Outside, the boisterous New Year’s Eve crowd follows the second hand of the village clock.

Ten, nine, eight …” the countdown begins.

Inside, Marc wipes Laia’s brow with a cool cloth. “You’re doing great, love. Just breathe.”

“Open the window,” Laia begs. Marc obeys. Laia breathes in rhythm with the counting.

… five, four, three …

“Push!” says the midwife.

“...two, one!” The clock strikes twelve, fireworks explode, bells peal, a cry splits the night.

Marc’s ecstatic, Laia’s tired but triumphant.

“A girl!” Marc yells out the window.

The crowd yells back, “Bon dia, Nova! “

Marc bows, Laia nods. “Nova she shall be.”

0 0 votes
Post Rating
Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
9 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Voice-Team
Voice-Team(@voice-team)
Admin
22 days ago

An entire village participates in a birthing – what a lovely idea! The reader is right there with the midwife and the new parents in this down to earth tale of a new year and a new life. A joyful take on the midnight theme.

Emily O'Leary
Emily O'Leary(@emily-oleary)
1 month ago

I’ve been waiting for a New Year’s story!

This was lovely Fuji, wonderfully written and just a joy to read!

Lotchie Carmelo
Lotchie Carmelo(@lotchie-carmelo)
1 month ago

Wow! A blessed and lucky new year for Marc and Laia, who gave birth to their daughter on the first second of the new year. I was carried away by all the events in your story, my heart also jumped with joy. Well done.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Allan Neil
Allan Neil(@allan-neil)
1 month ago

Joy abounds! A New Year, a new life and, I guess, a new father and mother. At least I hope so. Well done, Fuji. Happiness is currently in pretty short supply and your dose of it will brighten all who read it.

Preston Randall
Preston Randall(@preston-randall)
1 month ago

A wonderful story full of hope, Fuji! Just what we need right now.

Margarida Brei
Margarida Brei(@margarida-brei)
1 month ago

I enjoyed all the noise, chaos and joy in this story Fuji. Well done!

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Linda Rock
Linda Rock(@linda-rock)
1 month ago

Such an uplifting story, Fuji. You describe the scene so well that I could actually taste the atmosphere surrounding the birth and share in the parent’s joy. A lovely read.

Thompson Emate
Thompson Emate(@thompson-emate)
1 month ago

Wow! What a lovely story, Fuji. It’s a story to start the year with.

Christer Norrlof
Christer Norrlof(@christer-norrlof)
1 month ago

I love the combination of the birth of the new year and the birth of the girl, Fuji. Your story is very well paced and captivating. Is it based on a true event? Are Nova or her parents historical persons?

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Become a PatronHelp support our family-friendly mission

Recent Comments



9
0
Selected Authors may submit comments (5 Credits)x
()
x
Scroll to Top

Sharing a Post

Why do my friends need to SignIn to read the post I shared?

Actually, this is a voting security feature. During public voting, only club members can read posts submitted for that contest. Since anyone reading the story is able to vote (click the Like button), we reserve these capabilities to members who SignIn. Before we implemented this security feature, people were voting multiple times and making the public voting process unfair and out of balance. To fix this, our staff finally decided to allow only members who SignIn to read the stories. Membership is free and easy, and ensures our club is safe, secure, and family-friendly!