Sam carefully sat down and set his cane aside.  “For you and me, it was love at first sight,” he remarked. “You were so carefree. I said I’d keep you safe, but it was you who looked out for me.”

Sam stared at the warm blue eyes that peered back at him.

“If it weren’t for you, who knows where I’d be now,” he grinned. “Sit,” Sam said, patting the seat beside him with a shaky hand. Without being asked twice, Mikey the husky huddled up next to Sam as a fire in the fireplace began to crackle.

0 0 votes
Post Rating
Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
26 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Voice-Team
Voice-Team(@voice-team)
Admin
4 months ago

A dog can be the best possible companion, sharing the give and take of friendship. Thank you for your story.

Carrie OLeary
Carrie OLeary(@carrie-oleary)
5 months ago

A very sweet little story, Marianna. Good job.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Emily O'Leary
Emily O'Leary(@emily-oleary)
5 months ago

I always love stories about our animal companions, the love and loyalty they give us. This is very sweet, Marianna ❤

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Margarida Brei
Margarida Brei(@margarida-brei)
5 months ago

What a sweet twist Marianna, that Sam is lovingly addressing his dog.

Allan Neil
Allan Neil(@allan-neil)
5 months ago

A lovely feel-good story. I wanted to put my arms round both of them.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Linda Rock
Linda Rock(@linda-rock)
5 months ago

What a lovely story, Marianna, that left me with a warm feeling imagining Sam and Mikey sitting in front of that crackling fire. Nicely done!

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Lotchie Carmelo
Lotchie Carmelo(@lotchie-carmelo)
4 months ago

It is a lovely and heartfelt story, Marianna. Love it. Good job.

Lotchie Carmelo
Lotchie Carmelo(@lotchie-carmelo)
Reply to  Marianna Pieterse
4 months ago

You’re welcome, Marianna.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Sandra James
Sandra James(@sandra-james)
4 months ago

Wonderful, Marianna. A heart-warming story and one I can identify with. I adopted a deaf Mini-Dachshund during the early covid-lockdowns, with blue eyes, too! Everyday I ask myself ‘who rescued who?’ Well done  🐶 

Christer Norrlof
Christer Norrlof(@christer-norrlof)
4 months ago

I loved the way your story surprised me, Marianna, and also your description of the close and warm relationship between Sam and Mikey.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Henry Vinicio Valerio Madriz
Henry Vinicio Valerio Madriz(@henry-vinicio-valerio-madriz)
4 months ago

Nicely written… short but with a lot to say. Thanks for sharing.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Linda Rock
Linda Rock(@linda-rock)
4 months ago

Well done, Marianna! Such a heartwarming story, really pleased for you!

Shobana Gomes
Shobana Gomes(@shobana-gomes)
3 months ago

A heart-warming story. Well written, Marianna.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Shobana Gomes
Shobana Gomes(@shobana-gomes)
Reply to  Marianna Pieterse
3 months ago

You are welcome.

Recent Comments

26
0
Selected Authors may submit comments (5 Credits)x
()
x
Scroll to Top

Sharing a Post

Why do my friends need to SignIn to read the post I shared?

Actually, this is a voting security feature. During public voting, only club members can read posts submitted for that contest. Since anyone reading the story is able to vote (click the Like button), we reserve these capabilities to members who SignIn. Before we implemented this security feature, people were voting multiple times and making the public voting process unfair and out of balance. To fix this, our staff finally decided to allow only members who SignIn to read the stories. Membership is free and easy, and ensures our club is safe, secure, and family-friendly!