Clock alarm at midnight.

I got up. I took the lighter and red candle and lit it. While holding the lighted candle, I slowly walked towards a dim mirror.

I closed my eyes and whispered: “Mirror, mirror on the wall. Show me the man I will marry and love for the rest of my life.” Then, I slowly opened my eyes but saw nothing.

“Where are you, my dear? Show yourself!”

And a cold wind came and took over my entire room. I trembled with fear. So I turned around and panicked back to my bed.

5 1 vote
Post Rating
Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
16 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Preston Randall
Preston Randall(@preston-randall)
1 month ago

Really good, creepy story! I especially liked the suspenseful buildup to the climactic “…show yourself!”. And the ending brought to mind – be careful what you wish for. Well done.

Thompson Emate
Thompson Emate(@thompson-emate)
1 month ago

This is creepy. I like the build-up of the story. Well done. It’s so good to read a story from you after a long while.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Melissa Taggart
Melissa Taggart(@melissa-taggart)
1 month ago

Great story, Lotchie! I love the ending. This was a well-paced story and had a great buildup. I would also panic back to bed!

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Allan Neil
Allan Neil(@allan-neil)
1 month ago

Lovely build up and what a shivery ending. Well-constructed story, Lotchie.

Margarida Brei
Margarida Brei(@margarida-brei)
1 month ago

From planning to confidence, to fear. Great intriguing story. In times of trouble, bed is the place to be. I found it humorous that she jumped back in bed. You really deserve the 5 star post rating, Lotchie.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Linda Rock
Linda Rock(@linda-rock)
1 month ago

The wait for another story from you Lotchie, was well worth it! I too loved the build-up to that scary ‘cold wind’ at the end. I’d have scurried back to my bed too… and hid under the covers! Well done!

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Christer Norrlof
Christer Norrlof(@christer-norrlof)
1 month ago

You really build up some tension and dark magic in this story, Lotchie. It’s kind of an anticlimax for your poor protagonist who is challenging the spirits after having set her alarm clock at midnight, but then hurries to safety in bed when they get active. Great job.

Allan Neil
Allan Neil(@allan-neil)
1 month ago

Short, but telling. I could feel your panic, Lotchie. Well done (again)

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Become a PatronHelp support our family-friendly mission

Recent Comments



16
0
Selected Authors may submit comments (5 Credits)x
()
x
Scroll to Top

Sharing a Post

Why do my friends need to SignIn to read the post I shared?

Actually, this is a voting security feature. During public voting, only club members can read posts submitted for that contest. Since anyone reading the story is able to vote (click the Like button), we reserve these capabilities to members who SignIn. Before we implemented this security feature, people were voting multiple times and making the public voting process unfair and out of balance. To fix this, our staff finally decided to allow only members who SignIn to read the stories. Membership is free and easy, and ensures our club is safe, secure, and family-friendly!