Dewy diamonds dance on cobwebs as I push past branches. The woodland is alive with birdsong; piping, twittering, cooing and the sudden, startling ‘tchack’ of the jackdaw.

Minnows flit through the shallows at the river’s edge, working upriver against the flow of water, occasionally disappearing amongst swaying algae fronds. 

I hear the soothing rush of the waterfalls, a background melody to the joyful woodland song. Through the trees mist rises from the falling water, sunbeams refracting through tiny droplets, the light splitting into magical rainbows, arcing through the air. 

Nature’s magic enshrouds me, a healing balm to calm my soul.

0 0 votes
Post Rating
Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
13 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Thompson Emate
Thompson Emate(@thompson-emate)
1 year ago

A lovely story, Carrie. I’m in love with nature. It gives me an invigorating feel.

Marianna Pieterse
Marianna Pieterse(@marianna-pieterse)
1 year ago

This place sounds idyllic, Carrie! Your words created such a beautiful and peaceful scene in my mind. It made me wish I was there!

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Sandra James
Sandra James(@sandra-james)
1 year ago

For just a minute I was far away from my chair and computer, enjoying the beauty with you. Beautiful, Carrie and, fortunately, we have lots of similar, wonderful places here in Australia 🙂

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Lotchie Carmelo
Lotchie Carmelo(@lotchie-carmelo)
1 year ago

Wow. I always appreciate stories about nature. It is so relaxing and calming. As I read, I peeked out the window of our little house and gazed at the surroundings. And I see a bird flying and those green leaves in the forest that calls me to go out and take a walk in the forest near us; how I love nature so much.

Lotchie Carmelo
Lotchie Carmelo(@lotchie-carmelo)
Reply to  Carrie OLeary
1 year ago

Thank you Carrie. Yes. I walk yesterday after I read your story.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Susan Dawson
Susan Dawson(@susan-dawson)
1 year ago

Yes, Carrie, that would calm my soul too.

Linda Rock
Linda Rock(@linda-rock)
1 year ago

This story transports me to an idyllic location surrounded by the beauty of nature. I love it Carrie. Beautifully written.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.

Recent Comments

13
0
Selected Authors may submit comments (5 Credits)x
()
x
Scroll to Top

Sharing a Post

Why do my friends need to SignIn to read the post I shared?

Actually, this is a voting security feature. During public voting, only club members can read posts submitted for that contest. Since anyone reading the story is able to vote (click the Like button), we reserve these capabilities to members who SignIn. Before we implemented this security feature, people were voting multiple times and making the public voting process unfair and out of balance. To fix this, our staff finally decided to allow only members who SignIn to read the stories. Membership is free and easy, and ensures our club is safe, secure, and family-friendly!