It’s already eleven, the school dance ends at midnight, and I still haven’t left the house. Change my clothes three more times. Ugly idiot. Finally, I rush out the door.

Sweat is oozing from every pore, heart pounding, mouth as dry as the Sahara. I probably smell like I just finished basketball practice.

“Hi, um, would one of you care to, uh, like, dance?” Three girls stare back with cold eyes. 

“I don’t think so.” They start talking again, as if I don’t exist.

Back home, I sit on my bed, open all the pill bottles and start to cry.

0 0 votes
Post Rating
19 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Allan Neil
Allan Neil(@allan-neil)
5 months ago

Oh dear, Preston. That is so much the story of my life (not the pills though.) Very evocative picture of young despair.

Linda Rock
Linda Rock(@linda-rock)
5 months ago

This is heart wrenching, Preston! If only people realised what effect rejection can have on someone already lacking in self esteem. But as much as I intensely dislike those three girls, they are young and still have a lot to learn. My heart goes out to your protagonist and I… Read more »

Margarida Brei
Margarida Brei(@margarida-brei)
5 months ago

Oh, such heartache to be a teen! Stories about dances seem ultra popular now on Voice.Club. You really captured the despair of a teenager, well.

Thompson Emate
Thompson Emate(@thompson-emate)
5 months ago

Oh! What an emotional story. He should please not harm himself. He should take heart. Some of us have gone through that tunnel also. Though, it’s an uneasy experience.

Marianna Pieterse
Marianna Pieterse(@marianna-pieterse)
5 months ago

I think this is such a poignant and very relatable story for many people. It was well told. Great job!

Lotchie Carmelo
Lotchie Carmelo(@lotchie-carmelo)
5 months ago

Rejection really hurts, it can cause despair in young teens. It is a very sad and poignant story, Preston. I wish I was there comforting your protagonist. Well done. 

Lotchie Carmelo
Lotchie Carmelo(@lotchie-carmelo)
Reply to  Preston Randall
5 months ago

You’re most welcome, Preston. How are you?

Lotchie Carmelo
Lotchie Carmelo(@lotchie-carmelo)
Reply to  Preston Randall
5 months ago

Thanks great. 

Emily O'Leary
Emily O'Leary(@emily-oleary)
5 months ago

Touching and heartbreaking story, Preston. One that’s too familiar to many! Teen years are so hard, and it’s so difficult to see the future when the present weighs so heavily.

Christer Norrlof
Christer Norrlof(@christer-norrlof)
5 months ago

Apparently we had the same idea for a Midnight story, Preston, describing the trauma that Saturday nights at the dance hall could create. It’s good to know, although sad, that it seems to be a pretty common experience.

Recent Comments







Voice.club hosts SubClubs and Voice Apps

Voice.club hosts SubClubs and Voice Apps

Featuring -

When you SignIn with Google, your support helps Voice.club continue our family-friendly mission.

19
0
Selected Authors may submit comments (5 Credits)x
()
x
Scroll to Top

Sharing a Post

Why do my friends need to SignIn to read the post I shared?

Actually, this is a voting security feature. During public voting, only club members can read posts submitted for that contest. Since anyone reading the story is able to vote (click the Like button), we reserve these capabilities to members who SignIn. Before we implemented this security feature, people were voting multiple times and making the public voting process unfair and out of balance. To fix this, our staff finally decided to allow only members who SignIn to read the stories. Membership is free and easy, and ensures our club is safe, secure, and family-friendly!