I’m not exactly pediophobic, but porcelain dolls… they just creep me out. Mom, unfortunately, loves them – the more grotesque, the better. So, here we are, traipsing around second-hand stores in search of her next prize find.

I completely miss Mom’s question, until a cracked, soot-blackened face, surrounded by scraggly hair, is thrust in front of mine. Startled, I stumble back.

“Isn’t she perfect?” says Mom.

“Mom, no. It’s… well, something feels wrong.”

I swear the thing smiles. At this point, every light in the store goes out.

“Hello, Katy.” A creaky whisper in the dark. “I’ve been waiting for you.” 

0 0 votes
Post Rating
Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
13 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Linda Rock
Linda Rock(@linda-rock)
1 year ago

Now that is seriously scary Carrie! Great story.

Lotchie Carmelo
Lotchie Carmelo(@lotchie-carmelo)
1 year ago

This story is so creepy, Carrie. Wow. Great.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Lotchie Carmelo
Lotchie Carmelo(@lotchie-carmelo)
Reply to  Carrie OLeary
1 year ago

You’re welcome, Carrie.

Julie Harris
Julie Harris(@julie-harris)
1 year ago

Your picture is terrifying, Carrie, so congratulations on a great success! The story is also frightening. The two of them together – well, it doesn’t bear thinking of. I’ll never look at a porcelain doll the same way again. ?

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Sandra James
Sandra James(@sandra-james)
1 year ago

I totally agree with all the other comments – very well written and very scary story, and the picture is perfect. Well done!

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Christer Norrlof
Christer Norrlof(@christer-norrlof)
1 year ago

I just came back from a trip to Cartagena, an old cultural and today very touristic city by Colombia’s Atlantic coast. Beside the terrible inquisition museum and a couple of other museums, we discovered that there also is a doll museum and went to see it. Your mother would love it! Like you, I am not pediophobic (how funny, I just saw that word for the first time just a few days ago and here it is again!) but don’t like the lifelessness of most old dolls.
After having seen a huge collection of Victorian dolls (mainly from Germany) I can easily picture how your story plays out. In combination with your picture, they are like the inquisition museum and the doll museum put together.

Thompson Emate
Thompson Emate(@thompson-emate)
1 year ago

I love this story. Although a frightening one, it can pass for a short thriller. Writing horror stories is something I’m not good at but would love to do. Well done.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Become a PatronHelp support our family-friendly mission

Recent Comments




13
0
Selected Authors may submit comments (5 Credits)x
()
x
Scroll to Top

Sharing a Post

Why do my friends need to SignIn to read the post I shared?

Actually, this is a voting security feature. During public voting, only club members can read posts submitted for that contest. Since anyone reading the story is able to vote (click the Like button), we reserve these capabilities to members who SignIn. Before we implemented this security feature, people were voting multiple times and making the public voting process unfair and out of balance. To fix this, our staff finally decided to allow only members who SignIn to read the stories. Membership is free and easy, and ensures our club is safe, secure, and family-friendly!