As the sun slipped behind the mountains and darkness enveloped me, a chill different from other evenings descended on the old red-brick building, most recently used as a nightclub. Surrounded by a small forest of birch and pine, the night spot appeared perfect for the annual Halloween party. The club building was shrouded in mist. It was a damp autumn evening.  Some bats hung upside down from the huge Bunyan tree while others already started to leave in search of food and water. All of a sudden the silence was broken by the hoot of an owl. It distracted me and I lost my train of thought.

My girlfriend, Rachel, wished to join the Halloween party but she failed to appear in time. At last I decided to go inside the club.

Elaborate and unique was the flavour of the Halloween night at the hall as the party people arrived in large numbers to spook for fun. Starting with a skeleton napping inside a coffin just outside the entrance, then a mini replica of a haunted castle, pumpkins and bats ushered in guests. While a witch on a broomstick hung from the ceiling and spooky maps guided party goers, spider webs and neon decor added a creepy touch on the night. 

Even the bartenders and the disc jockey dressed up for the party with their Halloween make-up and costumes. I spotted Arna who chose to be a vampire while her friend decided to dress up as a wildcat

After some time, Rachel walked in on me as I watched the party revelers whooping it up. We matched steps to a popular party number. “I need to go to the bathroom,” she said in a soft husky whisper. “Okay honey,” I said. “I’ll wait here for you.”

Suddenly, my cell phone buzzed. A male voice wailed from the other end. “This is National Highway Traffic Safety,” the voice said. “Yes,” I responded.  “A woman named Rachel was killed tonight in a car crash,” the voice added.                                             

4.3 8 votes
Post Rating
Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
52 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Shrabani Chakrabarti
Shrabani Chakrabarti(@shrabani-chakrabarti)
8 months ago

Way to go, Dipayan!

Julie Harris
Julie Harris(@julie-harris)
8 months ago

Nice story, Dipayan. I appreciated your attention to detail – a red-brick building, a birch and pine forest, the hoot of an owl. You really set an atmosphere that builds up to the end. I just didn’t understand who Arna was, and why you introduced her. That sentence threw off the rhythm a little bit. But I still enjoyed the story very much. Good work!

Margarida Brei
Margarida Brei(@margarida-brei)
8 months ago

Dipayan, you showed good use of foreshadowing in the young lady failing to appear on time. You built suspense and a sense of wonder in what would happen to her. Well done!

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Melissa Taggart
Melissa Taggart(@melissa-taggart)
8 months ago

I love the detail in this story, Dipayan. You really paint a clear picture in my mind. The owl, the witch and the broomstick, the “…unique flavour of halloween night.” This was my favorite line. Impressive work!

Lotchie Carmelo
Lotchie Carmelo(@lotchie-carmelo)
8 months ago

I really liked it, Dipayan. Everything they said was correct, the nice build-up of your story brought in a great ending. Thumbs up.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Lotchie Carmelo
Lotchie Carmelo(@lotchie-carmelo)
8 months ago

You’re most welcome, Dipayan.

Indranil Dasgupta
Indranil Dasgupta(@indranil-dasgupta)
8 months ago

The last dance !!!

sujoy sarkar
sujoy sarkar(@sujoy-sarkar)
8 months ago

Really liked it Dipayan.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Paramita Mukherjee
Paramita Mukherjee(@paramita-mukherjee)
8 months ago

Enjoyed thoroughly. Looking forward for many more.

Carrie OLeary
Carrie OLeary(@carrie-oleary)
8 months ago

Great story, Dipayan. At least she came to have a last dance with your protagonist. Well done.

Avijeet Sarkar
Avijeet Sarkar(@avijeet-sarkar)
8 months ago

Promises to keep! And a promise kept!
Hope the night club didn’t become a fright club as the hours passed!

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Arunava Sarkar
Arunava Sarkar(@arunava-sarkar)
8 months ago

Awesome one….

Paul Lewthwaite
Paul Lewthwaite(@paul-lewthwaite)
8 months ago

A great, ghostly Halloween tale. Yes, always a bad sign when one’s partner turns up late! ?

Mousam Ray
Mousam Ray(@mousam-ray)
8 months ago

Beautiful story, well done.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Rupak Banerjee
Rupak Banerjee(@rupak-banerjee)
8 months ago

Excellent Story, keep it up.

Abhijit Ghosh Dastidar
Abhijit Ghosh Dastidar(@abhijit-ghosh-dastidar)
8 months ago

Excellent! The writer has captured the suspense and chill nicely in the story. Quite aptly named as well.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Bhaskar Chakraborty
Bhaskar Chakraborty(@bhaskar-chakraborty)
8 months ago

Very nice story build up and a good end. Looking forward for many more

Sandra James
Sandra James(@sandra-james)
8 months ago

Everyone’s worst nightmare when a loved one is late. You set the mood beautifully in the first paragraph, Dipayan, and I felt I was at the party, too. Then the chilling ending… Well done.

Sagarnil Pal
Sagarnil Pal(@sagarnil-pal)
8 months ago

That sudden shift…. That’s scary!! Nice build up… to the climax. Well written… ?

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
sujaya dasgupta
sujaya dasgupta(@sujaya-dasgupta)
8 months ago

Very nice story… looking forward for more.

Subhendu Saha
Subhendu Saha(@subhendu-saha)
8 months ago

Nice and scary. Loved the story telling and the twist. Well done Dipayan.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Greene M Wills
Greene M Wills(@greene-m-wills)
8 months ago

Loved it Dipayan! The guy probably thought it was a prank call, given the Halloween theme of the party. I just wonder how long he waited for Rachel to come back from the toilet…

Priyanka Chakraborty
Priyanka Chakraborty(@priyanka-chakraborty)
8 months ago

Very nice story. Liked it very much. Looking forward for more..!

Mousam Ray
Mousam Ray(@mousam-ray)
8 months ago

Beautiful

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Piyali Ganguli
Piyali Ganguli(@piyali-ganguli)
7 months ago

Spooky indeed

Fuji
Fuji(@fuji)
7 months ago

Congratulations on your winning story, Dipayan. It was really scary, especially the ending! Good writing.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Thompson Emate
Thompson Emate(@thompson-emate)
7 months ago

A nice story, Dipayan. I didn’t see the end coming. Congratulations too!

Lotchie Carmelo
Lotchie Carmelo(@lotchie-carmelo)
7 months ago

Congratulations again on another win, Dipayan. 

Become a PatronHelp support our family-friendly mission

Most Voted Comments

Avatar
8

Bait

It takes a real talent to tell a story in so few words. What was…


Avatar
6

Endure and Sing

Inspirational piece. Am glad you picked the rat to be the protagonist in your story,…


Avatar
6

Endure and Sing

Such a sweet tale - and with a good moral to the story. I thought…


Avatar
5

Endure and Sing

Wow! This is a good story! Really good to read to little kids, the moral…


Avatar
4

Endure and Sing

Hi Katy, it really does add an extra dimension to hear your story read aloud…


Avatar
4

Endure and Sing

In my neighboring country Denmark, we have the classical storyteller Hans-Christian Andersen. Your sweet story…


Avatar
4

Endure and Sing

A really nice one with a wonderful story line. I can see why this was…


Avatar
4

Endure and Sing

A beautiful story! I was reminded of seeing Paul Potts and Susan Boyle on Britain's…


Avatar
4

Endure and Sing

Your story inspired me to keep going no matter how discouraging it gets. At times…


Avatar
4

Endure and Sing

Thank you so much for the feedback! I pray that the young readers will be…


Avatar
4

Endure and Sing

Thank you for taking the time to comment and convey your thoughts on the story.…


Avatar
4

Endure and Sing

Hi Katy, don't we all feel like the rat in your story at times! We…


Avatar
4

Vows

I must admit it was the picture of the church, with its grave yard, under…


Avatar
3

Between Belonging and Dying

A very powerful story, Daniel. Your writing makes it easy to feel the reality of…


Avatar
3

Between Belonging and Dying

Oh my gosh, Daniel. Your story really defines the word superb. You make me experience…


Avatar
3

Between Belonging and Dying

A horrendous situation, more so because so many people find themselves going through it. A…


Avatar
3

Between Belonging and Dying

What an extremely powerful story Daniel, really well written and with an ending that had…


Avatar
3

Between Belonging and Dying

Daniel, this story is one of the best flash fiction stories I've ever read. You…


Avatar
3

In Memoriam

It's terrible to lose someone you love and accept that he is not a part…


Avatar
3

The Problem with Women

I think Carrie has said it all. We rest our collective case.  ? 


Recent Comments



www.Voice.club

Upcoming Site
Maintenance
Scheduled for Today @ 21:15 ET

USA Timezone – Eastern Time – (GMT-5)

Days
Hours
Minutes
Seconds


Voice-Team will perform upgrades and add new features!

During our scheduled maintenance
Voice.club will be inaccessible

52
0
Selected Authors may submit comments (5 Credits)x
()
x
Scroll to Top

Sharing a Post

Why do my friends need to SignIn to read the post I shared?

Actually, this is a voting security feature. During public voting, only club members can read posts submitted for that contest. Since anyone reading the story is able to vote (click the Like button), we reserve these capabilities to members who SignIn. Before we implemented this security feature, people were voting multiple times and making the public voting process unfair and out of balance. To fix this, our staff finally decided to allow only members who SignIn to read the stories. Membership is free and easy, and ensures our club is safe, secure, and family-friendly!