When my darling Sven was on a six-month overseas assignment, I starved myself into a perfect ten, changed my hair from mousy brown to dark gold, traded my thick glasses for contacts. Once he gets over the shock, I’m sure he’ll propose at last!

Now I’ve finally wangled him into a quiet corner, where he stares at me in confusion.

“You look different,” he stammers, totally puzzled. Then realization floods his handsome face. “I know! You’re wearing a new watch!”

Sigh.

When kindling doesn’t work, the wise woman uses lightning bolts. Watch out, Sven, you’re about to burst into flames!

0 0 votes
Post Rating
Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
17 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Carrie OLeary
Carrie OLeary(@carrie-oleary)
1 year ago

Ha, ha. Love this Fuji. Such a familiar story for us poor women. I swear my hubby never actually looks at me. If I went out wearing a Santa suit, he probably wouldn’t notice ?. Good write!

Linda Rock
Linda Rock(@linda-rock)
1 year ago

LOL this is great Fuji. And I can totally relate. For years I wore glasses before taking the plunge into contact lens. I’d arrived at the office wearing glasses and returned after lunch without them. A co-worker stared at me and I thought, yes he’s noticed. ‘You look different’ he said, ‘ I know, you’ve changed your hair.’ Your story is going to put a smile on a lot of faces. Loved it!

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Marianna Pieterse
Marianna Pieterse(@marianna-pieterse)
1 year ago

Fuji, this was a great, fun story to read. It made me smile. I think many women can relate!

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Lotchie Carmelo
Lotchie Carmelo(@lotchie-carmelo)
1 year ago

Hahaha (lol). This is so funny. This reminds me of something in the past. When I went to a salon and make my hair cut short when I got home my husband just only says “What did you eat for lunch, you look chubbier and your face turns rounder”. I am a bit disappointed with his reaction. A very nice write, Fuji.

Lotchie Carmelo
Lotchie Carmelo(@lotchie-carmelo)
Reply to  Fuji
1 year ago

Yes, Fuji. And it caused too much disappointment to us.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Julie Harris
Julie Harris(@julie-harris)
1 year ago

This is a very fun read, Fuji. I think we’ve all experienced something similar! On the other hand, once when my son was still a toddler, I had my hair cut from waist-length to a head of short curls. When I arrived at home, he burst into tears and cried out “I want my Mommy!” He refused to speak to me for more than a week, asking where his mommy was. So at least one male noticed a change, but was not too happy about it! ?

Eric Radcliffe
Eric Radcliffe(@eric-radcliffe)
1 year ago

Ha, ha, Juma, you should stayed the same. I guess some of us would have thought what have you been up to? Maybe even, what are you after?

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Daisy Blacklock
Daisy Blacklock(@daisy-blacklock)
1 year ago

A very amusing read. Well done on this great piece of writing.

Brigitta Hegyi
Brigitta Hegyi(@brigitta-hegyi)
1 year ago

This is really funny and totally true! I think that we focus more on the little things than they do.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Christer Norrlof
Christer Norrlof(@christer-norrlof)
1 year ago

Poor Sven who is about to go up in flames. Actually, I read something very similar last night about people suffering from Aspergers syndrome, not being able to pick up on things that are very obvious to most people. Sven just might have a tiny bit of that. On the other hand, reading the comments, I’m thinking that most men, including myself, suffer from Aspergers. Great story!

Sandra James
Sandra James(@sandra-james)
1 year ago

Great story, Fuji, and one I know many of us will identify with  ?  Lightning bolts are a good idea, or one of those electronic cattle prods!

Recent Comments

17
0
Selected Authors may submit comments (5 Credits)x
()
x
Scroll to Top

Sharing a Post

Why do my friends need to SignIn to read the post I shared?

Actually, this is a voting security feature. During public voting, only club members can read posts submitted for that contest. Since anyone reading the story is able to vote (click the Like button), we reserve these capabilities to members who SignIn. Before we implemented this security feature, people were voting multiple times and making the public voting process unfair and out of balance. To fix this, our staff finally decided to allow only members who SignIn to read the stories. Membership is free and easy, and ensures our club is safe, secure, and family-friendly!