Beneath the bough of a cherry tree a child is conceived and, within a year lies buried beneath the same tree.  She weeps at the grave – heartbroken – while cherry blossoms rain down as tears on the scene.   He struggles – she turns away – he pleads – she says she will let him know when she is ready to live again.

Life continues.   Time flows around all, even those who are reluctant to accept this fact, who struggle to hold on to the past.

Far away he rests beside a flowing river wending from orchard to sea.  In his hand, a letter.  He opens it – the envelope releases cherry blossoms falling as tears to the ground.

It is time to go home.

0 0 votes
Post Rating
Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
19 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Voice-Team
Voice-Team(@voice-team)
Admin
1 year ago

A very short, poetic story. Lovely rendering of cherry blossoms as love and loss and renewal. 

Eric Radcliffe
Eric Radcliffe(@eric-radcliffe)
1 year ago

Hello Susan, the first thing that comes to my mind is, why write 350 words, when you can say it in less, a thought for all who read this story. It’s true, and for some, sadness will be part of their lives, but, there will be healing, if given time. Your story so beautifully written reminds us so.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Fuji
Fuji(@fuji)
1 year ago

Brevity can be so beautiful. This series of phrases “He struggles – she turns away – he pleads” says so much more than long sentences could. Excellent writing.

Linda Rock
Linda Rock(@linda-rock)
1 year ago

Susan this is so beautiful. So much said in so few words and overflowing with emotion. Today I have learnt something which I know will enhance my writing, thank you for the lesson. If I could give more than 1 like, I would.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Brigitta Hegyi
Brigitta Hegyi(@brigitta-hegyi)
1 year ago

Beautiful and sad. Sometimes less is more. 🙂

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Danielle Burke
Danielle Burke(@danielle-burke)
1 year ago

Wow, Susan. I love the imagery with the cherry blossoms/tears, particularly this line: “He opens it – the envelope releases cherry blossoms falling as tears to the ground.”

To the point and extremely powerful with both the literal and figurative meaning of “release”.

Dipayan Chakrabarti
Dipayan Chakrabarti(@dipayan-chakrabarti)
1 year ago

The explicitness and detail of the mind-pictures have charmed me along with the brevity of space and expression.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Dipayan Chakrabarti
Dipayan Chakrabarti(@dipayan-chakrabarti)
Reply to  Susan Giles
1 year ago

You’re welcome.

Carrie OLeary
Carrie OLeary(@carrie-oleary)
1 year ago

So much sadness in this Susan, but in the end there is so much hope. I too loved the second to last line. Good stuff.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Sandra James
Sandra James(@sandra-james)
1 year ago

I agree with the previous comments – so much in so few words and it works so well. A beautiful story and very well written 🙂

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Lotchie Carmelo
Lotchie Carmelo(@lotchie-carmelo)
1 year ago

I love it, Susan. A very short story but so much in it. You nailed it, Susan. Congratulations.

Become a PatronHelp support our family-friendly mission

Recent Comments




19
0
Selected Authors may submit comments (5 Credits)x
()
x
Scroll to Top

Sharing a Post

Why do my friends need to SignIn to read the post I shared?

Actually, this is a voting security feature. During public voting, only club members can read posts submitted for that contest. Since anyone reading the story is able to vote (click the Like button), we reserve these capabilities to members who SignIn. Before we implemented this security feature, people were voting multiple times and making the public voting process unfair and out of balance. To fix this, our staff finally decided to allow only members who SignIn to read the stories. Membership is free and easy, and ensures our club is safe, secure, and family-friendly!