She looked up at his lined laughing face and stood quickly, eager to grab the lumpy package from his desk. ‘Not so fast,’ he whispered as his bony fingers closed over her wrist, ‘Which door will you choose?’

He dropped her wrist as she turned around surveying the room. Only then she noticed the other door, tucked absentmindedly behind a tower of boxes. ‘Seriously?’ she asked. He replied by slowly pointing to each door. Sighing, she clutched the package to her chest.

The door I came in? Or the other one? Hang on; which door did I come in?

0 0 votes
Post Rating
Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
21 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Fuji
Fuji(@fuji)
1 year ago

Wow, Lisa, I’m impressed. I always wanted to write sequels to some of my stories, but have never quite pulled it off. This second Monday is equally good as a stand alone or as a followup. I can’t wait to see what happens next! Cliffhangers are a great way to keep an audience engaged. Great work.

Dipayan Chakrabarti
Dipayan Chakrabarti(@dipayan-chakrabarti)
1 year ago

I really liked your story, Lisa. Good work!

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Carrie OLeary
Carrie OLeary(@carrie-oleary)
1 year ago

Nice job on the sequel Lisa. I like adding prequels and sequels to my stories sometimes too. You never know quite where they will take you. I have several recurring characters who pop in wanting me to tell just a little bit more of their story. I think that can be one of the fun parts of writing flash and micro fiction.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Linda Rock
Linda Rock(@linda-rock)
1 year ago

I love how you have not only kept the mystery of the parcel but also added to it with the choice of doors in the second Monday. This certainly keeps us gripped. Well done!

Lotchie Carmelo
Lotchie Carmelo(@lotchie-carmelo)
1 year ago

I love it, Lisa. Your cliffhanging techniques are very effective. This brings excitement to me. Same as Fuji, I can’t wait to see what happens next.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Lotchie Carmelo
Lotchie Carmelo(@lotchie-carmelo)
Reply to  Lisa Gledhill
1 year ago

You’re welcome Lisa.

Marianna Pieterse
Marianna Pieterse(@marianna-pieterse)
1 year ago

This is a great scene you have created. That last line brings a feeling of panic and definitely gives your story an ominous feel. Well done.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Christer Norrlof
Christer Norrlof(@christer-norrlof)
1 year ago

Your story reveals a lot of uncertainty for the protagonist: Is the man good or evil? What’s in the package? Which door is the best one? Even the question “Where did I enter?” adds to the mystery. A lot of material for a sequel.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Susan Dawson
Susan Dawson(@susan-dawson)
1 year ago

I feel a need for Monday (3)

Eric Radcliffe
Eric Radcliffe(@eric-radcliffe)
1 year ago

Hi Lisa, I love this story. It is all the little things that make up the bigger picture, bony fingers, lumpy package, lined face, then the choice of the door! On a lighter note, have you ever visited a place that you have not been to before, and you stand there thinking what way did I come in? And you panic a little as you walk this way, then say to yourself, no I that’s not the way, then at last someone comes along to ask the way out. Your story reminded me of a time when this happened to me. Lovely write Lisa.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Katy Bizi
Katy Bizi(@katy-bizi)
1 year ago

What a great sequel! You definitely keep the reader on edge while still maintaining the same mysterious vibes. Pardon my manners, but you better write a third part and make this into a trilogy, Lisa! We need to know more about the character’s decision.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.

Recent Comments

21
0
Selected Authors may submit comments (5 Credits)x
()
x
Scroll to Top

Sharing a Post

Why do my friends need to SignIn to read the post I shared?

Actually, this is a voting security feature. During public voting, only club members can read posts submitted for that contest. Since anyone reading the story is able to vote (click the Like button), we reserve these capabilities to members who SignIn. Before we implemented this security feature, people were voting multiple times and making the public voting process unfair and out of balance. To fix this, our staff finally decided to allow only members who SignIn to read the stories. Membership is free and easy, and ensures our club is safe, secure, and family-friendly!