As the midnight chimes faded, two aging sisters, primped and preened in frills and feathers, staggered out of the palace doorway.

“Give me a hand down these steps,” says one, swaying at the most alarming angle. “I think I overdid it with the champagne.”

“What’s this?” says the other, feeling queasy as she bent down to pick up a tiny glass slipper which was gleaming in the moonlight. “Oops, butterfingers, dropped it now! Never mind, wouldn’t have fitted us anyway.”

The next day a charming prince, finding the shards on the step, cried for a lost love.

0 0 votes
Post Rating
16 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Voice-Team
Voice-Team(@voice-team)
Admin
4 months ago

The “Midnight” theme produced an abundance of Cinderella stories; this was our favorite. Tongue in cheek, clever, full of sly humor – a different slant on the age-old fairy tale. The title is delightfully memorable and makes this story stand out among all of the similar Cinderella stories. All you writers,… Read more »

Margarida Brei
Margarida Brei(@margarida-brei)
5 months ago

Oh yes, the Cinderella saga continues. The ugly sister probably dropped the glass slipper on purpose being malicious. If the prince was smart, he would find another way to track his true love.

Allan Neil
Allan Neil(@allan-neil)
Reply to  Margarida Brei
5 months ago

Shame they didn’t have DNA then, as a means to track down the slipper loser!

Thompson Emate
Thompson Emate(@thompson-emate)
5 months ago

Wow! Another version of the Cinderella story. I hope the charming prince will be able to find his lost love.

Linda Rock
Linda Rock(@linda-rock)
5 months ago

Well, that’s one way to ruin a happy ending! Although I have to say, picturing the ugly sisters the worse for wear, made them seem more human somehow! Great twist on the tale Susan and a really good read.

Allan Neil
Allan Neil(@allan-neil)
5 months ago

Nice twist on a familiar story. Mind you, in every panto I ever saw those Sisty Uglers got their just rewards!

Lotchie Carmelo
Lotchie Carmelo(@lotchie-carmelo)
5 months ago

Wow! Nice twist of a new version of Cinderella’s story. 

Emily O'Leary
Emily O'Leary(@emily-oleary)
5 months ago

We definitely all tapped into the same brainwave with this prompt, didn’t we ? I think this has been a great exercise on how everyone can write such a different concept for one idea! I love your take on the ugly sisters, very entertaining. Poor Prince though, I hope he… Read more »

Melissa Taggart
Melissa Taggart(@melissa-taggart)
5 months ago

I quite like these sisters, Susan. I find this version of Cinderella miles more interesting and believable than the original. This is a great story!

Christer Norrlof
Christer Norrlof(@christer-norrlof)
5 months ago

A fun and witty take on the old tale, Susan. I love the idea for the story and your use of words, especially all the alliterations. However, I had to search the meaning of several of the words. I didn’t know smithereens, primed, preened, or butterfingers (in this context). Thanks… Read more »

Marianna Pieterse
Marianna Pieterse(@marianna-pieterse)
5 months ago

When I read the last line, I thought, “No, it can’t be!’ I’m a sucker for happy endings, but that being said, this is a fantastic version of the story and I would love to read more. Will the prince find another way to find his true love? I must… Read more »

Recent Comments







Voice.club hosts SubClubs and Voice Apps

Voice.club hosts SubClubs and Voice Apps

Featuring -

When you SignIn with Google, your support helps Voice.club continue our family-friendly mission.

16
0
Selected Authors may submit comments (5 Credits)x
()
x
Scroll to Top

Sharing a Post

Why do my friends need to SignIn to read the post I shared?

Actually, this is a voting security feature. During public voting, only club members can read posts submitted for that contest. Since anyone reading the story is able to vote (click the Like button), we reserve these capabilities to members who SignIn. Before we implemented this security feature, people were voting multiple times and making the public voting process unfair and out of balance. To fix this, our staff finally decided to allow only members who SignIn to read the stories. Membership is free and easy, and ensures our club is safe, secure, and family-friendly!