16th May 1844

Under an ancient oak, danced the most beautiful fae I’ve observed thus far.

Classification: Dryad.

Tall and willowy with long, graceful limbs; her flowing silken hair, the same soft shade of green as meadow grass, cascaded down her back.

A sudden gust of wind blew mayflower pollen, making me sneeze explosively. To my dismay she ran. I gave chase, thinking I’d lost her until I found myself gazing into captivating hazel eyes. The chameleon-like quality of her pearlescent skin had taken on the appearance of birch bark.

Mad though it may sound, I believe myself quite smitten.

0 0 votes
Post Rating
Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
14 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Melissa Taggart
Melissa Taggart(@melissa-taggart)
6 months ago

This is a lovely story, Carrie. A great amount of detail in so few words, as well as strong imagery. I always enjoy your stories, this is another gem. Great work!

Lotchie Carmelo
Lotchie Carmelo(@lotchie-carmelo)
6 months ago

It is a distinctive fairy-tale story mixed with Mythology. It is beautiful. I overjoyed the vivid and green images in my imagination. Well done for another beautiful craft, Carrie.

Last edited 6 months ago by Lotchie Carmelo
Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Lotchie Carmelo
Lotchie Carmelo(@lotchie-carmelo)
Reply to  Carrie OLeary
6 months ago

You’re most welcome, Carrie. Sorry for the late response. The electricity and internet of Smart Telecommunication in my place (Northern Mindanao) is down and until now it is unstable due to the bad weather we have experienced right now.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Linda Rock
Linda Rock(@linda-rock)
6 months ago

Magical Carrie, just magical. I agree with Melissa about the words and imagery, truly amazing.

Margarida Brei
Margarida Brei(@margarida-brei)
6 months ago

I am curious Carrie, can you please explain the title.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Christer Norrlof
Christer Norrlof(@christer-norrlof)
6 months ago

This is a wonderful combination of scientific report and poetic observation, Carrie. I wonder what conclusions “Karl” drew about the origin and evolution of this species. Great writing!

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Marianna Pieterse
Marianna Pieterse(@marianna-pieterse)
6 months ago

Carrie, I agree with Linda. Your story was magical. It felt like i was right there with your protagonist, looking at the fae. I enjoyed the imagery in your story.

Become a PatronHelp support our family-friendly mission

Recent Comments

14
0
Selected Authors may submit comments (5 Credits)x
()
x
Scroll to Top

Sharing a Post

Why do my friends need to SignIn to read the post I shared?

Actually, this is a voting security feature. During public voting, only club members can read posts submitted for that contest. Since anyone reading the story is able to vote (click the Like button), we reserve these capabilities to members who SignIn. Before we implemented this security feature, people were voting multiple times and making the public voting process unfair and out of balance. To fix this, our staff finally decided to allow only members who SignIn to read the stories. Membership is free and easy, and ensures our club is safe, secure, and family-friendly!