One picture but thousands of poor people are increasingly oppressed.

One picture of sadness and frustration.

A picture of neglect. A picture of endless suffering.

 A picture of truth.

Let’s slide, and muddy roll. But tomorrow a new morning will spring up and green leaves in the corner will rejoice and blossom with a sweet smile.

It’s time to have fun. Who knows?

5 1 vote
Post Rating
Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
29 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Voice-Team
Voice-Team(@voice-team)
Admin
5 months ago

A unique take on the “Green” prompt. Many emotions in a few words – suffering, oppression, the unfairness of life, and to top it all off a bit of humor and whimsy. Excellent writing.

Melissa Taggart
Melissa Taggart(@melissa-taggart)
6 months ago

This is lovely Lotchie! A great and well-written story about finding happiness in hardship. I love the imagery between the mud and the green of the leaves. I picture hope versus oppression as being colors such as green and brown. This has many layers, love it!

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Chris
Chris(@chris)
6 months ago

Lotchie, your micro story is fabulous  ????  ????  You really made my day when you said: “It’s time to have fun. Who knows?” – Absolutely love this attitude. You are exactly right – when the world has gone mad, it is time to have fun!

Keep Writing!

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Jess Maynard
Jess Maynard(@jess-maynard)
6 months ago

Really enjoyed this Lotchie! My favorite line is “Let’s slide, and muddy roll.” That line is packing some poetic imagery/feeling with only 5 words, well done.

Fuji
Fuji(@fuji)
6 months ago

Lotchie, this is an incredible story – just what micro fiction should be. You’ve combined tragedy, heartache and suffering with hope and humor. Really amazing. You are a great writer! Where is the picture from?

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Linda Rock
Linda Rock(@linda-rock)
6 months ago

I love this story, Lotchie, I really do! So much said in so few words, but words that hit home. I agree with Fuji, this is just how micro-fiction should be. Good job!

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Christer Norrlof
Christer Norrlof(@christer-norrlof)
6 months ago

I guess the tragedy you describe, like your picture, is inspired from experiences in your country. Many are suffering the conditions you point out, maybe not always with the same kind of optimism you show. Good writing!

Margarida Brei
Margarida Brei(@margarida-brei)
5 months ago

Thanks for sending me on a roller coaster of emotions but nevertheless ending on an optimistic note, Lotchie.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Marianna Pieterse
Marianna Pieterse(@marianna-pieterse)
5 months ago

Lotchie, your story is beautiful and leaves your reader with hope that just maybe tomorrow would be better. There is great contrast and I like the idea that your protagonist looked for something fun to do, even in hardship. Great story!

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Carrie OLeary
Carrie OLeary(@carrie-oleary)
5 months ago

A lovely piece of writing Lotchie, one that leaves you with the feeling that there could be a rainbow around any corner.

Julie Harris
Julie Harris(@julie-harris)
5 months ago

I’m so glad your story got so much recognition, Lotchie. I definitely voted for your story – actually, I can’t get it out of my head! Why? Who knows?

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Kayja Daniels
Kayja Daniels(@kayja-daniels)
5 months ago

I love this, Lotchie. I definitely see a timely message in it about finding something to be joyous about in grim circumstances.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Linda Rock
Linda Rock(@linda-rock)
5 months ago

Congratulations Lotchie! I’m so pleased for you. Celebrate and enjoy your achievement.

Shobana Gomes
Shobana Gomes(@shobana-gomes)
1 month ago

That’s beautiful, Lotchie. At the end of it all, there’s so much hope for better times to come. Kudos to you.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Shobana Gomes
Shobana Gomes(@shobana-gomes)
Reply to  Lotchie Carmelo
1 month ago

You are welcome, Lotchie:)

Become a PatronHelp support our family-friendly mission

Recent Comments

29
0
Selected Authors may submit comments (5 Credits)x
()
x
Scroll to Top

Sharing a Post

Why do my friends need to SignIn to read the post I shared?

Actually, this is a voting security feature. During public voting, only club members can read posts submitted for that contest. Since anyone reading the story is able to vote (click the Like button), we reserve these capabilities to members who SignIn. Before we implemented this security feature, people were voting multiple times and making the public voting process unfair and out of balance. To fix this, our staff finally decided to allow only members who SignIn to read the stories. Membership is free and easy, and ensures our club is safe, secure, and family-friendly!