There he was again, leaning against the jukebox, playing the same record …  over and over.  Nobody else appeared to notice, but I found him mesmerising.  He seemed haunted somehow, the words tormenting him.

Tony, the coffee shop owner, refilled my cup.

“That’s Johnnie,” he revealed, catching me watching him.

“He looks so sad.”

“Never got over his childhood sweetheart.  Broke his heart when she left him… right after the school prom.”

The words of the song held so much more meaning for me now.

She wore blue velvet
Bluer than velvet were…

Her eyes,” I whispered.
Just as ours met.

5 1 vote
Post Rating
Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
15 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Carrie OLeary
Carrie OLeary(@carrie-oleary)
5 months ago

A lovely story, Linda, and hopefully the beginning of a wonderful romance. Loved it 🥰

Lotchie Carmelo
Lotchie Carmelo(@lotchie-carmelo)
5 months ago

Such a good start to something lovely – a romance. I wish they are destined to forever. Well done, Linda.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Lotchie Carmelo
Lotchie Carmelo(@lotchie-carmelo)
Reply to  Linda Rock
5 months ago

You are welcome, Linda.

Allan Neil
Allan Neil(@allan-neil)
5 months ago

Lovely story, Linda. I suppose it helps that it took me right back to my gauche days of jukeboxes, coffee bars and ‘Blue Velvet’ – Bobby Vinton and ‘but in my heart there’ll always be, precious and warm a memory. Through the years.’
That’s the beauty of your piece.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Sandra James
Sandra James(@sandra-james)
5 months ago

Beautiful, Linda! You had me sitting at a nearby table watching it all play out, and a perfect ending. Well done  🙂 

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Margarida Brei
Margarida Brei(@margarida-brei)
5 months ago

This story moves me through so many emotions, Linda but thankfully it ends with hope.

Christer Norrlof
Christer Norrlof(@christer-norrlof)
4 months ago

Here I am, Linda, taken back to my young teenage years, listening to the beautiful, velvety voice of Bobby Vinton on Spotify. Just like Allan, your story successfully triggered a lot of feelings and memories in me. I can easily visualize the situation you describe. Congratulations to a great story.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Marianna Pieterse
Marianna Pieterse(@marianna-pieterse)
4 months ago

Linda, from the first line I was curious to see what would happen next. It sounds like a lovely introduction to a longer story! I would love to read more.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.

Recent Comments

15
0
Selected Authors may submit comments (5 Credits)x
()
x
Scroll to Top

Sharing a Post

Why do my friends need to SignIn to read the post I shared?

Actually, this is a voting security feature. During public voting, only club members can read posts submitted for that contest. Since anyone reading the story is able to vote (click the Like button), we reserve these capabilities to members who SignIn. Before we implemented this security feature, people were voting multiple times and making the public voting process unfair and out of balance. To fix this, our staff finally decided to allow only members who SignIn to read the stories. Membership is free and easy, and ensures our club is safe, secure, and family-friendly!