“Stop off at our house and pick up the fishing net,” D’Cunha yelled, his voice implying he was in a hurry. His son cycled towards the house and picked up the net. “Dad wants to get to our boat quickly, mom,” he babbled. “Have something before joining your father for deep-sea fishing,” the woman urged. “Oh, no thanks, I’m in a hurry.”

Nature slowly unfolded her treasure at the first ray of sunrise. It was a sunny morning but suddenly it started to rain. “Where is my raincoat dad?”  “You are sitting on it!” Oh no! The boy lowered his brows. “Hey, pull in the net,” D’Cunha shouted. “Sure,” the boy replied.” “Any fish inside?” D’Cunha raised his eyebrows. “No dad, it’s full of plastic waste!” His breathing quickened and his palms got sweaty. “Ugh, take out the trash, please.” grumbled D’Cunha.  They found large amounts of plastic deeper in the sea. It was disturbing.

The boat sailed through the blue waters as the morning sun made ripples of gold everywhere. They returned to their home from the sea.

Though D’Cunha fished out tonnes of plastic from the sea for one month, he soon realised that the scale of plastic waste was much more than a single person could handle.

The fisherman decided to approach the village council for help. “The people are making fun of me to the extent of even labelling me mad,” he said to the head of the village.

D’Cunha decided to launch an anti-plastic mission in the ward along with the council officials. They went around the town, raising awareness on plastic and its detrimental effects on the environment. “If anyone is reported or caught burning plastic waste, he would be heavily penalised,” warned the village officials.

Many people from abroad joined them in their crusade. In total, D’Cunha and his team managed to collect tonnes of plastic waste as well as loads of liquor bottles from the shoreline as well as the sea.

 “You are an inspiration to us all, D’Cunha,” admired the villagers.                                                                

4.3 28 votes
Post Rating
Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
98 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Carrie OLeary
Carrie OLeary(@carrie-oleary)
1 year ago

Interesting story Dipayan. You highlight some real issues within the story. Your fisherman certainly is an inspiration.

Mousam Ray
Mousam Ray(@mousam-ray)
1 year ago

Very interesting story, love this.

Reema Mukherjee
Reema Mukherjee(@reema-mukherjee)
1 year ago

Wow. It’s a real fact and your story will inspire many persons who are aware but not active. Together we can do so many things. We need some to lead us. Thanks for choosing such a simple but awesome topic. It’s brainstorming.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Aranya 007
Aranya 007(@aranya-007)
1 year ago

A very simple story yet it delivers a strong message. It’s wonderful to see how this short story perfectly grasps the current situation of dumping plastic wastes into water bodies. Loved it! Very inspiring ?

Shrabani Chakrabarti
Shrabani Chakrabarti(@shrabani-chakrabarti)
1 year ago

The story is a slice of reality of today-macrocosm brilliantly shelled in microcosm.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Shrabani Chakrabarti
Shrabani Chakrabarti(@shrabani-chakrabarti)
1 year ago

Is the story symbolic, Dipayan?

Shrabani Chakrabarti
Shrabani Chakrabarti(@shrabani-chakrabarti)
1 year ago

The voice, though implicit, rings through the lines ushering in a new hope.

Shrabani Chakrabarti
Shrabani Chakrabarti(@shrabani-chakrabarti)
1 year ago

Apart from simplicity and clarity of expression, a poignant lyricism runs through the story.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Shrabani Chakrabarti
Shrabani Chakrabarti(@shrabani-chakrabarti)
1 year ago

Yeah you’re right, Dipayan. The smell of the salt is pungent but soothing.

Shrabani Chakrabarti
Shrabani Chakrabarti(@shrabani-chakrabarti)
1 year ago

You’re welcome.

Kaustav Dam
Kaustav Dam(@kaustav-dam)
1 year ago

Good story.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Abhijit Ghosh Dastidar
Abhijit Ghosh Dastidar(@abhijit-ghosh-dastidar)
1 year ago

Amidst the dark days, a story like this surely will inspire many. Skillful storytelling is your forte. Loved every bit of it. Best of luck.

Paramita Guha Naskar
Paramita Guha Naskar(@paramita-guha-naskar1)
1 year ago

A good story with a strong message. The time has come that we should do our bit to make Earth liveable for our future generations else it will be too late.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Santina Forlenza
Santina Forlenza(@santina-forlenza)
1 year ago

Hi Dipayan, I love your story. Expecially the sentence “The boat sailed through the blue waters as the morning sun made ripples of gold everywhere”; it gives a touch of poetry to the wonderful plot. Congrats!

Chirag Barot
Chirag Barot(@chirag-barot)
1 year ago

Congratulations

Nabendu Paul
Nabendu Paul(@nabendu-paul)
1 year ago

Nice story. Good work.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
ALOK YADAV
ALOK YADAV(@alok-yadav)
1 year ago

Really inspirational story to save our environment!!!

Avijeet Sarkar
Avijeet Sarkar(@avijeet-sarkar)
1 year ago

Point taken Dipayan. Your story voices the silent concern of many of us.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Mousumi Chakraborty
Mousumi Chakraborty(@mousumi-chakraborty)
1 year ago

Too good.

Rahul Singh
Rahul Singh(@rahul-singh)
1 year ago

What a lovely story.

Piali Das
Piali Das(@piali-das)
1 year ago

Nice and inspirational. Congratulations!!

Last edited 1 year ago by Piali Das
Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Ashfaque Ahmed
Ashfaque Ahmed(@ashfaque-ahmed)
1 year ago

Hi Dipayan Da
Undoubtedly a very good story with a great message. It has touched me more as the story deals with the message that I always try to convey.
Thanks a lot and wish a great success.

Lotchie Carmelo
Lotchie Carmelo(@lotchie-carmelo)
1 year ago

It implies a great message, which makes your story extraordinary. I love it. Hope many people can able to read and understand the message of this story. To protect and help the ocean and all the living things underneath. 

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Fuji
Fuji(@fuji)
1 year ago

Many congratulations on your impressive win, Dipayan. You have helped bring awareness, and also give us hope. Thank you.

Eric Radcliffe
Eric Radcliffe(@eric-radcliffe)
1 year ago

Congratulation Dipayan. A very inspirational story – Thank You.

Romyani Chakrabarti
Romyani Chakrabarti(@romyani-chakrabarti)
1 year ago

The character-focused narrative and the clear voice artistically depicts the present chaos with clarity and realism.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
sujoy sarkar
sujoy sarkar(@sujoy-sarkar)
1 year ago

Wonderful Dipayan ……The message is loud and clear.

sujoy sarkar
sujoy sarkar(@sujoy-sarkar)
1 year ago

Absolutely no doubt about it.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Sagarnil Pal
Sagarnil Pal(@sagarnil-pal)
1 year ago

How green was the fisherman… !! A real crusader and inspiration… We definitely need more of them to save this earth!! ✊✊

Sagarnil Pal
Sagarnil Pal(@sagarnil-pal)
1 year ago

The world today is really in dire need of more of such inspiring people! Who can lead this awareness forward to the masses, make it more acceptable to them.. Good to see such dynamic character being the central figure in this short piece… ???

Last edited 1 year ago by Sagarnil Pal
sujoy sarkar
sujoy sarkar(@sujoy-sarkar)
1 year ago

Really interesting. We need more and more people like him to make this earth a happy place to live in.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
NIRMALYA RANJAN Guha
NIRMALYA RANJAN Guha(@nirmalya-ranjan-guha)
1 year ago

Blessed my eyes with this story with such a bold message to the society.

Arunava Sarkar
Arunava Sarkar(@arunava-sarkar)
1 year ago

Congrats….

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Dipanjan Mukherjee
Dipanjan Mukherjee(@dipanjan-mukherjee)
1 year ago

Simple yet strong message. Very nicely written with a good flow of narratives!!

Partha Dasgupta
Partha Dasgupta(@partha-dasgupta)
1 year ago

Wow! So inspiring!!

arijit mukhopadhyay
arijit mukhopadhyay(@arijit-mukhopadhyay)
1 year ago

Congratulations! You deserve it.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
RIDHVIK RAJKUMAR MITRA
RIDHVIK RAJKUMAR MITRA(@ridhvik-rajkumar-mitra)
1 year ago

Congratulations

RIDHVIK RAJKUMAR MITRA
RIDHVIK RAJKUMAR MITRA(@ridhvik-rajkumar-mitra)
1 year ago

The story is modern and thought provoking..

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Joydeep bhattacharya
Joydeep bhattacharya(@joydeep-bhattacharya)
1 year ago

Very nice story. It is very simple but interesting topic. I like this. Keep it up.

Rupak Banerjee
Rupak Banerjee(@rupak-banerjee)
1 year ago

A well written nice and interesting story….good work…congrats.

Archisman Sikdar
Archisman Sikdar(@archisman-sikdar)
1 year ago

Congratulations!!!!!

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
sujaya dasgupta
sujaya dasgupta(@sujaya-dasgupta)
1 year ago

It is a wonderful and inspiring story..gives us a strong message..thank you for sharing it with us.

Subhro Mitra
Subhro Mitra(@subhro-mitra)
1 year ago

Dipayan, I enjoyed reading this story. Keeping writing and contributing to this literary forum.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Priyanka Chakraborty
Priyanka Chakraborty(@priyanka-chakraborty)
1 year ago

Just awesome.. carefully crafted the environmental issue in front of us. Liked reading it very much..

Ashoke Basistha
Ashoke Basistha(@ashoke-basistha)
1 year ago

Writer or activist, whatsoever may be on your mind, success is yours bro.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Lotchie Carmelo
Lotchie Carmelo(@lotchie-carmelo)
1 year ago

Congratulations on your win, Dipayan. I am happy for you.

Niladri Bagchi
Niladri Bagchi(@niladri-bagchi)
1 year ago

Nice story. An experience to read. Congratulations Dipayan.

kalyan chakborty
kalyan chakborty(@kalyan-chakborty)
1 year ago

Congratulations

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Raja Guha
Raja Guha(@raja-guha)
1 year ago

Awesome story. Keep it up (Bobby) Dipayan.

Become a PatronHelp support our family-friendly mission

Most Voted Comments

Avatar
8

Bait

It takes a real talent to tell a story in so few words. What was…


Avatar
6

Endure and Sing

Inspirational piece. Am glad you picked the rat to be the protagonist in your story,…


Avatar
6

Endure and Sing

Such a sweet tale - and with a good moral to the story. I thought…


Avatar
5

Endure and Sing

Wow! This is a good story! Really good to read to little kids, the moral…


Avatar
4

Endure and Sing

Hi Katy, it really does add an extra dimension to hear your story read aloud…


Avatar
4

Endure and Sing

In my neighboring country Denmark, we have the classical storyteller Hans-Christian Andersen. Your sweet story…


Avatar
4

Endure and Sing

A really nice one with a wonderful story line. I can see why this was…


Avatar
4

Endure and Sing

A beautiful story! I was reminded of seeing Paul Potts and Susan Boyle on Britain's…


Avatar
4

Endure and Sing

Your story inspired me to keep going no matter how discouraging it gets. At times…


Avatar
4

Endure and Sing

Thank you so much for the feedback! I pray that the young readers will be…


Avatar
4

Endure and Sing

Thank you for taking the time to comment and convey your thoughts on the story.…


Avatar
4

Endure and Sing

Hi Katy, don't we all feel like the rat in your story at times! We…


Avatar
4

Vows

I must admit it was the picture of the church, with its grave yard, under…


Avatar
3

Between Belonging and Dying

A very powerful story, Daniel. Your writing makes it easy to feel the reality of…


Avatar
3

Between Belonging and Dying

Oh my gosh, Daniel. Your story really defines the word superb. You make me experience…


Avatar
3

Between Belonging and Dying

A horrendous situation, more so because so many people find themselves going through it. A…


Avatar
3

Between Belonging and Dying

What an extremely powerful story Daniel, really well written and with an ending that had…


Avatar
3

Between Belonging and Dying

Daniel, this story is one of the best flash fiction stories I've ever read. You…


Avatar
3

In Memoriam

It's terrible to lose someone you love and accept that he is not a part…


Avatar
3

The Problem with Women

I think Carrie has said it all. We rest our collective case.  ? 


Recent Comments



www.Voice.club

Upcoming Site
Maintenance
Scheduled for Today @ 21:15 ET

USA Timezone – Eastern Time – (GMT-5)

Days
Hours
Minutes
Seconds


Voice-Team will perform upgrades and add new features!

During our scheduled maintenance
Voice.club will be inaccessible

98
0
Selected Authors may submit comments (5 Credits)x
()
x
Scroll to Top

Sharing a Post

Why do my friends need to SignIn to read the post I shared?

Actually, this is a voting security feature. During public voting, only club members can read posts submitted for that contest. Since anyone reading the story is able to vote (click the Like button), we reserve these capabilities to members who SignIn. Before we implemented this security feature, people were voting multiple times and making the public voting process unfair and out of balance. To fix this, our staff finally decided to allow only members who SignIn to read the stories. Membership is free and easy, and ensures our club is safe, secure, and family-friendly!