Margie had been asked to write a spooky story by her magazine. Now spooky and scary stuff are not her forte. She tried to negotiate with her boss, but Bob would not relent. For the past half an hour she had been googling through the history of Halloween and other cross-cultural spooky rituals and celebrations for some ideas. It was the evening of the Halloween and what a better setting for a spooky story, Margie smiled to herself. She had bought a packet of candies on her way home for those tail less monkeys of her neighbourhood who would be descending on her yard for trick or treat. She was already petrified of their tricks round the year; she would rather pacify them with candies. Margie remembered her mother. She would make candies and bake cookies and muffins for all the kids of the neighbourhood. Margie is unlike her mom. She never liked kids anyway.

Margie was somewhat into the middle of her write up when the onslaughts of calling bells began. However disturbed she might be, she was bemused at the sight that greeted her. Even before they could give her the choice, Margie gushed out “treat” and rushed indoors to get the candies. Strange! There was no trace of any candy in the house. She clearly remembered having kept the packet on the table. She nearly ransacked the house in desperation but it was a futile effort. A flabbergasted Margie finally handed the kids some cookies that she was lucky enough to find. All of a sudden the power went off. Maybe the MCB had tripped. Margie went to check. Wait, what was that glowing on her table? It was a jack-o-lantern placed right on the centre of the table. But where did it come from? She never made or bought one. As she inched closer she found it grinning ear to ear and the empty wrappers of the candies scattered in front. A chill ran down her spine. But she had found her story. Margie’s fingers soon got busy with the keyboard.

4.5 12 votes
Post Rating
Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
46 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Barb Dukeman
Barb Dukeman (@barb-dukeman)
6 months ago

A pumpkin eating the candy – I like the visuals. I’m lucky if I have any cookies in my house. They’d be getting celery or carrots.

Anirban Ganguli
Anirban Ganguli (@anirban-ganguli)
6 months ago

Innovative and interesting….liked it

Rishav Mukherjee
Rishav Mukherjee (@rishav-mukherjee)
6 months ago

Great ❤️.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Anibrata Chatterjee
Anibrata Chatterjee (@anibrata-chatterjee)
6 months ago

This is scary indeed…. Liked the story wonderfully narrated ?

Maitri Dassarma
Maitri Dassarma (@maitri-dassarma)
6 months ago

Fantastic.

gairika manna
gairika manna (@gairika-manna)
6 months ago

Gripping story !

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Pallab Guha
Pallab Guha (@pallab-guha)
6 months ago

Very beautifully written. Enjoyed it. ?

Sraboni Chatterjee
Sraboni Chatterjee (@sraboni-chatterjee)
6 months ago

A treat for the scary story lovers…loved reading it

Dipayan Chakrabarti
Dipayan Chakrabarti (@dipayan-chakrabarti)
6 months ago

A spooky Halloween story. Good idea, Piyali!

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
namrata acharya
namrata acharya (@namrata-acharya)
6 months ago

Great Work! Loved it…

Rajshree Chatterjee
Rajshree Chatterjee (@rajshree-chatterjee)
6 months ago

Just loved it…could there be a sweeter Halloween story than this Piyali? Fantastic…

Rajshree Chatterjee
Rajshree Chatterjee (@rajshree-chatterjee)
6 months ago

Just loved the story Piyali..was grinning ear to ear too..lovely Halloween piece of writing..

Last edited 6 months ago by Rajshree Chatterjee
Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
shyama singh
shyama singh (@shyama-singh)
6 months ago

Really good. You have a lot of potential to become a well-known writer. All the best.

Mahua Bose
Mahua Bose (@mahua-bose)
6 months ago

Interesting story…liked it ?

Subrata Chattopadhyay
Subrata Chattopadhyay (@subrata-chattopadhyay)
6 months ago

Piyali is superb as usual ? 

Sandra James
Sandra James (@sandra-james)
6 months ago

I worked as a journalist for my local newspaper after finishing high school (quite a few years ago) and often found myself struggling to find an approach to a story but I’m very glad I never had this happen! Intriguing; I wish I could read Margie’s story 🙂 Well done, Piyali.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Debashish Manna
Debashish Manna (@debashish-manna)
6 months ago

I wonder what Margie finally wrote. I guess another beautifully written story by the author?. Really loved the writing style.

Ruba Banerjee
Ruba Banerjee (@ruba-banerjee)
6 months ago

Spooky pumpkin! Liked the twist at the end and the visual. Left me wondering what Margie wrote. Well written!

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Ritu Sarkar
Ritu Sarkar (@ritu-sarkar)
6 months ago

Very well written Piyali.. Lots of love to you…♥♥♥

sibendu chakraborty
sibendu chakraborty (@sibendu-chakraborty)
6 months ago

Crispy and teeming with mystery…

Puskar's Travelography
Puskar's Travelography (@puskars-travelography)
6 months ago

Engrossing story blended with great writing skills

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Dipanwita Bose
Dipanwita Bose (@dipanwita-bose)
6 months ago

I would have fainted right there unlike Margie?

Lotchie Carmelo
Lotchie Carmelo (@lotchie-carmelo)
6 months ago

I enjoyed your first story, Piyali. That’s Awesome and it is well-written.

And a warmest welcome to voice club. I am hoping to read more stories from you in the future.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Lotchie Carmelo
Lotchie Carmelo (@lotchie-carmelo)
6 months ago
Reply to  Piyali Ganguli

You are welcome, Piyali.

Fuji
Fuji (@fuji)
6 months ago

Congratulations on your winning story, Piyali! It was really fun to read – a bit scary but also very human and relatable. Great job!

Lotchie Carmelo
Lotchie Carmelo (@lotchie-carmelo)
6 months ago

Congratulations on your win, Piyali.

Thompson Emate
Thompson Emate (@thompson-emate)
6 months ago

Congratulations, Piyali. A well deserved one.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Become a PatronHelp support our family-friendly mission

Most Voted Comments

Avatar
8

Bait

It takes a real talent to tell a story in so few words. What was…


Avatar
6

Endure and Sing

Inspirational piece. Am glad you picked the rat to be the protagonist in your story,…


Avatar
6

Endure and Sing

Such a sweet tale - and with a good moral to the story. I thought…


Avatar
5

Endure and Sing

Wow! This is a good story! Really good to read to little kids, the moral…


Avatar
4

Endure and Sing

Hi Katy, it really does add an extra dimension to hear your story read aloud…


Avatar
4

Endure and Sing

In my neighboring country Denmark, we have the classical storyteller Hans-Christian Andersen. Your sweet story…


Avatar
4

Endure and Sing

A really nice one with a wonderful story line. I can see why this was…


Avatar
4

Endure and Sing

A beautiful story! I was reminded of seeing Paul Potts and Susan Boyle on Britain's…


Avatar
4

Endure and Sing

Your story inspired me to keep going no matter how discouraging it gets. At times…


Avatar
4

Endure and Sing

Thank you so much for the feedback! I pray that the young readers will be…


Avatar
4

Endure and Sing

Thank you for taking the time to comment and convey your thoughts on the story.…


Avatar
4

Endure and Sing

Hi Katy, don't we all feel like the rat in your story at times! We…


Avatar
4

Vows

I must admit it was the picture of the church, with its grave yard, under…


Avatar
3

Between Belonging and Dying

A very powerful story, Daniel. Your writing makes it easy to feel the reality of…


Avatar
3

Between Belonging and Dying

Oh my gosh, Daniel. Your story really defines the word superb. You make me experience…


Avatar
3

Between Belonging and Dying

A horrendous situation, more so because so many people find themselves going through it. A…


Avatar
3

Between Belonging and Dying

What an extremely powerful story Daniel, really well written and with an ending that had…


Avatar
3

Between Belonging and Dying

Daniel, this story is one of the best flash fiction stories I've ever read. You…


Avatar
3

In Memoriam

It's terrible to lose someone you love and accept that he is not a part…


Avatar
3

The Problem with Women

I think Carrie has said it all. We rest our collective case.  ? 


Recent Comments


www.Voice.club

Upcoming Site
Maintenance
Scheduled for Today @ 8:45am ET

USA Timezone – Eastern Time – (GMT-5)

Days
Hours
Minutes
Seconds


Voice-Team will perform upgrades and add new features!

During our scheduled maintenance
Voice.club will be inaccessible

46
0
Selected Authors may submit comments (5 Credits)x
()
x
Scroll to Top

Sharing a Post

Why do my friends need to SignIn to read the post I shared?

Actually, this is a voting security feature. During public voting, only club members can read posts submitted for that contest. Since anyone reading the story is able to vote (click the Like button), we reserve these capabilities to members who SignIn. Before we implemented this security feature, people were voting multiple times and making the public voting process unfair and out of balance. To fix this, our staff finally decided to allow only members who SignIn to read the stories. Membership is free and easy, and ensures our club is safe, secure, and family-friendly!