Elsa’s bedroom was the ‘room-in-the-roof’. One clear night, shortly after she had gone to bed, she sat bolt upright.

The moon had turned blue.

She rushed downstairs. ‘Mummy, there’s a big blue eye in the sky! Come and see!’

I followed her upstairs. Sure enough, the moon had turned the colour of a summer sky.

‘Elsa. You must close your eyes and make a wish without telling me.’

She covered her eyes for five seconds. ‘Done it.’

She looked so serene.

How do you tell a five-year-old there’s been an eruption in Iceland and the dust had made that illusion?

5 1 vote
Post Rating
Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
15 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Carrie OLeary
Carrie OLeary(@carrie-oleary)
5 months ago

I know there is a serious note to the story at the end, but it’s a really sweet tale and I’m so glad Mum kept the truth to herself. Nicely done 🙂

Linda Rock
Linda Rock(@linda-rock)
5 months ago

The moon must have seemed magical to little Elsa that night, Allan. I loved how her mum got her to make a wish keeping the magic alive. A lovely story.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Emily O'Leary
Emily O'Leary(@emily-oleary)
5 months ago

As a mother to a five year old, I can definitely empathise with this mother and her wishes to save her child’s innocence that little bit longer! A very touching story, Allan!

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Margarida Brei
Margarida Brei(@margarida-brei)
4 months ago

Allan, you moved me dramatically through so many emotions. Loved your provocative and unexpected ending.

Marianna Pieterse
Marianna Pieterse(@marianna-pieterse)
4 months ago

Allan, I enjoyed this story so much! I love Elsa’s excitement when she told her Mom to come and look. It reminded me of our little one who always tells me to close my eyes and then leads me through the house to show me some ‘surprise’ like a room she cleaned or something she made 🙂 I am also very happy that Mom turned it into a magical moment, rather than telling Elsa the truth. Lovely story.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Sandra James
Sandra James(@sandra-james)
4 months ago

How do you tell her? You don’t; you do exactly as this loving mother did. A beautiful story, Allen, heartwarming from the first sentence to the last. Well done 🙂

Lotchie Carmelo
Lotchie Carmelo(@lotchie-carmelo)
4 months ago

Hello, Allan. You make me smile in your end note. The innocent reaction of the child is so cute and sweet. Thanks to her mother for keeping the truth to keep her child’s magical moment. Nicely done.

Christer Norrlof
Christer Norrlof(@christer-norrlof)
4 months ago

A very well told story, Allan. I agree with what other readers say about the mother’s reaction. I guess you see such clever, fast-thinking parents only once in a blue moon?

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Susan Dawson
Susan Dawson(@susan-dawson)
4 months ago

Plus, a great starter for the other story competition of ‘Secret wish’

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.

Recent Comments

15
0
Selected Authors may submit comments (5 Credits)x
()
x
Scroll to Top

Sharing a Post

Why do my friends need to SignIn to read the post I shared?

Actually, this is a voting security feature. During public voting, only club members can read posts submitted for that contest. Since anyone reading the story is able to vote (click the Like button), we reserve these capabilities to members who SignIn. Before we implemented this security feature, people were voting multiple times and making the public voting process unfair and out of balance. To fix this, our staff finally decided to allow only members who SignIn to read the stories. Membership is free and easy, and ensures our club is safe, secure, and family-friendly!