“I’m running away, you can’t stop me!” Scilla pouted, storming toward the back door.

Her mother sighed the way only mothers do. “I’ll see you for dinner, then!”

Scilla huffed, giving the door a forceful slam to punctuate her displeasure. How dare she not take her seriously?

The ground was muddy from the recent rain and Scilla stomped through it, smirking as it splattered onto her white tights, knowing it would anger her mother. She headed for the woods behind her house as she often did – it had long been her place of escape.

She walked for some time, kicking at pebbles in the ground, cursing her mother for being so unfair. She’d only wanted one more cupcake! Delicious, soft and spongy with rich, chocolate frosting. Her mouth watered, recalling their scent.

Wait…

She sniffed delicately, and sure enough underneath the damp earthy smell of the forest, a sweet aroma called to her. She altered course, following her nose until reaching a small, sunlit clearing. In the center perched a cupcake on a lonely tree stump.

She peered around cautiously, stepping over a formation of toadstools that littered the forest floor.

“Hello?”

There was no answer. She tentatively picked up the cake and seated herself on the smooth stump.

She was overcome with the desire to take a bite, even as a small part of her mind tingled in warning. As if in a trance she brought it to her mouth. It was wonderful – the best thing she’d ever tasted. The clearing suddenly seemed brighter, more alive, the melodious birdsong inspiring her to dance.

A warm breeze swished her skirts as she twirled around and around, moving gracefully to the song of the forest.

Time stilled, the sun remained high, even long after her feet grew tired and her mind began to spin. No matter how hard she tried, she couldn’t seem to stop, possessed by the will of the woods.

She noticed assorted mushrooms circled the clearing, her mistake startling her with sudden horror. This was a faerie circle, and eating their food had trapped her for eternity.

0 0 votes
Post Rating
Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
12 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Carrie OLeary
Carrie OLeary(@carrie-oleary)
1 year ago

And let that be a cautionary tale for children everywhere. Great story Emily, nicely written with an interesting fairytale twist.

Genya Johnson
Genya Johnson(@genya-johnson)
1 year ago

This was like stepping into a fairy tale. Beautiful descriptions.

Linda Rock
Linda Rock(@linda-rock)
1 year ago

Those first 2 lines brought a huge smile to my face Emily. You have a wonderful talent of bringing a character to life. I loved this fairytale with its underlying warning. Well written.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Marianna Pieterse
Marianna Pieterse(@marianna-pieterse)
1 year ago

Emily, this was so beautifully described. It was easy to picture the scene. It has a brilliant message too. I love how you describe your protagonist’s reaction to her Mom. Children often don’t see that it is for their own good that parents don’t always give in to their commands, and often react in a similar way. This is a great story.

Alan Kemister
Alan Kemister(@alan-kemister)
1 year ago

Hello, this is a great precautionary tale and you seem to have a real knack for getting into your little heroine’s mindset. Not the sort of story I usually enjoy, but I really liked it.

Eric Radcliffe
Eric Radcliffe(@eric-radcliffe)
1 year ago

Hi Emily, a lovely bed time story for a naughty child – ha,ha. A nice easy flowing story of the unexpected. I enjoyed this story, one for the grandchildren.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Melissa Taggart
Melissa Taggart(@melissa-taggart)
1 year ago

I love this story, Emily! It’s fanciful and wondrous. It would be a great story to read to a child. Great job!

Sandra James
Sandra James(@sandra-james)
1 year ago

Not only as a child but also now as a grandmother I have wanted that extra cupcake or treat! I am sure I will remember your story Emily, next time I am tempted to have more than I should! A very well told tale 🙂

Lotchie Carmelo
Lotchie Carmelo(@lotchie-carmelo)
1 year ago

I would love to share it with my daughters at their bedtime. A beautiful story with an interesting twist.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Santina Forlenza
Santina Forlenza(@santina-forlenza)
1 year ago

Hi Emily, your cupcakes lead to the adventure. And to dangerous encounters, making the story even more interesting. I like the atmosphere of your wood. Your character is lucky to have one close to her house.

Dipayan Chakrabarti
Dipayan Chakrabarti(@dipayan-chakrabarti)
1 year ago

A nice story written basically for chilldren.

Katy Bizi
Katy Bizi(@katy-bizi)
1 year ago

This is definitely a story all parents should read to their children. So inspiring really! Congratulations on writing such a story, Emily.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.

Recent Comments

12
0
Selected Authors may submit comments (5 Credits)x
()
x
Scroll to Top

Sharing a Post

Why do my friends need to SignIn to read the post I shared?

Actually, this is a voting security feature. During public voting, only club members can read posts submitted for that contest. Since anyone reading the story is able to vote (click the Like button), we reserve these capabilities to members who SignIn. Before we implemented this security feature, people were voting multiple times and making the public voting process unfair and out of balance. To fix this, our staff finally decided to allow only members who SignIn to read the stories. Membership is free and easy, and ensures our club is safe, secure, and family-friendly!