I ejected before my plane hit the ground, the explosion showing a stone circle beneath me. My parachute slowed my descent. I felt a wave of dizziness, my head sticky where I’d hit the console; I was unconscious before I landed.

I awoke to find a young woman leaning over me in the bright morning light, mopping my face with a rag. Her matted hair hung loosely around her shoulders, beautiful clay patterns decorated her face and arms.

Everything was different now. Wattle and daub straw-thatched huts surrounded the henge. My plane… vanished. I definitely wasn’t in my time anymore.

5 1 vote
Post Rating
Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
16 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Linda Rock
Linda Rock(@linda-rock)
1 year ago

I love stories of time travel and yours really captures the imagination Carrie, leaving us to wonder what now awaits the pilot and what may be learned about Stone Henge. Well written.

Linda Rock
Linda Rock(@linda-rock)
Reply to  Carrie OLeary
1 year ago

I went to the movies with a friend who had read ‘The Time Traveller’s Wife’ and she was quite disappointed in the film. I’d not read the book but really enjoyed the film. Have your read the book or seen the film?

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Eric Radcliffe
Eric Radcliffe(@eric-radcliffe)
1 year ago

The story and the picture go together so well. Well done.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Lotchie Carmelo
Lotchie Carmelo(@lotchie-carmelo)
1 year ago

Wow, another well-written story, Carrie. You captured my imagination completely from the beginning until the end of the story. Linda is right, I am also wondering now what life awaits the pilot.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Voice-Team
Voice-Team(@voice-team)
Admin
Reply to  Carrie OLeary
1 year ago

You are most welcome!

Julie Harris
Julie Harris(@julie-harris)
1 year ago

I loved this story, Carrie. I’m particularly intrigued by the clay patterns on the woman’s face and arms. I also wonder about the picture – it doesn’t seem to be Stonehenge, since there are no lintels and there are mountains or hills in the background. I know there are many other ancient Henges – which one is pictured with your story?

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Daisy Blacklock
Daisy Blacklock(@daisy-blacklock)
1 year ago

A super story! I love stories that take you back in time. It takes my imagination back in time as well.

Marianna Pieterse
Marianna Pieterse(@marianna-pieterse)
1 year ago

This is another fascinating story, Carrie! It is very captivating and leaves me wondering if the protagonist would make it back to his own time or will he decided to stay where he is?

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Thompson Emate
Thompson Emate(@thompson-emate)
1 year ago

I indeed love the way the story ended. Suspense! How I wish it could proceed further.

Recent Comments


16
0
Selected Authors may submit comments (5 Credits)x
()
x
Scroll to Top

Sharing a Post

Why do my friends need to SignIn to read the post I shared?

Actually, this is a voting security feature. During public voting, only club members can read posts submitted for that contest. Since anyone reading the story is able to vote (click the Like button), we reserve these capabilities to members who SignIn. Before we implemented this security feature, people were voting multiple times and making the public voting process unfair and out of balance. To fix this, our staff finally decided to allow only members who SignIn to read the stories. Membership is free and easy, and ensures our club is safe, secure, and family-friendly!