They call this cage ‘deathrow’. Every day a dog gets taken through that door and another of us takes its place. Now I’m in deathrow. All I scent is fear. Trembling, I retreat into the corner.

Humans are coming now, little ones squealing in delight at the wriggling puppies. Humans say they’re going to their ‘freverhomes’. I don’t know where I’m going. No-one wants me.

A lady’s coming, gaze intent. I feel a…connection. Uncertainly I walk to the bars, tail stirring. The door opens, she bends, her forehead dipping down to mine.

“You’re coming home with me.” she whispers.

0 0 votes
Post Rating
Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
27 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Lotchie Carmelo
Lotchie Carmelo(@lotchie-carmelo)
1 year ago

“The door opens, she bends, her forehead dipping down to mine”, this phrase gives so much joy to me as it gives hope to a dog that feels afraid and unwanted. I love how you expressed the feeling of a dog in just a few words. Well written and well expressed.

Lotchie Carmelo
Lotchie Carmelo(@lotchie-carmelo)
Reply to  Carrie OLeary
1 year ago

Yes, so true. Hope the dog is now happy with her forever home.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Paula Lucas
Paula Lucas(@paula-lucas)
1 year ago

Hope. It stirred my emotions. I have a rescue dog. It breaks my heart when they don’t get the life they deserve. Very well written Carrie.

Linda Rock
Linda Rock(@linda-rock)
1 year ago

Such an emotional story Carrie that really pulls at the heart strings. So glad she found her forever home.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Eric Radcliffe
Eric Radcliffe(@eric-radcliffe)
1 year ago

Well written Carrie. Only someone who has experienced that feeling of what it is like in a dog’s home, could write such a warm and loving story.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Dipayan Chakrabarti
Dipayan Chakrabarti(@dipayan-chakrabarti)
1 year ago

Hi Carrie,
A very moving story.

Marianna Pieterse
Marianna Pieterse(@marianna-pieterse)
1 year ago

Carrie, this story brought tears to my eyes. It was so beautifully written. Like you, I would also want to take them all home! I feel so terribly sorry for these animals who stay behind.

Last edited 1 year ago by Marianna Pieterse
Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Marianna Pieterse
Marianna Pieterse(@marianna-pieterse)
Reply to  Carrie OLeary
1 year ago

Absolutely true, Carrie!

Emily O'Leary
Emily O'Leary(@emily-oleary)
1 year ago

Such an emotional little tale! Bittersweet and heart warming. I wish all animals could find their “furever home”!

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Julie Harris
Julie Harris(@julie-harris)
1 year ago

Congratulations, Carrie. Your story is so full of human warmth and kindness.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Eric Radcliffe
Eric Radcliffe(@eric-radcliffe)
1 year ago

Well done and congratulations Carrie. This story touches the heart strings.

Marianna Pieterse
Marianna Pieterse(@marianna-pieterse)
1 year ago

Congratulations, Carrie! This story was both beautiful and heartbreaking, thinking of all the animals staying behind. This was a great story.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Marianna Pieterse
Marianna Pieterse(@marianna-pieterse)
Reply to  Carrie OLeary
1 year ago

It is heartbreaking to think that some animals have to be euthanised just because they don’t get adopted. It is terrible.

Linda Rock
Linda Rock(@linda-rock)
1 year ago

Congratulations Carrie, a story that warms the heart.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Daisy Blacklock
Daisy Blacklock(@daisy-blacklock)
1 year ago

This is a beautiful story that fills me with a range of emotions. I love that the dog will be given a new chance to be happy at the end. A really great story.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.

Recent Comments


27
0
Selected Authors may submit comments (5 Credits)x
()
x
Scroll to Top

Sharing a Post

Why do my friends need to SignIn to read the post I shared?

Actually, this is a voting security feature. During public voting, only club members can read posts submitted for that contest. Since anyone reading the story is able to vote (click the Like button), we reserve these capabilities to members who SignIn. Before we implemented this security feature, people were voting multiple times and making the public voting process unfair and out of balance. To fix this, our staff finally decided to allow only members who SignIn to read the stories. Membership is free and easy, and ensures our club is safe, secure, and family-friendly!