bro.

Help support our family-friendly mission
Buy our Kindle Book- or -Become a Patron

Lotchie Carmelo
Lotchie Carmelo (@lotchie-carmelo)
6 months ago

Congratulations on your win, Dipayan. I am happy for you.

Niladri Bagchi
Niladri Bagchi (@niladri-bagchi)
6 months ago

Nice story. An experience to read. Congratulations Dipayan.

kalyan chakborty
kalyan chakborty (@kalyan-chakborty)
6 months ago

Congratulations

Help support our family-friendly mission
Buy our Kindle Book- or -Become a Patron

Raja Guha
Raja Guha (@raja-guha)
6 months ago

Awesome story. Keep it up (Bobby) Dipayan.

Most Voted Comments

Avatar
8

Bait

It takes a real talent to tell a story in so few words. What was…


Avatar
6

Endure and Sing

Inspirational piece. Am glad you picked the rat to be the protagonist in your story,…


Avatar
6

Endure and Sing

Such a sweet tale - and with a good moral to the story. I thought…


Avatar
5

Endure and Sing

Wow! This is a good story! Really good to read to little kids, the moral…


Avatar
4

Endure and Sing

Hi Katy, it really does add an extra dimension to hear your story read aloud…


Avatar
4

Endure and Sing

In my neighboring country Denmark, we have the classical storyteller Hans-Christian Andersen. Your sweet story…


Avatar
4

Endure and Sing

A really nice one with a wonderful story line. I can see why this was…


Avatar
4

Endure and Sing

A beautiful story! I was reminded of seeing Paul Potts and Susan Boyle on Britain's…


Avatar
4

Endure and Sing

Your story inspired me to keep going no matter how discouraging it gets. At times…


Avatar
4

Endure and Sing

Thank you so much for the feedback! I pray that the young readers will be…


Avatar
4

Endure and Sing

Thank you for taking the time to comment and convey your thoughts on the story.…


Avatar
4

Endure and Sing

Hi Katy, don't we all feel like the rat in your story at times! We…


Avatar
4

Vows

I must admit it was the picture of the church, with its grave yard, under…


Avatar
3

In Memoriam

It's terrible to lose someone you love and accept that he is not a part…


Avatar
3

The Problem with Women

I think Carrie has said it all. We rest our collective case.  ? 


Avatar
3

The Fisherman and the Sea

A good story with a strong message. The time has come that we should do…


Avatar
3

The Fisherman and the Sea

It is giving me great joy to read such beautiful comments from you.Thank you for…


Avatar
3

Voice.club 2020 Year In Review – OPEN

The New Year has always been a time for reflection, and to focus on what…


Mary Kot
3

Endure and Sing

I wish all of us were more like this little mouse! His confidence and courage…


Avatar
3

Endure and Sing

I'm really glad to hear that! Leena Auckel did an amazing job and I'm so…


Recent Comments


Become a PatronHelp support our family-friendly mission

Contest – CLOSED – Scary

98
0
Selected Authors may submit comments (5 Credits)x
()
x
Scroll to Top

Sharing a Post

Why do my friends need to SignIn to read the post I shared?

Actually, this is a voting security feature. Only club members can read posts submitted into a contest. Since anyone reading the story is able to vote (click the Like button), we reserve these capabilities to members who SignIn. Before we implemented this security feature, people were voting multiple times and making the public voting process unfair and out of balance. To fix this, our staff finally decided to allow only members who SignIn to read the stories. Membership is free and easy, and ensures our club is safe, secure, and family-friendly!

Gems Stories are public:  On the other hand the Gem stories are different, since there is no voting on Gems. During a Gem event, your friends and fans can come on and read without a SignIn. This is one of the great advantages of the Gem events.