His eyes were the deepest blue of midnight, glittering with possibility and promise. Stars were born in those inky depths, and she felt she might be falling, losing herself amidst that swirling galaxy.

Her lips parted on a soft exhale, tension slipping away. Strong arms saved her from collapse as her body went limp, and still she couldn’t tear her gaze from his.

“Lara,” he whispered, his face mere inches away.

His sensual mouth curved in a wicked smile, revealing sharp, white fangs. She had time to feel only a fleeting sense of panic before she lost herself entirely.

5 1 vote
Post Rating
Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
21 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Carrie OLeary
Carrie OLeary(@carrie-oleary)
5 months ago

I more than like this, Emily, I love it. Great writing, and certainly—captivating! Very nicely done!

Linda Rock
Linda Rock(@linda-rock)
5 months ago

Oh Emily, you had me floating in a romantic haze right up until that final paragraph! What a twist, absolutely brilliant! And so well written, as always.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Lotchie Carmelo
Lotchie Carmelo(@lotchie-carmelo)
5 months ago

Wow! What a brilliant story. I was carried away until the twist came at the end. Love it. You are great writer, as always. Well done. 

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Lotchie Carmelo
Lotchie Carmelo(@lotchie-carmelo)
Reply to  Emily O'Leary
5 months ago

You are welcome, Emily.

Fuji
Fuji(@fuji)
5 months ago

That first paragraph is so beautiful, Emily. You had me captivated with your superb choice of words. Then the surprise ending knocked me over! Great writing.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Margarida Brei
Margarida Brei(@margarida-brei)
5 months ago

Adored your powerful opening sentence; it really pulled me into what I thought would be a romantic flash fiction.

Sandra James
Sandra James(@sandra-james)
5 months ago

Yes, Emily, you had me believing the romance, too! A pair of deep blue eyes and we lose all common sense  😕  Well written and a great twist ending.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Christer Norrlof
Christer Norrlof(@christer-norrlof)
4 months ago

I love the exquisite language and the surprising twist in your story, Emily. Very well done!

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Heather Chrzanowski
Heather Chrzanowski(@heather-chrzanowski)
4 months ago

I loved this! Lol, you and I must of been on the same train of thought! Check out my short piece titled, “Duncan Fraser.” Cheers to a fellow horror writer! 😀 The last two sentences you wrote…chilling!

Marianna Pieterse
Marianna Pieterse(@marianna-pieterse)
4 months ago

Emily, I thought ‘what a lovely, romantic story, she’s so lucky that he was there to catch her’, then I read that last line! Brilliant twist, well done!

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Linda Rock
Linda Rock(@linda-rock)
4 months ago

Congratulations Emily! Loved this story, such an unexpected twist!

Lotchie Carmelo
Lotchie Carmelo(@lotchie-carmelo)
3 months ago

Congratulations, Emily. Cheers on your achievement.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.

Recent Comments


21
0
Selected Authors may submit comments (5 Credits)x
()
x
Scroll to Top

Sharing a Post

Why do my friends need to SignIn to read the post I shared?

Actually, this is a voting security feature. During public voting, only club members can read posts submitted for that contest. Since anyone reading the story is able to vote (click the Like button), we reserve these capabilities to members who SignIn. Before we implemented this security feature, people were voting multiple times and making the public voting process unfair and out of balance. To fix this, our staff finally decided to allow only members who SignIn to read the stories. Membership is free and easy, and ensures our club is safe, secure, and family-friendly!