With the Prince close on her heels, she was hurriedly climbing down the stairs. She tripped. But instead of falling headlong, she landed in the arms of the Prince. Cinderella heard the palace clock strike twelve. The look of disbelief in his eyes told her that the magic was over, just as it was supposed to be. The Prince was dumbstruck. A moment earlier he was holding a beautiful princess in a blue satin gown in his arms and in a jiffy he was staring into the face of a woman wearing a plain housemaid’s dress. The innocence in those liquid eyes was unmistakable, though.

“Hey, who are you?” the Prince quizzed. “Look, let me make this very clear.” Cinderella was unabashedly frank. “I just wanted to visit the palace and this was my only opportunity. I never intended to deceive anybody.” “Of course, you deceived everyone. You pretended to be someone that you are not.” “Would your guards have allowed a woman in an ordinary dress inside the palace?” The Prince really had no answer. He could not help but admire her honesty. He was already bewitched by her beauty and now he was falling more helplessly in love. She was indeed his ideal partner, his future Queen.

“You don’t have to go back to your stepmother. Stay with us, in the palace.” “Is this some kind of a joke?” Cinderella snapped at the Prince. “No dear, I want to marry you. You would be the future Queen of this kingdom. It’s good that the magic wore off at the right time or else I would have never known the real you. And it also spared me the ordeal of trying to find you,” the Prince added in good humour. “I would have to go now, but I would wait for the moment when you come asking for my hand with due honour.” Saying this, Cinderella walked along the gravel path leading to the imposing main gate. This time she was in no hurry. Time was on her side.

5 5 votes
Post Rating
Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
43 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Margarida Brei
Margarida Brei(@margarida-brei)
6 months ago

I like your story within a story Piyali. It reminded me of Gregory Maguire’s novels.

Lotchie Carmelo
Lotchie Carmelo(@lotchie-carmelo)
6 months ago

I love your version of the Cinderella story. I really enjoyed it. Nicely done, Piyali.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Lotchie Carmelo
Lotchie Carmelo(@lotchie-carmelo)
Reply to  Piyali Ganguli
6 months ago

You’re welcome and congratulations.

Debleena Sarkar
Debleena Sarkar(@debleena-sarkar)
6 months ago

Awww.. I love this version of Cinderella so much, the prince is a sweetheart as well.. very well portrayed!!????

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Chris
Chris(@chris)
Reply to  Debleena Sarkar
6 months ago

Yes, this is an interesting version of an old story. I agree with you, it is well portrayed. Hope you will also submit a story Debleena, we look forward to reading yours also!

Nishu Kumbhat
Nishu Kumbhat(@nishu-kumbhat)
6 months ago

I enjoyed reading the thought process of Cinderella….this makes her so much of a flesh and blood character and not just a fairy tale heroine.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Chris
Chris(@chris)
Reply to  Nishu Kumbhat
6 months ago

Hi Nishu – I agree, as you said “this makes her so much of a flesh and blood character and not just a fairy tale heroine” – I also thought this makes her character more realistic.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Jaideep Bose
Jaideep Bose(@jaideep-bose)
6 months ago

Piyali! Beautiful story. Enjoyed it.

sohagk kanungo
sohagk kanungo(@sohagk-kanungo)
6 months ago

Excellent. A new, empowered Cinderella, I must say!

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Dipanwita Bose
Dipanwita Bose(@dipanwita-bose)
6 months ago

Lovely! ❤

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
DEBANJANA SINHA ROY
DEBANJANA SINHA ROY(@debanjana-sinha-roy)
6 months ago

Lucid! Very spontaneous!

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Ratna Das
Ratna Das(@ratna-das)
6 months ago

I like your story…very nice and excellent.

Subhasis Bhattacharya
Subhasis Bhattacharya(@subhasis-bhattacharya)
6 months ago

Well articulated. Enjoyed the write up.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Mitraa G Chattopadhyay
Mitraa G Chattopadhyay(@mitraa-g-chattopadhyay)
6 months ago

I loved your story Piyali, beautifully portrayed. Thanks for sharing with me.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Damayanti Sikder
Damayanti Sikder(@damayanti-sikder)
6 months ago

Loved It.

Sreyashee Roy
Sreyashee Roy(@sreyashee-roy)
6 months ago

Nice portrayal.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Arundhati Mukherjee
Arundhati Mukherjee(@arundhati-mukherjee)
6 months ago

Cinderella decoded…????

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Rajshree Chatterjee
Rajshree Chatterjee(@rajshree-chatterjee)
6 months ago

Just loved it Piyali…in fact its honestly much better than the original version ….lots of love girl❤❤

Last edited 6 months ago by Rajshree Chatterjee
Ruba Banerjee
Ruba Banerjee(@ruba-banerjee)
6 months ago

Loved your realistic version of the fairytale, Piyali! Also the character of a new-age Cinderella – down to earth and more in control of her destiny.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Kaushal Mehrotra
Kaushal Mehrotra(@kaushal-mehrotra)
6 months ago

Beautifully written! Cinderella in a new avatar. Very well! ????????

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
krishnendu banerjee
krishnendu banerjee(@krishnendu-banerjee1)
6 months ago

Lovely. My daughters just named it – The amazing Cinderella part 2. (They have watched the amazing spider man 2 a few days ago 😉 )

Greene M Wills
Greene M Wills(@greene-m-wills)
6 months ago

I really like your alternative ending to the most famous fairy tale of all times!! Honesty turned out to be the best policy for your Cinders!!

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Become a PatronHelp support our family-friendly mission

Recent Comments

43
0
Selected Authors may submit comments (5 Credits)x
()
x
Scroll to Top

Sharing a Post

Why do my friends need to SignIn to read the post I shared?

Actually, this is a voting security feature. During public voting, only club members can read posts submitted for that contest. Since anyone reading the story is able to vote (click the Like button), we reserve these capabilities to members who SignIn. Before we implemented this security feature, people were voting multiple times and making the public voting process unfair and out of balance. To fix this, our staff finally decided to allow only members who SignIn to read the stories. Membership is free and easy, and ensures our club is safe, secure, and family-friendly!