Angelica’s had enough of this place.

Everyone is too nice, nothing but sweetness and light. Really, an occasional puzzled frown or heartfelt tear wouldn’t go amiss. And the music – please! All that la-la-la-ing is getting old fast, not to mention the blasted harp night and day. Oh for a bit of birdsong, or better yet, sweet silence!

She’s so not into the food. Milk and honey, blech. How about a tall stack of blueberry pancakes? Most of all, she misses the feel of fresh earth beneath her feet. Whose fool idea was it to pave the streets with gold?

5 2 votes
Post Rating
Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
14 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Voice-Team
Voice-Team(@voice-team)
Admin
1 year ago

Brought a smile to our faces, especially when we looked back at the character’s name. Fun story, with a lot of truth to it!

Carrie OLeary
Carrie OLeary(@carrie-oleary)
1 year ago

Angelica – a very appropriate name. I’d much rather have birdsong and a bit of grass beneath my feet. Great story.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Christer Norrlof
Christer Norrlof(@christer-norrlof)
1 year ago

I love the sense of humor, especially as there is a good amount of truth behind it. A heavenly well written story!

Eric Radcliffe
Eric Radcliffe(@eric-radcliffe)
1 year ago

I’m glad that I’m not a millionaire too Fuji. It rings of everything that is touched turns to gold. Give me a taste of the every day things. I enjoyed reading this Fuji.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Linda Rock
Linda Rock(@linda-rock)
1 year ago

I too loved the humour in this Fuji. Poor Angelica, heaven certainly seems more like hell to her.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Lotchie Carmelo
Lotchie Carmelo(@lotchie-carmelo)
1 year ago

O Angelica, what an angelic name. I am happy that I am not rich, I am enough with my simple living, or else I will be a fool thinking to pave the streets with gold.

Santina Forlenza
Santina Forlenza(@santina-forlenza)
1 year ago

Hi Fuji, I like Angelica’s personality 🙂 She looks for genuine things, yes? Even gold, if too much, is too much! Thanks for this story.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Katy Bizi
Katy Bizi(@katy-bizi)
1 year ago

How I agree with you, Fuji! I’d take an average life over a rich one any day. Without hardships and the less perfect things in our lives, we wouldn’t have a reason to desire more. We would be without a goal, without a reason to move on and thrive.

Thompson Emate
Thompson Emate(@thompson-emate)
Reply to  Katy Bizi
3 months ago

This is word on the marble, Katy.

Recent Comments

14
0
Selected Authors may submit comments (5 Credits)x
()
x
Scroll to Top

Sharing a Post

Why do my friends need to SignIn to read the post I shared?

Actually, this is a voting security feature. During public voting, only club members can read posts submitted for that contest. Since anyone reading the story is able to vote (click the Like button), we reserve these capabilities to members who SignIn. Before we implemented this security feature, people were voting multiple times and making the public voting process unfair and out of balance. To fix this, our staff finally decided to allow only members who SignIn to read the stories. Membership is free and easy, and ensures our club is safe, secure, and family-friendly!