I grew up in Japan amid majestic mountains and vales. Our manor-house was paradise to me with colourful flower garden, birds, and insects.

 I used to saunter around the serpentine corridors, intricate passageways, spiralling arches, and the tiny flower garden of the country-house on quiet afternoons when Granny took a nap. My grandfather had died in the dark damp room which gave access to our beautiful flower garden.

One afternoon I was walking around our flower garden when there was no noise or activity. A sweet smell of flowers hung in the air. Nature looked breathtakingly beautiful. I wanted to see those bright, bold, and beautiful flowers after the cold and dark sky of winter.  Substantial warming had already occurred, causing new growth. The music teacher’s soporific voice streamed through the air into my ears from the music school. The lone dove startled me when it cooed. I couldn’t believe my eyes when I encountered a beautiful girl sleeping under a cherry tree laden with beautiful pink blossoms.  Her beauty arrested me. I kept gazing at her. I spotted a pink flower near her head. I picked it up.

 But she didn’t stir into wakefulness when I touched her forehead with the full-bloomed flower. Granny’s loud voice startled me. The beautiful girl just vanished and was never seen again. Maybe someday she would bring exceptional happiness.

4.8 4 votes
Post Rating
Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
97 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Eric Radcliffe
Eric Radcliffe (@eric-radcliffe)
1 year ago

Hello again Dipayan, reading your story helps me to see how beauty can evoke the imagination, help us to dream, and to hold on to our dreams. Thank you.

Brigitta Hegyi
Brigitta Hegyi (@brigitta-hegyi)
1 year ago

Beautiful story, I like the descriptions! 🙂

Shrabani Chakrabarti
Shrabani Chakrabarti (@shrabani-chakrabarti)
1 year ago

It is a vivid and touching story which is very bright with colours. Perfect!

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Shrabani Chakrabarti
Shrabani Chakrabarti (@shrabani-chakrabarti)
1 year ago

I’m also attracted by the deep emotions and the old world charm which surrounded the little protagonist.

Shrabani Chakrabarti
Shrabani Chakrabarti (@shrabani-chakrabarti)
1 year ago

Is your story a study of the characteristics of children?

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Shrabani Chakrabarti
Shrabani Chakrabarti (@shrabani-chakrabarti)
1 year ago

The vivid and rich imagery is the essential component of your story and adds to its meaning and effect. Nice work, Dipayan.

Shrabani Chakrabarti
Shrabani Chakrabarti (@shrabani-chakrabarti)
1 year ago

You’re welcome. I can see dream colours, hear dream music, smell dream fragrances hovering at the edge of reality as I read your story again and again.

Last edited 1 year ago by Shrabani Chakrabarti
Shrabani Chakrabarti
Shrabani Chakrabarti (@shrabani-chakrabarti)
1 year ago

Congratulations, Dipayan.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
sujoy sarkar
sujoy sarkar (@sujoy-sarkar)
1 year ago

Wonderful Bobby…….Love it??

sujoy sarkar
sujoy sarkar (@sujoy-sarkar)
1 year ago

‘Congratulations for the win. Your story has left me speechless. The little boy had remarkable powers of observation.’

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
sujoy sarkar
sujoy sarkar (@sujoy-sarkar)
1 year ago

Every line in the story is pregnant with meaning. It reminds me of my childhood, of an era of simple pleasures.

sujoy sarkar
sujoy sarkar (@sujoy-sarkar)
1 year ago

The ‘dark damp room’ and the ‘breathtakingly beautiful’ Nature are mentioned to create a sense of contrast between dream and reality.

Abhijit Ghosh Dastidar
Abhijit Ghosh Dastidar (@abhijit-ghosh-dastidar)
1 year ago

At a time when all prevailing darkness make our days sad and gloomy, your writing brings a ray of fresh hope, touches the heart and makes living bearable again. Kudos. Keep writing.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Rupak Banerjee
Rupak Banerjee (@rupak-banerjee)
1 year ago

Excellent story……keep on writing…????

Santina Forlenza
Santina Forlenza (@santina-forlenza)
1 year ago

Interesting how in all stories I am reading Cherry blossoms are always somehow linked to a loss, love and death and life. Cherry trees really bring deep meanings to all of us.

Mousam Ray
Mousam Ray (@mousam-ray)
1 year ago

Excellent

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Subhro Mitra
Subhro Mitra (@subhro-mitra)
1 year ago

Dipayan, I greatly enjoy reading your stories.

sujaya dasgupta
sujaya dasgupta (@sujaya-dasgupta)
1 year ago

Beautifully written..heart touching story

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Joydeep bhattacharya
Joydeep bhattacharya (@joydeep-bhattacharya)
1 year ago

Wonderful story. I like it.

NIRMALYA RANJAN Guha
NIRMALYA RANJAN Guha (@nirmalya-ranjan-guha)
1 year ago

Excellent writing… Nicely descriptive.

Partha Dasgupta
Partha Dasgupta (@partha-dasgupta)
1 year ago

Beautiful story!! Love it.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Niladri Bagchi
Niladri Bagchi (@niladri-bagchi)
1 year ago

Simple and nice.

Dipanjan Mukherjee
Dipanjan Mukherjee (@dipanjan-mukherjee1)
1 year ago

Beautifully written!! Took me back to my childhood days and away from the hassles of city life. Very vivid and descriptive narration of one’s thought!! Keep it up!!

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Avijeet Sarkar
Avijeet Sarkar (@avijeet-sarkar)
1 year ago

The sentences lead one into an abstract world of crazy hues. When you come out, the trip is worth recalling. Great going!

Kaustav Dam
Kaustav Dam (@kaustav-dam)
1 year ago

Beautiful story.

Sandra James
Sandra James (@sandra-james)
1 year ago

An intriguing story, Dipayan. I do hope there is more to that beautiful girl in the future and she somehow does bring happiness 🙂

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Romyani Chakrabarti
Romyani Chakrabarti (@romyani-chakrabarti)
1 year ago

The relation between dream and reality is skillfully portrayed by you in your story. It has also a penetrating realism. Perfect!

Romyani Chakrabarti
Romyani Chakrabarti (@romyani-chakrabarti)
1 year ago

You’re welcome. I’ve enjoyed all the telling mental images portrayed in the story.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Romyani Chakrabarti
Romyani Chakrabarti (@romyani-chakrabarti)
1 year ago

I sat dazed after reading the story. The “Serpentine corridors,” the “intricate passageways,” the “spiralling arches,” and the “tiny flower garden” took me back to my childhood.

Romyani Chakrabarti
Romyani Chakrabarti (@romyani-chakrabarti)
1 year ago

The death of the boy’s grandfather was his first intimation of mortality. You write very movingly indeed.

Carrie OLeary
Carrie OLeary (@carrie-oleary)
1 year ago

An interesting story Dipayan. Is the girl a ghost, or a vision of a possible future. Intriguing.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Lotchie Carmelo
Lotchie Carmelo (@lotchie-carmelo)
1 year ago

What a lovely piece it is, Dipayan. I love it.

Lotchie Carmelo
Lotchie Carmelo (@lotchie-carmelo)
1 year ago

You’re welcome.

Santina Forlenza
Santina Forlenza (@santina-forlenza)
1 year ago

Congratulations Dipayan!

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Fuji
Fuji (@fuji)
1 year ago

Congratulations, Dipayan, on a very beautiful story!

Eric Radcliffe
Eric Radcliffe (@eric-radcliffe)
1 year ago

Congratulations Dipayan.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Eric Radcliffe
Eric Radcliffe (@eric-radcliffe)
1 year ago

Dipayan, you are more than welcome.

Carrie OLeary
Carrie OLeary (@carrie-oleary)
1 year ago

Congratulations Dipayan.

Linda Rock
Linda Rock (@linda-rock)
1 year ago

Congratulations Dipayan.

Partha Dasgupta
Partha Dasgupta (@partha-dasgupta)
1 year ago

Congratulations Dipayan!!!

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Mousam Ray
Mousam Ray (@mousam-ray)
1 year ago

Congratulations Dipayan

Joydeep bhattacharya
Joydeep bhattacharya (@joydeep-bhattacharya)
1 year ago

Congratulations Dipayan.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Marianna Pieterse
Marianna Pieterse (@marianna-pieterse)
1 year ago

Congratulations, Dipayan! This was a beautiful story.

Indranil Dasgupta
Indranil Dasgupta (@indranil-dasgupta)
1 year ago

Way to go Dipayan !!

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
NIRMALYA RANJAN Guha
NIRMALYA RANJAN Guha (@nirmalya-ranjan-guha)
1 year ago

Congratulations for the win.

Ashoke Basistha
Ashoke Basistha (@ashoke-basistha1)
1 year ago

Congratulations Dipayan! Proud to be your friend! Keep it up!

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
sujaya dasgupta
sujaya dasgupta (@sujaya-dasgupta)
1 year ago

Congratulations ??

Raja Guha
Raja Guha (@raja-guha)
1 year ago

Dipayan Chakrabarti is a very talented writer. He loves to portray the life as a person visualises, making it more realistic. He loves playing with simple words, juggling them to make a story, just like stitching a colourful garland from a basket of flowers.

Danielle Burke
Danielle Burke (@danielle-burke)
1 year ago

I love your word choices: “I used to saunter around the serpentine corridors”. You have certainly painted a beautiful image.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Romyani Chakrabarti
Romyani Chakrabarti (@romyani-chakrabarti)
1 year ago

Congratulations! ??

Become a PatronHelp support our family-friendly mission

Most Voted Comments

Avatar
8

Bait

It takes a real talent to tell a story in so few words. What was…


Avatar
6

Endure and Sing

Inspirational piece. Am glad you picked the rat to be the protagonist in your story,…


Avatar
6

Endure and Sing

Such a sweet tale - and with a good moral to the story. I thought…


Avatar
5

Endure and Sing

Wow! This is a good story! Really good to read to little kids, the moral…


Avatar
4

Endure and Sing

Hi Katy, it really does add an extra dimension to hear your story read aloud…


Avatar
4

Endure and Sing

In my neighboring country Denmark, we have the classical storyteller Hans-Christian Andersen. Your sweet story…


Avatar
4

Endure and Sing

A really nice one with a wonderful story line. I can see why this was…


Avatar
4

Endure and Sing

A beautiful story! I was reminded of seeing Paul Potts and Susan Boyle on Britain's…


Avatar
4

Endure and Sing

Your story inspired me to keep going no matter how discouraging it gets. At times…


Avatar
4

Endure and Sing

Thank you so much for the feedback! I pray that the young readers will be…


Avatar
4

Endure and Sing

Thank you for taking the time to comment and convey your thoughts on the story.…


Avatar
4

Endure and Sing

Hi Katy, don't we all feel like the rat in your story at times! We…


Avatar
4

Vows

I must admit it was the picture of the church, with its grave yard, under…


Avatar
3

Between Belonging and Dying

A very powerful story, Daniel. Your writing makes it easy to feel the reality of…


Avatar
3

Between Belonging and Dying

Oh my gosh, Daniel. Your story really defines the word superb. You make me experience…


Avatar
3

Between Belonging and Dying

A horrendous situation, more so because so many people find themselves going through it. A…


Avatar
3

Between Belonging and Dying

What an extremely powerful story Daniel, really well written and with an ending that had…


Avatar
3

Between Belonging and Dying

Daniel, this story is one of the best flash fiction stories I've ever read. You…


Avatar
3

In Memoriam

It's terrible to lose someone you love and accept that he is not a part…


Avatar
3

The Problem with Women

I think Carrie has said it all. We rest our collective case.  ? 


Recent Comments


www.Voice.club

Upcoming Site
Maintenance
Scheduled for Today @ 8:45am ET

USA Timezone – Eastern Time – (GMT-5)

Days
Hours
Minutes
Seconds


Voice-Team will perform upgrades and add new features!

During our scheduled maintenance
Voice.club will be inaccessible

97
0
Selected Authors may submit comments (5 Credits)x
()
x
Scroll to Top

Sharing a Post

Why do my friends need to SignIn to read the post I shared?

Actually, this is a voting security feature. During public voting, only club members can read posts submitted for that contest. Since anyone reading the story is able to vote (click the Like button), we reserve these capabilities to members who SignIn. Before we implemented this security feature, people were voting multiple times and making the public voting process unfair and out of balance. To fix this, our staff finally decided to allow only members who SignIn to read the stories. Membership is free and easy, and ensures our club is safe, secure, and family-friendly!