They call this cage ‘deathrow’. Every day a dog gets taken through that door and another of us takes its place. Now I’m in deathrow. All I scent is fear. Trembling, I retreat into the corner.

Humans are coming now, little ones squealing in delight at the wriggling puppies. Humans say they’re going to their ‘freverhomes’. I don’t know where I’m going. No-one wants me.

A lady’s coming, gaze intent. I feel a…connection. Uncertainly I walk to the bars, tail stirring. The door opens, she bends, her forehead dipping down to mine.

“You’re coming home with me.” she whispers.

    0 0 votes
    Post Rating
    27 Comments
    Oldest
    Newest Most Voted
    Inline Feedbacks
    View all comments
    Lotchie Carmelo
    Lotchie Carmelo(@lotchie-carmelo)
    2 years ago

    “The door opens, she bends, her forehead dipping down to mine”, this phrase gives so much joy to me as it gives hope to a dog that feels afraid and unwanted. I love how you expressed the feeling of a dog in just a few words. Well written and well expressed.

    Lotchie Carmelo
    Lotchie Carmelo(@lotchie-carmelo)
    Reply to  Carrie OLeary
    2 years ago

    Yes, so true. Hope the dog is now happy with her forever home.

    Paula Lucas
    Paula Lucas(@paula-lucas)
    2 years ago

    Hope. It stirred my emotions. I have a rescue dog. It breaks my heart when they don’t get the life they deserve. Very well written Carrie.

    Linda Rock
    Linda Rock(@linda-rock)
    2 years ago

    Such an emotional story Carrie that really pulls at the heart strings. So glad she found her forever home.

    Eric Radcliffe
    Eric Radcliffe(@eric-radcliffe)
    2 years ago

    Well written Carrie. Only someone who has experienced that feeling of what it is like in a dog’s home, could write such a warm and loving story.

    Dipayan Chakrabarti
    Dipayan Chakrabarti(@dipayan-chakrabarti)
    2 years ago

    Hi Carrie,
    A very moving story.

    Marianna Pieterse
    Marianna Pieterse(@marianna-pieterse)
    2 years ago

    Carrie, this story brought tears to my eyes. It was so beautifully written. Like you, I would also want to take them all home! I feel so terribly sorry for these animals who stay behind.

    Last edited 2 years ago by Marianna Pieterse
    Marianna Pieterse
    Marianna Pieterse(@marianna-pieterse)
    Reply to  Carrie OLeary
    2 years ago

    Absolutely true, Carrie!

    Emily O'Leary
    Emily O'Leary(@emily-oleary)
    2 years ago

    Such an emotional little tale! Bittersweet and heart warming. I wish all animals could find their “furever home”!

    Julie Harris
    Julie Harris(@julie-harris)
    2 years ago

    Congratulations, Carrie. Your story is so full of human warmth and kindness.

    Eric Radcliffe
    Eric Radcliffe(@eric-radcliffe)
    2 years ago

    Well done and congratulations Carrie. This story touches the heart strings.

    Marianna Pieterse
    Marianna Pieterse(@marianna-pieterse)
    2 years ago

    Congratulations, Carrie! This story was both beautiful and heartbreaking, thinking of all the animals staying behind. This was a great story.

    Marianna Pieterse
    Marianna Pieterse(@marianna-pieterse)
    Reply to  Carrie OLeary
    2 years ago

    It is heartbreaking to think that some animals have to be euthanised just because they don’t get adopted. It is terrible.

    Linda Rock
    Linda Rock(@linda-rock)
    2 years ago

    Congratulations Carrie, a story that warms the heart.

    Daisy Blacklock
    Daisy Blacklock(@daisy-blacklock)
    2 years ago

    This is a beautiful story that fills me with a range of emotions. I love that the dog will be given a new chance to be happy at the end. A really great story.

    Recent Comments

    27
    0
    Selected Authors may submit comments (5 Credits)x
    ()
    x
    Scroll to Top

    Sharing a Post

    Why do my friends need to SignIn to read the post I shared?

    Actually, this is a voting security feature. During public voting, only club members can read posts submitted for that contest. Since anyone reading the story is able to vote (click the Like button), we reserve these capabilities to members who SignIn. Before we implemented this security feature, people were voting multiple times and making the public voting process unfair and out of balance. To fix this, our staff finally decided to allow only members who SignIn to read the stories. Membership is free and easy, and ensures our club is safe, secure, and family-friendly!