And the rains came.

And the crops flourished. And we fed our families. And we were filled with contentment.

And we cut down trees, built tall cities, paved over greenways. And we were filled with pride.

And the rains dwindled. And we trampled the meadows, moved into mansions. And we were filled with greed.

And the rains stopped. And the forests burned. And the crops failed. And the animals disappeared. And we were filled with fear.

And the sidewalks cracked. And a flower pushed through, then a tiny tree. And we watered them with our tears.

 

5 1 vote
Post Rating
Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
11 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Voice-Team
Voice-Team(@voice-team)
Admin
4 months ago

We really liked the format, with the repetition of “And we were filled with. . .”  A possible ending could have been “And we were filled with hope.” The story is taut, tension building, yet optimistic in the end.

Margarida Brei
Margarida Brei(@margarida-brei)
5 months ago

So simplistic a telling but with a magnitude of wisdom. Thank you Juma.

Susan Dawson
Susan Dawson(@susan-dawson)
5 months ago

A sad cyclical tale.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Lotchie Carmelo
Lotchie Carmelo(@lotchie-carmelo)
4 months ago

It is very metaphorical. It has a great moral lesson. Well done.

Linda Rock
Linda Rock(@linda-rock)
4 months ago

Such a powerful story, Juma, so much said in so few words. The last lines stay with you.

Melissa Taggart
Melissa Taggart(@melissa-taggart)
4 months ago

The rains provided and humans, as they often do, became selfish. I feel that this is a relevant story that could happen just about anywhere during these times. Nicely done!

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Christer Norrlof
Christer Norrlof(@christer-norrlof)
4 months ago

I love the rhythm and poetic expression of this story, Juma. At the same time as it’s beautifully written, it is filled with sad wisdom, carrying a perspective of humanity’s impact on our world.

Carrie OLeary
Carrie OLeary(@carrie-oleary)
4 months ago

Congratulations, Juma. A very interesting story 🙂

Marianna Pieterse
Marianna Pieterse(@marianna-pieterse)
4 months ago

Congratulations, Juma!

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Lotchie Carmelo
Lotchie Carmelo(@lotchie-carmelo)
4 months ago

Congratulations, Juma. Well done.

Christer Norrlof
Christer Norrlof(@christer-norrlof)
3 months ago

Congratulations, Juma.

Become a PatronHelp support our family-friendly mission

Recent Comments

11
0
Selected Authors may submit comments (5 Credits)x
()
x
Scroll to Top

Sharing a Post

Why do my friends need to SignIn to read the post I shared?

Actually, this is a voting security feature. During public voting, only club members can read posts submitted for that contest. Since anyone reading the story is able to vote (click the Like button), we reserve these capabilities to members who SignIn. Before we implemented this security feature, people were voting multiple times and making the public voting process unfair and out of balance. To fix this, our staff finally decided to allow only members who SignIn to read the stories. Membership is free and easy, and ensures our club is safe, secure, and family-friendly!