He couldn’t afford a real home. But he did have rich black soil, and a door, gifted from a stranger with midnight-blue eyes.

By day he planted an orchard. By night he slept beside the magnificent door.
He was content. Owning one thing of beauty was enough.

One morning, four sturdy walls appeared. A roof, a hearth, the first blossoms.
He called out, in gratitude and celebration, “Dear stranger, come! There is room enough for two.”

By day, they pick apples. By night, beneath midnight-blue skies, they fashion a door for the next gifting.

Enough, and more than enough.

0 0 votes
Post Rating
Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
25 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Voice-Team
Voice-Team(@voice-team)
Admin
1 year ago

A lovely tale combining realism with some gentle magic. Inspiring and comforting.

Marianna Pieterse
Marianna Pieterse(@marianna-pieterse)
1 year ago

This is a beautiful story with a great message. How amazing that although your protagonist had very little, he/she was happy to share with the next person and to pay it forward.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Marianna Pieterse
Marianna Pieterse(@marianna-pieterse)
Reply to  Julie Harris
1 year ago

It is amazing how an image can inspire a story and how certain images will never leave you. I absolutely love your story.

Lotchie Carmelo
Lotchie Carmelo(@lotchie-carmelo)
1 year ago

This is a very inspiring story, that even though the protagonist had little, he/she is content with all he/she had and willing to share it with other people. “Enough, and more than enough” – this phrase resonated with me, and I love it so much.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Lotchie Carmelo
Lotchie Carmelo(@lotchie-carmelo)
Reply to  Julie Harris
1 year ago

Yes, you are right Julie, You’re most welcome.

Danielle Burke
Danielle Burke(@danielle-burke)
1 year ago

I love the combination of the fantastical story with a solid theme.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Christer Norrlof
Christer Norrlof(@christer-norrlof)
1 year ago

I love the philosophy behind the thought that by feeling gratitude for the little you have, more will be given. Also, that it’s important to give when/as you have received. Great writing!

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Eric Radcliffe
Eric Radcliffe(@eric-radcliffe)
1 year ago

Isn’t it amazing how something catches our imagination, and can lay there seemingly for ages, just waiting to germinate. Well written Julie.

Katy Bizi
Katy Bizi(@katy-bizi)
1 year ago

What a lovely idea, Julie! I hope to see more stories of yours!

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Katy Bizi
Katy Bizi(@katy-bizi)
Reply to  Julie Harris
1 year ago

That is really great to hear. I’ll look forward to them!

Carrie OLeary
Carrie OLeary(@carrie-oleary)
1 year ago

Congratulations Julie, an interesting tale.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Susan Dawson
Susan Dawson(@susan-dawson)
1 year ago

Congratulations. This is a real parable of a story. It is abut honest labour too. They don’t just sit behind their doors, they work the soil.

Eric Radcliffe
Eric Radcliffe(@eric-radcliffe)
1 year ago

Congratulation Julie, well deserved.

Marianna Pieterse
Marianna Pieterse(@marianna-pieterse)
1 year ago

Congratulations, Julie! This was truly inspirational and beautifully told.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Linda Rock
Linda Rock(@linda-rock)
1 year ago

Congratulations Julie, this is a truly inspiring story.

Daisy Blacklock
Daisy Blacklock(@daisy-blacklock)
1 year ago

This is a beautiful story. The repetition of the words ‘midnight-blue’ ties your story together really well. I also love the last line.

Lotchie Carmelo
Lotchie Carmelo(@lotchie-carmelo)
1 year ago

Congratulations on your win, Julie.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Fuji
Fuji(@fuji)
11 months ago

Hello Julie. I’m slowly working my way through the “Eyes of the Soul” eBook and discovering or rediscovering some real treasures. This story is one of them. You’ve said so much with just 100 words, and left us with something memorable and inspiring. Congratulations for being selected for the eBook!

Recent Comments


25
0
Selected Authors may submit comments (5 Credits)x
()
x
Scroll to Top

Sharing a Post

Why do my friends need to SignIn to read the post I shared?

Actually, this is a voting security feature. During public voting, only club members can read posts submitted for that contest. Since anyone reading the story is able to vote (click the Like button), we reserve these capabilities to members who SignIn. Before we implemented this security feature, people were voting multiple times and making the public voting process unfair and out of balance. To fix this, our staff finally decided to allow only members who SignIn to read the stories. Membership is free and easy, and ensures our club is safe, secure, and family-friendly!