Hair dark as midnight, eyes midnight blue, she embodies all the magic and mystery of the witching hour.

When she dances, there’s no escape.  Every move designed to possess the very soul of those who watch and yearn.

But it’s she who is possessed… by love.

Not for me, a lovestruck bartender, who would lay down his life for her.  But for another who disrespects and mistreats her.

Tonight, I can no longer ignore her cries.  Even though I’m no match for him… or the blade that pierces my heart.

And as my life ebbs away… the clock strikes midnight.

5 1 vote
Post Rating
20 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Preston Randall
Preston Randall(@preston-randall)
5 months ago

A great story including the tragic theme of unrequited love. Beautifully described in all its pain including the shocking outcome.

Allan Neil
Allan Neil(@allan-neil)
5 months ago

Whew! Just like that. The ending is as sharp as the knife-thrust. Well-paced story, Linda. Very well done!

Margarida Brei
Margarida Brei(@margarida-brei)
5 months ago

Fast paced story in which you have managed to say so much in so few words. Great descriptive story, Linda!

Lotchie Carmelo
Lotchie Carmelo(@lotchie-carmelo)
5 months ago

Hello, Linda. It is well created story with a very powerful ending in just a few words. Well done.

Lotchie Carmelo
Lotchie Carmelo(@lotchie-carmelo)
Reply to  Linda Rock
5 months ago

You are always welcome, Linda. How are you today?

Lotchie Carmelo
Lotchie Carmelo(@lotchie-carmelo)
Reply to  Linda Rock
5 months ago

I am fine too. Really? That’s not good, be careful of the heatstroke. And here in Northern Mindanao is always raining. Mostly from 1 pm until night. 

Marianna Pieterse
Marianna Pieterse(@marianna-pieterse)
5 months ago

Linda, you packed a lot of information into this gripping, well-paced story. Although the ending was shocking, it was also admirable of your protagonist to fight for her love even though he knew it wouldn’t end well. Great job.

Emily O'Leary
Emily O'Leary(@emily-oleary)
5 months ago

I can only hope that our Lady Midnight notices our brave bartender, and that she escapes her abusive lover!

Melissa Taggart
Melissa Taggart(@melissa-taggart)
5 months ago

I will echo other’s comments here when i say well done, Linda! This was perfectly paced and the ending is very satisfying. I’m rooting for the bartender!

Melissa Taggart
Melissa Taggart(@melissa-taggart)
Reply to  Linda Rock
5 months ago

Thank you, Linda!

Thompson Emate
Thompson Emate(@thompson-emate)
4 months ago

This is a short story with a strong theme that’s relatable. Well done, Linda.

Recent Comments







Voice.club hosts SubClubs and Voice Apps

Voice.club hosts SubClubs and Voice Apps

Featuring -

When you SignIn with Google, your support helps Voice.club continue our family-friendly mission.

20
0
Selected Authors may submit comments (5 Credits)x
()
x
Scroll to Top

Sharing a Post

Why do my friends need to SignIn to read the post I shared?

Actually, this is a voting security feature. During public voting, only club members can read posts submitted for that contest. Since anyone reading the story is able to vote (click the Like button), we reserve these capabilities to members who SignIn. Before we implemented this security feature, people were voting multiple times and making the public voting process unfair and out of balance. To fix this, our staff finally decided to allow only members who SignIn to read the stories. Membership is free and easy, and ensures our club is safe, secure, and family-friendly!