“We’re close to an arrest,” Rob confides.
“Of course,  Detective. You always get your man.”
“Or woman,” he muses.  I laugh.

During our magical afternoon together, he never mentions the jewel robbery.

“Dinner?”
“Pick me up at eight.”

I wear my favorite pale green silk, trying on the magnificent emeralds just for fun.
He arrives early, surprising me, views the bracelet with alarm.
“Sylvie??” 

I can’t bear the expression in his blue eyes.
“It’s paste, silly,” I lie.
He’s the love of my life. I’d do anything for him, except abandon my life’s work.

Someday I’ll explain.
But not today.

0 0 votes
Post Rating
Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
14 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Voice-Team
Voice-Team(@voice-team)
Admin
4 months ago

Although we loved all of the Sylvie series, we choose this as the best because it was not dependent on anything that came before. Each was a lovely stand alone, but altogether they would have made a great story, albeit too long for this contest! We were reminded of magazine sequels. Oh, for those days!

Carrie OLeary
Carrie OLeary(@carrie-oleary)
5 months ago

Great story, Fuji, will the romance last when her secret is revealed? Let me get to part 2

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Linda Rock
Linda Rock(@linda-rock)
5 months ago

Torn between two loves, the love of her life and her addiction (or devotion?) to her work, what an unenviable situation. An intriguing story, Fuji, really well written, as always. Now on to Part 2!

Lotchie Carmelo
Lotchie Carmelo(@lotchie-carmelo)
5 months ago

A great love story that fascinates me. Now turning to part 2. Well done.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Lotchie Carmelo
Lotchie Carmelo(@lotchie-carmelo)
Reply to  Fuji
4 months ago

You are welcome, Fuji.

Sandra James
Sandra James(@sandra-james)
5 months ago

Thank goodness you’ve posted part 2 already! I’m intrigued and so many possibilities running through my mind. Well done.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Margarida Brei
Margarida Brei(@margarida-brei)
5 months ago

I am swinging between admiring and disliking the protagonist. She is too sure of herself in her crimes.

Christer Norrlof
Christer Norrlof(@christer-norrlof)
4 months ago

I love the lighthearted style in this story, Fuji. Sylvie seems to be a very smart and mischievous girl, although unreliable with her secret life. I wonder what will happen if the detective again surprises her. Will she outsmart him once again?

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Heather Chrzanowski
Heather Chrzanowski(@heather-chrzanowski)
4 months ago

Fuji, I think you are one of my favorite writers on this site! You always have the most creative stories. I really enjoy reading your work.

Marianna Pieterse
Marianna Pieterse(@marianna-pieterse)
4 months ago

This is very captivating, Fuji. I am eager to see what happens next!

Recent Comments

14
0
Selected Authors may submit comments (5 Credits)x
()
x
Scroll to Top

Sharing a Post

Why do my friends need to SignIn to read the post I shared?

Actually, this is a voting security feature. During public voting, only club members can read posts submitted for that contest. Since anyone reading the story is able to vote (click the Like button), we reserve these capabilities to members who SignIn. Before we implemented this security feature, people were voting multiple times and making the public voting process unfair and out of balance. To fix this, our staff finally decided to allow only members who SignIn to read the stories. Membership is free and easy, and ensures our club is safe, secure, and family-friendly!