“WINGS!” Grigg yelled, accusation in his eyes, over the crack of thunder and violent spray of the icy sea. “Yer said nothin’ about the blasted thing havin’ wings!”

Captain Wilhelmine Vexx flashed her teeth at him as she clung to the railing of the crow’s nest, growling at her First Mate. “I didn’t ruddy know! You saw the painting, did it look like it had wings?!”

Another crash against the underside of the boat sent Wil flying, raven hair whipping across her face as her hat flew from her head.

“That was my favourite hat you wicked beast!” She roared, the beast in question erupting from the wild waves, exactly where her favoured hat had landed, and soared into the grey sky.

Gods above, the thing was ginormous.

It sailed higher, wings flat against its scaled, serpentine body, before whipping them out to catch on a mighty gust of wind and careening round to circle the ship.

No, the painting of this magnificent creature truly hadn’t done it justice. It had depicted something serene and spectacular, a serpent of the sea. Whilst this creature was certainly spectacular, it was also terrifying, more ferocious dragon than gentle guardian.

Its body was covered in scales of aquamarine and amethyst, but so pale and iridescent it almost seemed made of glass. It refracted light, and had the sun beamed instead of being shrouded in a stormy gloom, Wil felt it might have melted into the landscape around them.

She never thought she’d be thankful for rain.

“Cap’n, what’re our orders?” Grigg barked, pulling her from her reverie.

Her mind whirled, trying to formulate a new plan. On the one hand, they’d gravely underestimated this creature and were fantastically unprepared for this fight. But on the other… riches, riches beyond their wildest dreams.

“Keep to the plan, head for the cave!”

Grigg only shook his grizzled head, growling orders to the crew.

Wil calculated as the creature circled nearer, mad glint in her eyes as she climbed up onto the rain slicked railing, bracing herself.

Three.
Closer.

Two.
Nearly there…

One.
She jumped.

0 0 votes
Post Rating
Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
30 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Voice-Team
Voice-Team(@voice-team)
Admin
1 year ago

Exciting narrative that keeps the reader engaged. Inspiring heroine, great ending.

Carrie OLeary
Carrie OLeary(@carrie-oleary)
1 year ago

I love this story so much Emily. I have high hopes for this one in the future. It has so much potential.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Linda Rock
Linda Rock(@linda-rock)
1 year ago

Despite reeling from the horror of this creature so brilliantly described Emily, I found the dialogue between First Mate and Captain hilarious. You have two great characters here which deserve to experience more adventures together. As always, really well written.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Orlando Sanchez
Orlando Sanchez(@orlando-sanchez)
1 year ago

The best part of this great story is that last line…she jumped. Excellent!

Eric Radcliffe
Eric Radcliffe(@eric-radcliffe)
1 year ago

Hi Emily, wonderful dialogue, and a very descriptive slash of colour. It all adds to a wonderful funny story. I really enjoyed this ?.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Nikki Thomas
Nikki Thomas(@nikki-thomas)
1 year ago

I absolutely love everything you write, Em!

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Christer Norrlof
Christer Norrlof(@christer-norrlof)
1 year ago

A wonderful, very elaborated language and a very dramatic story which captivates the reader from the first line. Great job, Emily! Did Wilhelmine jump into the water to get her favorite hat back?

David Drew
David Drew(@david-drew)
1 year ago

Wow Emily. You’ve really packed the action into this small package. A lovely little scene with good pace.

Last edited 1 year ago by David Drew
Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Lydia E Atzemian
Lydia E Atzemian(@lydia-e-atzemian)
1 year ago

Hello there! What a fun read. I felt myself part of it from the very first phrases. Very skillfully done.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Sandra James
Sandra James(@sandra-james)
1 year ago

I can hardy swim in calm water and my athletic abilities start and end with a good long walk, but I found myself up there in the crow’s nest, grabbing for my hat, admiring the amazing colours of this astonishing creature, and finally preparing to jump! Count me in on this adventure! Well done, Emily; I look forward to more adventures 🙂

Brigitta Hegyi
Brigitta Hegyi(@brigitta-hegyi)
1 year ago

I would read another scene with these characters too, so funny. Good job!

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Carrie OLeary
Carrie OLeary(@carrie-oleary)
1 year ago

Congratulations Ems. If people love this they will be blown away by the longer creation. Very well done.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Julie Harris
Julie Harris(@julie-harris)
1 year ago

This is such a wildly exciting story, Emily! I also love the picture. Congratulations on your win!

Sandra James
Sandra James(@sandra-james)
1 year ago

Very well done, Emily! Even Grigg will be smiling today 🙂

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Marianna Pieterse
Marianna Pieterse(@marianna-pieterse)
1 year ago

Congratulations, Emily! This is a great story and I love the dialogue. Well done!

Lotchie Carmelo
Lotchie Carmelo(@lotchie-carmelo)
1 year ago

Congratulations on your two wins, Emily. I am happy for you. ? 

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.

Recent Comments


30
0
Selected Authors may submit comments (5 Credits)x
()
x
Scroll to Top

Sharing a Post

Why do my friends need to SignIn to read the post I shared?

Actually, this is a voting security feature. During public voting, only club members can read posts submitted for that contest. Since anyone reading the story is able to vote (click the Like button), we reserve these capabilities to members who SignIn. Before we implemented this security feature, people were voting multiple times and making the public voting process unfair and out of balance. To fix this, our staff finally decided to allow only members who SignIn to read the stories. Membership is free and easy, and ensures our club is safe, secure, and family-friendly!