“It’s twelve o’clock and here’s the last tune for tonight,” the bandleader announces. “Good night, folks. Thanks for coming.” 

With desperation in their eyes, lonely boys scan the dancehall, now with lowered standards. Unadventurous and earnest young women give up their last hopes. Disappointed, they put their eyeglasses back on. 

As couples start moving to the slow music, the leftovers ponder the fact that once again, they have been judged too ugly, too old, too fat, too  skinny, or too shy.

Next Saturday night, they’ll be back with fresh hopes and almost healed wounds, ready for another round of humiliation. 

5 1 vote
Post Rating
22 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Allan Neil
Allan Neil(@allan-neil)
5 months ago

Oh boy! Does that story bring back some humiliating memories! So very evocative!

Allan Neil
Allan Neil(@allan-neil)
Reply to  Christer Norrlof
5 months ago

My best friend had them flocking round him whilst I stood consumed by jealousy. I remember well nights at the Cowan Institute in Penicuik, or even church hops where I might ask 3 girls and be cold-shouldered before making my excuses and slinking out into the night!

Allan Neil
Allan Neil(@allan-neil)
Reply to  Christer Norrlof
5 months ago

By the way, there’s a joke from the Glasgow Barrowland…Boy: You dancin’?…girl: You askin’?…Boy: I’m askin’…Girl: I’m dancin’

Preston Randall
Preston Randall(@preston-randall)
5 months ago

This story really resonates with me, Christer, having experienced first-hand that awful rejection at an early age. And I have a story “under review” that actually deals with the same theme, but in a somewhat darker way. I thoroughly enjoyed your take on this with your keen eye for emotional… Read more »

Lotchie Carmelo
Lotchie Carmelo(@lotchie-carmelo)
5 months ago

Hello, Christer. Your story brings back memories of discrimination. Those bad memories create a deep impact on my emotional health and cause me to have low self-confidence. Allan is right, it is so very evocative. Well done, Christer.

Lotchie Carmelo
Lotchie Carmelo(@lotchie-carmelo)
Reply to  Christer Norrlof
5 months ago

That’s fine, Christer. I already get over it. 

Melissa Taggart
Melissa Taggart(@melissa-taggart)
5 months ago

I feel that most people could relate to this story, Christer. School dances from the age of thirteen to fifteen seemed to be the worst! Great work.

Margarida Brei
Margarida Brei(@margarida-brei)
5 months ago

What a shame that every Saturday means renewed humiliation to the wallflowers! I found this micro story sad but nevertheless, amusing at the same time. Are you in the photo Christer?

Linda Rock
Linda Rock(@linda-rock)
5 months ago

What a great picture, Christer! It’s worth a thousand words! Rejection is the saddest thing, isn’t it? Your story certainly holds no punches! I love the line ‘boys scan the dancehall, now with lowered standards’. Fab story, now one of my favourites of yours!

Susan Dawson
Susan Dawson(@susan-dawson)
5 months ago

Brings back memories of the 60s. I think we were happy enough dancing round the handbags though in a gaggle of girls

Marianna Pieterse
Marianna Pieterse(@marianna-pieterse)
5 months ago

Christer, you really captured the feeling of rejection! I agree with Melissa that this is something that most people can relate to. This was a well-written story with the perfect image to accompany it!

Marianna Pieterse
Marianna Pieterse(@marianna-pieterse)
Reply to  Christer Norrlof
5 months ago

Christer, it is true, if a person is desperate, they might overlook potential dangers and get themselves into real trouble.

Recent Comments







Voice.club hosts SubClubs and Voice Apps

Voice.club hosts SubClubs and Voice Apps

Featuring -

When you SignIn with Google, your support helps Voice.club continue our family-friendly mission.

22
0
Selected Authors may submit comments (5 Credits)x
()
x
Scroll to Top

Sharing a Post

Why do my friends need to SignIn to read the post I shared?

Actually, this is a voting security feature. During public voting, only club members can read posts submitted for that contest. Since anyone reading the story is able to vote (click the Like button), we reserve these capabilities to members who SignIn. Before we implemented this security feature, people were voting multiple times and making the public voting process unfair and out of balance. To fix this, our staff finally decided to allow only members who SignIn to read the stories. Membership is free and easy, and ensures our club is safe, secure, and family-friendly!