“There’s a very strange woman next door,” they say.
“A very strange woman indeed.”
“She has a cat.”
“And a dog.”
“There’s the rat.”
“I saw a frog!”
“A very strange woman, I concede.”

The woman lived alone for some time, you see.
Very lonely indeed she’d been.
Rescued a cat.
Bought a dog.
Caught the rat,
And found a frog!
They’re the happiest family you’ve seen.

And, how do we know they’re so happy?
This different menagerie.
Snuggle the cat.
Pet the dog.
Fuss the rat.
Kiss the frog!
The “strange woman” you see, is me.

3 2 votes
Post Rating
Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
17 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Lotchie Carmelo
Lotchie Carmelo(@lotchie-carmelo)
1 year ago

You are strangely beautiful the way you are, Emily.

Lotchie Carmelo
Lotchie Carmelo(@lotchie-carmelo)
Reply to  Emily O'Leary
1 year ago

You’re welcome. Well, that is the perfect thing to do.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Carrie OLeary
Carrie OLeary(@carrie-oleary)
1 year ago

Love this Emily. You writing about you, or me?? ?

Linda Rock
Linda Rock(@linda-rock)
1 year ago

A very clever little rhyme Emily, that skips along and can’t help putting a smile on the face. Loved it!

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Linda Rock
Linda Rock(@linda-rock)
Reply to  Emily O'Leary
1 year ago

I have to admit, your mum did come to mind as I read it!  ? 

Eric Radcliffe
Eric Radcliffe(@eric-radcliffe)
1 year ago

Hi Emily, This reminds me of the ditties, and small rhyming songs my sister and her friends used to sing as they skipped together ?. I loved it.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Daisy Blacklock
Daisy Blacklock(@daisy-blacklock)
1 year ago

A lovely story that puts a smile on my face.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Marianna Pieterse
Marianna Pieterse(@marianna-pieterse)
1 year ago

Emily, I love this! It is very lighthearted and the protagonist sounds very content with her lifestyle and animals around her. Well done.

Christer Norrlof
Christer Norrlof(@christer-norrlof)
1 year ago

This sounds like one of the classical English children’s rhyming stories, Emily. You should create your own book of nursery rhymes. I love this one! It’s very poetic, surprising in a fun way, and has a great rhythm to it.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Eduardo Olivares
Eduardo Olivares(@eduardo-olivares)
1 year ago

Poetry for the tired at heart/ for the anxious ones/ poetry is all there is/ if into love/
we embark

Recent Comments


17
0
Selected Authors may submit comments (5 Credits)x
()
x
Scroll to Top

Sharing a Post

Why do my friends need to SignIn to read the post I shared?

Actually, this is a voting security feature. During public voting, only club members can read posts submitted for that contest. Since anyone reading the story is able to vote (click the Like button), we reserve these capabilities to members who SignIn. Before we implemented this security feature, people were voting multiple times and making the public voting process unfair and out of balance. To fix this, our staff finally decided to allow only members who SignIn to read the stories. Membership is free and easy, and ensures our club is safe, secure, and family-friendly!