As the sun slipped behind the mountains and darkness enveloped me, a chill different from other evenings descended on the old red-brick building, most recently used as a nightclub. Surrounded by a small forest of birch and pine, the night spot appeared perfect for the annual Halloween party. The club building was shrouded in mist. It was a damp autumn evening.  Some bats hung upside down from the huge Bunyan tree while others already started to leave in search of food and water. All of a sudden the silence was broken by the hoot of an owl. It distracted me and I lost my train of thought.

My girlfriend, Rachel, wished to join the Halloween party but she failed to appear in time. At last I decided to go inside the club.

Elaborate and unique was the flavour of the Halloween night at the hall as the party people arrived in large numbers to spook for fun. Starting with a skeleton napping inside a coffin just outside the entrance, then a mini replica of a haunted castle, pumpkins and bats ushered in guests. While a witch on a broomstick hung from the ceiling and spooky maps guided party goers, spider webs and neon decor added a creepy touch on the night. 

Even the bartenders and the disc jockey dressed up for the party with their Halloween make-up and costumes. I spotted Arna who chose to be a vampire while her friend decided to dress up as a wildcat

After some time, Rachel walked in on me as I watched the party revelers whooping it up. We matched steps to a popular party number. “I need to go to the bathroom,” she said in a soft husky whisper. “Okay honey,” I said. “I’ll wait here for you.”

Suddenly, my cell phone buzzed. A male voice wailed from the other end. “This is National Highway Traffic Safety,” the voice said. “Yes,” I responded.  “A woman named Rachel was killed tonight in a car crash,” the voice added.                                             

4.3 8 votes
Post Rating
Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
52 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Shrabani Chakrabarti
Shrabani Chakrabarti(@shrabani-chakrabarti)
1 year ago

Way to go, Dipayan!

Julie Harris
Julie Harris(@julie-harris)
1 year ago

Nice story, Dipayan. I appreciated your attention to detail – a red-brick building, a birch and pine forest, the hoot of an owl. You really set an atmosphere that builds up to the end. I just didn’t understand who Arna was, and why you introduced her. That sentence threw off the rhythm a little bit. But I still enjoyed the story very much. Good work!

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Margarida Brei
Margarida Brei(@margarida-brei)
1 year ago

Dipayan, you showed good use of foreshadowing in the young lady failing to appear on time. You built suspense and a sense of wonder in what would happen to her. Well done!

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Melissa Taggart
Melissa Taggart(@melissa-taggart)
1 year ago

I love the detail in this story, Dipayan. You really paint a clear picture in my mind. The owl, the witch and the broomstick, the “…unique flavour of halloween night.” This was my favorite line. Impressive work!

Lotchie Carmelo
Lotchie Carmelo(@lotchie-carmelo)
1 year ago

I really liked it, Dipayan. Everything they said was correct, the nice build-up of your story brought in a great ending. Thumbs up.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Lotchie Carmelo
Lotchie Carmelo(@lotchie-carmelo)
Reply to  Dipayan Chakrabarti
1 year ago

You’re most welcome, Dipayan.

Indranil Dasgupta
Indranil Dasgupta(@indranil-dasgupta)
1 year ago

The last dance !!!

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
sujoy sarkar
sujoy sarkar(@sujoy-sarkar)
1 year ago

Really liked it Dipayan.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Paramita Mukherjee
Paramita Mukherjee(@paramita-mukherjee)
1 year ago

Enjoyed thoroughly. Looking forward for many more.

Carrie OLeary
Carrie OLeary(@carrie-oleary)
1 year ago

Great story, Dipayan. At least she came to have a last dance with your protagonist. Well done.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Avijeet Sarkar
Avijeet Sarkar(@avijeet-sarkar)
1 year ago

Promises to keep! And a promise kept!
Hope the night club didn’t become a fright club as the hours passed!

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Arunava Sarkar
Arunava Sarkar(@arunava-sarkar)
Reply to  Dipayan Chakrabarti
1 year ago

Awesome one….

Paul Lewthwaite
Paul Lewthwaite(@paul-lewthwaite)
1 year ago

A great, ghostly Halloween tale. Yes, always a bad sign when one’s partner turns up late! ?

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Mousam Ray
Mousam Ray(@mousam-ray)
1 year ago

Beautiful story, well done.

Rupak Banerjee
Rupak Banerjee(@rupak-banerjee)
1 year ago

Excellent Story, keep it up.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Abhijit Ghosh Dastidar
Abhijit Ghosh Dastidar(@abhijit-ghosh-dastidar)
1 year ago

Excellent! The writer has captured the suspense and chill nicely in the story. Quite aptly named as well.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Bhaskar Chakraborty
Bhaskar Chakraborty(@bhaskar-chakraborty)
1 year ago

Very nice story build up and a good end. Looking forward for many more

Sandra James
Sandra James(@sandra-james)
1 year ago

Everyone’s worst nightmare when a loved one is late. You set the mood beautifully in the first paragraph, Dipayan, and I felt I was at the party, too. Then the chilling ending… Well done.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Sagarnil Pal
Sagarnil Pal(@sagarnil-pal)
1 year ago

That sudden shift…. That’s scary!! Nice build up… to the climax. Well written… ?

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
sujaya dasgupta
sujaya dasgupta(@sujaya-dasgupta)
1 year ago

Very nice story… looking forward for more.

Subhendu Saha
Subhendu Saha(@subhendu-saha)
1 year ago

Nice and scary. Loved the story telling and the twist. Well done Dipayan.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Greene M Wills
Greene M Wills(@greene-m-wills)
1 year ago

Loved it Dipayan! The guy probably thought it was a prank call, given the Halloween theme of the party. I just wonder how long he waited for Rachel to come back from the toilet…

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Priyanka Chakraborty
Priyanka Chakraborty(@priyanka-chakraborty)
1 year ago

Very nice story. Liked it very much. Looking forward for more..!

Mousam Ray
Mousam Ray(@mousam-ray)
1 year ago

Beautiful

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Piyali Ganguli
Piyali Ganguli(@piyali-ganguli)
1 year ago

Spooky indeed

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Fuji
Fuji(@fuji)
1 year ago

Congratulations on your winning story, Dipayan. It was really scary, especially the ending! Good writing.

Thompson Emate
Thompson Emate(@thompson-emate)
1 year ago

A nice story, Dipayan. I didn’t see the end coming. Congratulations too!

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Lotchie Carmelo
Lotchie Carmelo(@lotchie-carmelo)
1 year ago

Congratulations again on another win, Dipayan. 

Recent Comments

52
0
Selected Authors may submit comments (5 Credits)x
()
x
Scroll to Top

Sharing a Post

Why do my friends need to SignIn to read the post I shared?

Actually, this is a voting security feature. During public voting, only club members can read posts submitted for that contest. Since anyone reading the story is able to vote (click the Like button), we reserve these capabilities to members who SignIn. Before we implemented this security feature, people were voting multiple times and making the public voting process unfair and out of balance. To fix this, our staff finally decided to allow only members who SignIn to read the stories. Membership is free and easy, and ensures our club is safe, secure, and family-friendly!