My head is held high as I walk down the aisle, but my footsteps falter as, for the very first time, my eyes meet those of the man I’m destined to marry.

The blood freezes in my veins. His eyes are almost colourless, the irises the colour of ice under the palest blue winter’s sky—so unnatural matched with his raven-black hair. I turn my head, searching for an escape route, but every exit is heavily guarded. 

My fate is, literally, sealed. We are blood matched and I will be bound to him for the rest of my life.

5 1 vote
Post Rating
Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
17 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Linda Rock
Linda Rock(@linda-rock)
5 months ago

A ‘shivers down the spine’ story, Carrie! A young bride walking to her doom. Expertly told and I so want to know more!

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Lotchie Carmelo
Lotchie Carmelo(@lotchie-carmelo)
5 months ago

Oh my gosh. I couldn’t help but feel sad mixed with pity for your protagonist. You expressed it so well. Well written.

Lotchie Carmelo
Lotchie Carmelo(@lotchie-carmelo)
Reply to  Carrie OLeary
4 months ago

You are welcome, Carrie.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Emily O'Leary
Emily O'Leary(@emily-oleary)
5 months ago

I’d love to know more about this mysterious groom, and why they’re fated! Wonderfully written, I felt the dread as if I was in her shoes myself!

Margarida Brei
Margarida Brei(@margarida-brei)
5 months ago

Oh Carrie, I really want to read more of this blood match. You have intrigued me.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Sandra James
Sandra James(@sandra-james)
5 months ago

Chilling! And, very memorable. Definitely a great start for a longer piece sometime in the future when you have time. Well done, Carrie!

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Susan Dawson
Susan Dawson(@susan-dawson)
4 months ago

Whereas I am wondering what the poor groom thought!

Marianna Pieterse
Marianna Pieterse(@marianna-pieterse)
4 months ago

Carrie, what an eerie path for your protagonist to walk! You created such a vivid picture of doom for your poor protagonist! I would also like to read more.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
allinonefitness steven jenkins
allinonefitness steven jenkins(@allinonefitness-steven-jenkins)
4 months ago

Disturbing and wonderful at the same time. Well done.

Recent Comments

17
0
Selected Authors may submit comments (5 Credits)x
()
x
Scroll to Top

Sharing a Post

Why do my friends need to SignIn to read the post I shared?

Actually, this is a voting security feature. During public voting, only club members can read posts submitted for that contest. Since anyone reading the story is able to vote (click the Like button), we reserve these capabilities to members who SignIn. Before we implemented this security feature, people were voting multiple times and making the public voting process unfair and out of balance. To fix this, our staff finally decided to allow only members who SignIn to read the stories. Membership is free and easy, and ensures our club is safe, secure, and family-friendly!