“You rang, sir?”

“Ah, Jenkins. This big house is so empty since her Ladyship died.”

“Indeed, sir. The entire estate is grieving.”

“How does one manage?”

“Friends and family, sir.”

She was my family, my dearest friend. What was that sweet music last night?”

“A hymn sing in the servant’s hall, sir. We remembered all her Ladyship’s favorites.

“Might I join you next time?”

“It wouldn’t be proper, sir.”

“Thank you, Jenkins. That will be all.”

Jenkins returned to the warm companionship of his fellows, as Lord Lexington stared out at his wife’s beloved garden, springing green after the rain.

0 0 votes
Post Rating
Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
10 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Carrie OLeary
Carrie OLeary(@carrie-oleary)
6 months ago

A very heartfelt, though sad tale, Fuji. Adore the accompanying photograph. Nicely done

Carrie OLeary
Carrie OLeary(@carrie-oleary)
Reply to  Fuji
6 months ago

I’m sure it was lonely, though I did enjoy it when some of those boundaries were crossed in Downton Abbey!

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Margarida Brei
Margarida Brei(@margarida-brei)
6 months ago

Such a shame that class divides the characters and prevents the Lord from companionship with the servants.

Linda Rock
Linda Rock(@linda-rock)
6 months ago

I felt so sorry for Lord Lexington, Fuji, all alone with only his memories to keep him company. You expressed his loneliness so well. Very sad.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Susan Dawson
Susan Dawson(@susan-dawson)
6 months ago

Yes, I’ve spent many a holiday teasing Americans with advance information about the next series of Downton, while I am watching Fellowes’ Gilded Age about New York!

Lotchie Carmelo
Lotchie Carmelo(@lotchie-carmelo)
6 months ago

Your story is so sad, Fuji. My heart goes out to Lord Lexington. His life is really pitiful and very sad. You have expressed all emotions very well, Fuji.

Christer Norrlof
Christer Norrlof(@christer-norrlof)
6 months ago

You are a true master of dialogue writing, Fuji. The lines sound totally realistic and natural without being plain. And the few words spoken out aloud hint at a richness of unspoken emotions. It makes me think of Hemingway and his “ice-berg technique.” Impressive!

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Marianna Pieterse
Marianna Pieterse(@marianna-pieterse)
5 months ago

Fuji, I felt so sad for Lord Lexington. I agree with Margarida, that it is a shame that separation of classes prohibits him from finding companionship with the servants, and in return he has to deal with his grief alone.

Become a PatronHelp support our family-friendly mission

Recent Comments

10
0
Selected Authors may submit comments (5 Credits)x
()
x
Scroll to Top

Sharing a Post

Why do my friends need to SignIn to read the post I shared?

Actually, this is a voting security feature. During public voting, only club members can read posts submitted for that contest. Since anyone reading the story is able to vote (click the Like button), we reserve these capabilities to members who SignIn. Before we implemented this security feature, people were voting multiple times and making the public voting process unfair and out of balance. To fix this, our staff finally decided to allow only members who SignIn to read the stories. Membership is free and easy, and ensures our club is safe, secure, and family-friendly!