The minutes ticked by as she hesitated. It was as if the room were holding its breath waiting for her decision.

The two doors didn’t appear to be any different, or provide any answers as to which one she had entered through. Maybe I should just open the package now?  She lifted it up and shook it a little, listening to it rattle softly inside. This is ridiculous. She looked at the doors again willing them to expose their secrets within. Left. You always choose left in a maze to lead you out.

Her hand reached for the right doorknob.

0 0 votes
Post Rating
Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
21 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Voice-Team
Voice-Team(@voice-team)
Admin
1 year ago

This wonderful story is part of a series. To read all the Monday stories, go to Search and type in “Monday (“. Enjoy!

Julie Harris
Julie Harris(@julie-harris)
1 year ago

Love it, Lisa! It was fun going back and reading all three Monday stories again. I love in this one that her head said “left” but her hand reached for “right”. Keep these stories coming!

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Carrie OLeary
Carrie OLeary(@carrie-oleary)
1 year ago

I love, not only how diverse each of our stories are for each prompt, but also that they guide us in a direction. I certainly found many of my recurring characters and storylines, over the last couple of years, completing the Write Academy 100 word weekend challenges every week. It’s great that you are using each consecutive prompt to build on to your story. Good job, and great suspense.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Eric Radcliffe
Eric Radcliffe(@eric-radcliffe)
1 year ago

Again Lisa, lots of questions, keeping the reader guessing. A little hint, perhaps next time, or do we make it Tuesday?

Lotchie Carmelo
Lotchie Carmelo(@lotchie-carmelo)
1 year ago

This is wonderful, Lisa. Eric is right as you also left many questions in my mind. Like which door is your protagonist go8ng to open (as he/she chooses left first but her hand reached the right doorknob). Will your protagonist open the right doorknob? You keep me guessing.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Lotchie Carmelo
Lotchie Carmelo(@lotchie-carmelo)
Reply to  Lisa Gledhill
1 year ago

You’re welcome.

Linda Rock
Linda Rock(@linda-rock)
1 year ago

Well you certainly leave us guessing Lisa and wanting more. Love the second sentence! Look forward to the next instalment!

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Daisy Blacklock
Daisy Blacklock(@daisy-blacklock)
1 year ago

This story is brilliant and very mysterious.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Marianna Pieterse
Marianna Pieterse(@marianna-pieterse)
1 year ago

Lisa, I agree with Linda, I love the second sentence. It adds a lot of tension to your story. I’m also left wondering what is behind each door and did she pick the right one?

Susan Dawson
Susan Dawson(@susan-dawson)
1 year ago

This could go on til Christmas

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Christer Norrlof
Christer Norrlof(@christer-norrlof)
1 year ago

It might be as thrilling for you, Lisa, as it is for us, the readers, to let the Voice.club prompts decide in which direction your story will go and what’s going to happen next to your protagonist. I’m looking forward to see what will show up next. Just like the previous ones, this is a very well written piece.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.

Recent Comments

21
0
Selected Authors may submit comments (5 Credits)x
()
x
Scroll to Top

Sharing a Post

Why do my friends need to SignIn to read the post I shared?

Actually, this is a voting security feature. During public voting, only club members can read posts submitted for that contest. Since anyone reading the story is able to vote (click the Like button), we reserve these capabilities to members who SignIn. Before we implemented this security feature, people were voting multiple times and making the public voting process unfair and out of balance. To fix this, our staff finally decided to allow only members who SignIn to read the stories. Membership is free and easy, and ensures our club is safe, secure, and family-friendly!