I’m eight when I first spot an electric blue eye peering at me through a hole in the garden fence.

Nine. I’m sat alone at my school desk when the chair beside me scrapes across the carpet. I look up into familiar blue eyes alight with mischief.

We’re thirteen, sitting shoulder to shoulder, getting scolded for skipping school. A side glance shows her bright blues wide with feigned innocence.

Eighteen, dancing close at our prom, those piercing blues send a jolt straight to my heart.

Twenty-two and she stands before me in her white dress, eyes a searing blue flame.

5 1 vote
Post Rating
Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
17 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Carrie OLeary
Carrie OLeary(@carrie-oleary)
5 months ago

A very moving look at little snippets of life, all culminating in a beautiful ending. Nicely done, Emily.

Margarida Brei
Margarida Brei(@margarida-brei)
5 months ago

Emily, you are very careful to put someone’s history into a mere hundred or less words.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Sandra James
Sandra James(@sandra-james)
5 months ago

A lovely romance… but, this time I was all prepared for a twist  😆  Tricked again! Seriously, well written and I loved the progression through the years.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Linda Rock
Linda Rock(@linda-rock)
5 months ago

A love story told through time and the changing colour of her eyes, I loved it, Emily!

Lotchie Carmelo
Lotchie Carmelo(@lotchie-carmelo)
5 months ago

Hello, Emily. Such a captivating romance story with a beautiful ending and nice progression by changing the color of the eyes. I love it. Well done. 

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Lotchie Carmelo
Lotchie Carmelo(@lotchie-carmelo)
Reply to  Emily O'Leary
4 months ago

You are welcome, Emily.

Marianna Pieterse
Marianna Pieterse(@marianna-pieterse)
5 months ago

This was beautiful, Emily! I love how we were given little glimpses of the stages of their lives. Stunning!

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Christer Norrlof
Christer Norrlof(@christer-norrlof)
4 months ago

You have given us five fascinating verbal photos of a person, Emily, pointing straight at a deepening relationship with the viewer. A great progression and description.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Heather Chrzanowski
Heather Chrzanowski(@heather-chrzanowski)
4 months ago

I love how this story was expertly broken down into snap shots of this couple’s romantic journey. Very unique and piqued my interest right away. The image of the eye peering through the hole in the garden fence was excellent. Great job!

Recent Comments


17
0
Selected Authors may submit comments (5 Credits)x
()
x
Scroll to Top

Sharing a Post

Why do my friends need to SignIn to read the post I shared?

Actually, this is a voting security feature. During public voting, only club members can read posts submitted for that contest. Since anyone reading the story is able to vote (click the Like button), we reserve these capabilities to members who SignIn. Before we implemented this security feature, people were voting multiple times and making the public voting process unfair and out of balance. To fix this, our staff finally decided to allow only members who SignIn to read the stories. Membership is free and easy, and ensures our club is safe, secure, and family-friendly!