“Hey Mum,” she said as she sat down and took her Mother’s hand in her own. She looked into her cornflower blue eyes as she had done countless times before. Her Mum looked up, confusion behind her eyes as she searched her murky brain for a name. “Hi, Love,” she finally replied with a smile, squeezing her hand in reply. She knew her Mother no longer knew her name. Or that she was her daughter. But she also knew her Mother could feel the love between them. And that was enough for today.

0 0 votes
Post Rating
Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
23 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Voice-Team
Voice-Team(@voice-team)
Admin
4 months ago

Sad, but reminiscent of past happiness shared Such poignancy! Sadly, too many of us are being faced with just this sort of situation. Thank you for sharing it with us.

Last edited 4 months ago by Voice-Team
Linda Rock
Linda Rock(@linda-rock)
5 months ago

It’s rare to read, dare I say, an uplifting story about dementia, but yours is just that, Lisa. Yes, there is still sadness but the love between mother and daughter is what shines through. Well done.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Lotchie Carmelo
Lotchie Carmelo(@lotchie-carmelo)
5 months ago

Hello, Lisa. Welcome back to voice club. I am glad to read a story from you again. You know what, I was afraid to go through this (dementia) when I am older. But your story is a relief of all that worries. Yes! I agree that maybe the mind will forget but the love between the mother and her children will always be there. And that love will always connect to recognize each other. Your story is so captivating. Well done.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Lotchie Carmelo
Lotchie Carmelo(@lotchie-carmelo)
Reply to  Lisa Gledhill
5 months ago

You are welcome, Lisa.

Emily O'Leary
Emily O'Leary(@emily-oleary)
5 months ago

This is such a bittersweet but beautiful story, Lisa. Taking something good from an otherwise sad situation, I loved it!

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Margarida Brei
Margarida Brei(@margarida-brei)
5 months ago

Love your powerful words Lisa In your closing sentence.

Sandra James
Sandra James(@sandra-james)
5 months ago

Beautiful, Lisa. You have described the interaction between mother and daughter perfectly. Sadly, although my mum has hazel-coloured eyes, that’s exactly how it is. You just need to take those little moments and be glad, very glad  💛 

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Heather Chrzanowski
Heather Chrzanowski(@heather-chrzanowski)
4 months ago

In just 100 words you have communicated so much about the sadness and love between these characters. Sniffle! 😢 Great job at tugging on my heart strings! ❤️

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Melissa Taggart
Melissa Taggart(@melissa-taggart)
4 months ago

I’m really happy that warmth could be found within the sadness. Great story, Lisa. Welcome to the club!

Linda Rock
Linda Rock(@linda-rock)
4 months ago

Congratulations Lisa! A story that goes straight to the heart.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Shobana Gomes
Shobana Gomes(@shobana-gomes)
4 months ago

It is so sad to see a loved one in that state of consciousness. You captured those emotions so well in those few lines. Well done, Lisa.

Susan Dawson
Susan Dawson(@susan-dawson)
4 months ago

This is a path I am half way along with a loved one, so very familiar

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Sandra James
Sandra James(@sandra-james)
4 months ago

Congratulations, Lisa! A wonderful story  💛 

Lotchie Carmelo
Lotchie Carmelo(@lotchie-carmelo)
3 months ago

A huge congratulations on winning, Lisa. You made it.

Recent Comments


23
0
Selected Authors may submit comments (5 Credits)x
()
x
Scroll to Top

Sharing a Post

Why do my friends need to SignIn to read the post I shared?

Actually, this is a voting security feature. During public voting, only club members can read posts submitted for that contest. Since anyone reading the story is able to vote (click the Like button), we reserve these capabilities to members who SignIn. Before we implemented this security feature, people were voting multiple times and making the public voting process unfair and out of balance. To fix this, our staff finally decided to allow only members who SignIn to read the stories. Membership is free and easy, and ensures our club is safe, secure, and family-friendly!