You wake up with a start. You are drenched with sweat. A few deep breaths into wakefulness and you realise it is hard to tell the difference between the nightmare you’ve just escaped and the place you are in. There is darkness all around, and nothing to anchor you to your new reality. How, you wonder, could one manage to remove every hint of light from a room, leaving not even a single crack?

Groping around you find the edge of the mattress and stand up on the floor. Suddenly, the far wall of this room lights up and several ants of various sizes can be seen trotting on a huge screen. The wonder is the size of the microphone that captured their tiny legs hurtling in a flurry, sounding like a malicious animal chewing up your ears.

You can hardly look without screaming. The brown-coloured, slim-waisted, six-legged monsters are so intensely magnified on the screen, going up and down mounds, brandishing their pincers, hoisting high their antennae, cutting huge chunks of leaves, making intricate patterns and worst of all, grabbing up unwitting caterpillars and beetles.

And now they crawl all over the wall, to the floor where you stand, onto your bed and up your legs slowly. You are frantic and breathless, screaming hysterically, throwing your arms and feet about, sweeping your skin with your fingers.

“Get them off, please!” you shout, to no avail. It’s been only six minutes and yet it feels like forever. By and by the pincers grip your skin and tear in. You can feel chunks of meat being carried away and you decide to numb the pain away.

Slowly you walk to one end of the room and look up at the observation window. You feel naked now, almost boneless amongst the ants. On the other side of the window, the doctor quietly looks at his stopwatch as he notes in his book: The flooding approach. Day two of thirty.

4.3 16 votes
Post Rating
16 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Voice-Team
Voice-Team(@voice-team)
Admin
1 year ago

Wonderfully creepy and sinister. The second-person narration is an inspired strategy! 

Barb Dukeman
Barb Dukeman(@barb-dukeman)
1 year ago

Day 2 of 30. Yikes. Reminds me of an old Vincent Price movie called “The Tingler.” You have great phrasing: “Boneless amongst the ants” and “brandishing their pincers” as if they were swords. Good job.

Carrie OLeary
Carrie OLeary(@carrie-oleary)
1 year ago

This is a very gripping story Daniel. I’m not overly fond of ants since discovering a nest of them living in our house when we first moved in. They certainly make my skin crawl. The tension in your story is palpable. Great job

Dipayan Chakrabarti
Dipayan Chakrabarti(@dipayan-chakrabarti)
1 year ago

The story keeps the reader in tension until the ending. Fantastic!

Melissa Taggart
Melissa Taggart(@melissa-taggart)
1 year ago

This story is so scary, Daniel! I think it is because bugs creep me out- they all do. The idea of them crawling all over me is a lot to digest. You did such a great job! I’m able to place myself there, even though I don’t want to be… Read more »

Ndolo Anthony
Ndolo Anthony(@ndolo-anthony)
1 year ago

Great writing as always Dan!

Ifrah Abdisalan
Ifrah Abdisalan(@ifrah-abdisalan)
1 year ago

Great read!

Cynthia Wambui
Cynthia Wambui(@cynthia-wambui)
1 year ago

No ones wants such an event for sure. Sends a chill down the spine. Great work Daniel….love it

Sandra James
Sandra James(@sandra-james)
1 year ago

I can almost feel those slim-waisted ants marching towards me as I type this, Daniel. I live on a small acreage in rural Australia and we have lots of ants and ant nests 🙁 They have a nasty sting and I once stood on a nest and had them climbing… Read more »

Evans Aranga
Evans Aranga(@evans-aranga)
1 year ago

Nice ? One ….
Comrade keep it up

Mary Nyambura
Mary Nyambura(@mary-nyambura)
1 year ago

I did not see the end coming. You’re a great creative??

Thompson Emate
Thompson Emate(@thompson-emate)
1 year ago

A nice story that can set up an irritating ply. Well done.

Fuji
Fuji(@fuji)
1 year ago

Oh my, Daniel, I will never look at an ant the same way again. This was a terrifying read. I don’t want to know about the third day, or any following that! Excellent writing! Congratulations on your win!

Lotchie Carmelo
Lotchie Carmelo(@lotchie-carmelo)
1 year ago

Hello, Daniel. I could feel the ants crawling on my body. And I don’t like that feeling anyway, especially when they bite me. Great job. And congratulations on your win.

Thompson Emate
Thompson Emate(@thompson-emate)
1 year ago

Congratulations! Daniel. Creepy and spooky indeed.

Recent Comments







Voice.club hosts SubClubs and Voice Apps

Voice.club hosts SubClubs and Voice Apps

Featuring -

When you SignIn with Google, your support helps Voice.club continue our family-friendly mission.

16
0
Selected Authors may submit comments (5 Credits)x
()
x
Scroll to Top

Sharing a Post

Why do my friends need to SignIn to read the post I shared?

Actually, this is a voting security feature. During public voting, only club members can read posts submitted for that contest. Since anyone reading the story is able to vote (click the Like button), we reserve these capabilities to members who SignIn. Before we implemented this security feature, people were voting multiple times and making the public voting process unfair and out of balance. To fix this, our staff finally decided to allow only members who SignIn to read the stories. Membership is free and easy, and ensures our club is safe, secure, and family-friendly!