“Wake up! If we’re not on that transport and out of Earth’s atmosphere before that hits, we won’t survive the shockwave.”

“Huh?” Confused, I rub my eyes, squinting in the dim light. Following the direction of his finger, my eyes widen at the large object partially eclipsing the sun.

Leaping to my feet, I stumble as the ground shakes from the impact of a smaller meteor. I’ve been dreaming this. How am I here, seventy years in my future? This is no dream. 

One thing is certain. If I want to survive, I need to be on that transport…now!

0 0 votes
Post Rating
Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
13 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Susan Dawson
Susan Dawson(@susan-dawson)
1 year ago

I too wonder how you are 70 years in your future. I won’t be there to see it; that’s for sure.

Thompson Emate
Thompson Emate(@thompson-emate)
1 year ago

Oh! Another sci-fi. I love sci-fi stories. Earnestly hoping to write one soon. Nice story, Carrie.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Julie Harris
Julie Harris(@julie-harris)
1 year ago

This may be something that everyone else already knows, but what does ELE stand for? A very intriguing story, Carrie!

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Marianna Pieterse
Marianna Pieterse(@marianna-pieterse)
1 year ago

Carrie, I enjoyed reading this. It’s very intriguing and I was wondering about whether it was real or if your protagonist was imagining or daydreaming it, until I read your comment to Susan. Fascinating story.

Sandra James
Sandra James(@sandra-james)
1 year ago

Run, Carrie, run! Don’t miss that transport. Well done, you’ve captured the sleepy waking and then realisation, perfectly 🙂

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Lotchie Carmelo
Lotchie Carmelo(@lotchie-carmelo)
1 year ago

So intriguing Sci-fi stories, Carie. But because I read your response to Susan, that is where I was enlightened. Hopefully, all the people who abuse mother earth will be brought to that dream by your protagonist to make them aware of the possible tragic consequences of the world.

Last edited 1 year ago by Lotchie Carmelo
Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Lotchie Carmelo
Lotchie Carmelo(@lotchie-carmelo)
Reply to  Carrie OLeary
1 year ago

You’re welcome, Carrie.

Recent Comments

13
0
Selected Authors may submit comments (5 Credits)x
()
x
Scroll to Top

Sharing a Post

Why do my friends need to SignIn to read the post I shared?

Actually, this is a voting security feature. During public voting, only club members can read posts submitted for that contest. Since anyone reading the story is able to vote (click the Like button), we reserve these capabilities to members who SignIn. Before we implemented this security feature, people were voting multiple times and making the public voting process unfair and out of balance. To fix this, our staff finally decided to allow only members who SignIn to read the stories. Membership is free and easy, and ensures our club is safe, secure, and family-friendly!