“What’s it like to be 100, Great-Grandma?”

“Memories, Wee Lassie.” Edith closed her eyes and smiled wistfully.

“Jitterbugging and Lindy-Hopping till the sun came up. Five foot two, eyes of blue, that was me. Aye, and handsome young lads eating out of my hand – Cinderella at a non-stop ball. None of these games on your iPad, Wee Lassie. All for real.”

“Then along comes midnight, aka Adolph Hitler, and my true love flies up, up and away forever, but not before leaving me with your Grandad in my belly.”

A crystal tear ran down her cheek.

“75 years of memories.”

0 0 votes
Post Rating
17 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Margarida Brei
Margarida Brei(@margarida-brei)
5 months ago

Such a tender sweet tale, Allan, incorporating history, romance and memories.

Carrie OLeary
Carrie OLeary(@carrie-oleary)
5 months ago

Such a bittersweet tale, Allan. Such beautiful memories, but then tainted by war. Are these based on real memories? Very nicely done.

Carrie OLeary
Carrie OLeary(@carrie-oleary)
Reply to  Allan Neil
5 months ago

Looking forward to it 🙂

Linda Rock
Linda Rock(@linda-rock)
5 months ago

I love your Jitterbugging and Lindy-Hopping Edith, Allan! Sadly, her story is not rare during the war years. An emotional read.

Thompson Emate
Thompson Emate(@thompson-emate)
5 months ago

Wow! So Emotional, Allan.

Lotchie Carmelo
Lotchie Carmelo(@lotchie-carmelo)
5 months ago

Very emotional read, Allan.

Lotchie Carmelo
Lotchie Carmelo(@lotchie-carmelo)
Reply to  Allan Neil
5 months ago

You’re welcome, Allan.

Marianna Pieterse
Marianna Pieterse(@marianna-pieterse)
5 months ago

Allan, this is a lovely story that serves as a reminder to the readers of how priceless the elderly are. I frequently wish I could record all the lovely memories my grandmothers used to tell us when we were little. If only we will take the time to listen to… Read more »

Emily O'Leary
Emily O'Leary(@emily-oleary)
5 months ago

A heart wrenching piece Allan, and all too familiar circumstances for the time! Lovely storytelling!

Christer Norrlof
Christer Norrlof(@christer-norrlof)
5 months ago

You certainly have packed a lot of nostalgic details into your story, Allan, especially about dances from the early 1900s. I had to go to YouTube and take a look at the kind of dance which was called the Lindy Hop, inspired by Charles Lindbergh’s Atlantic flight in 1928. It’s… Read more »

Recent Comments







Voice.club hosts SubClubs and Voice Apps

Voice.club hosts SubClubs and Voice Apps

Featuring -

When you SignIn with Google, your support helps Voice.club continue our family-friendly mission.

17
0
Selected Authors may submit comments (5 Credits)x
()
x
Scroll to Top

Sharing a Post

Why do my friends need to SignIn to read the post I shared?

Actually, this is a voting security feature. During public voting, only club members can read posts submitted for that contest. Since anyone reading the story is able to vote (click the Like button), we reserve these capabilities to members who SignIn. Before we implemented this security feature, people were voting multiple times and making the public voting process unfair and out of balance. To fix this, our staff finally decided to allow only members who SignIn to read the stories. Membership is free and easy, and ensures our club is safe, secure, and family-friendly!