Clock alarm at midnight.

I got up. I took the lighter and red candle and lit it. While holding the lighted candle, I slowly walked towards a dim mirror.

I closed my eyes and whispered: “Mirror, mirror on the wall. Show me the man I will marry and love for the rest of my life.” Then, I slowly opened my eyes but saw nothing.

“Where are you, my dear? Show yourself!”

And a cold wind came and took over my entire room. I trembled with fear. So I turned around and panicked back to my bed.

5 1 vote
Post Rating
16 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Preston Randall
Preston Randall(@preston-randall)
5 months ago

Really good, creepy story! I especially liked the suspenseful buildup to the climactic “…show yourself!”. And the ending brought to mind – be careful what you wish for. Well done.

Thompson Emate
Thompson Emate(@thompson-emate)
5 months ago

This is creepy. I like the build-up of the story. Well done. It’s so good to read a story from you after a long while.

Melissa Taggart
Melissa Taggart(@melissa-taggart)
5 months ago

Great story, Lotchie! I love the ending. This was a well-paced story and had a great buildup. I would also panic back to bed!

Allan Neil
Allan Neil(@allan-neil)
5 months ago

Lovely build up and what a shivery ending. Well-constructed story, Lotchie.

Margarida Brei
Margarida Brei(@margarida-brei)
5 months ago

From planning to confidence, to fear. Great intriguing story. In times of trouble, bed is the place to be. I found it humorous that she jumped back in bed. You really deserve the 5 star post rating, Lotchie.

Linda Rock
Linda Rock(@linda-rock)
5 months ago

The wait for another story from you Lotchie, was well worth it! I too loved the build-up to that scary ‘cold wind’ at the end. I’d have scurried back to my bed too… and hid under the covers! Well done!

Christer Norrlof
Christer Norrlof(@christer-norrlof)
5 months ago

You really build up some tension and dark magic in this story, Lotchie. It’s kind of an anticlimax for your poor protagonist who is challenging the spirits after having set her alarm clock at midnight, but then hurries to safety in bed when they get active. Great job.

Allan Neil
Allan Neil(@allan-neil)
5 months ago

Short, but telling. I could feel your panic, Lotchie. Well done (again)

Recent Comments







Voice.club hosts SubClubs and Voice Apps

Voice.club hosts SubClubs and Voice Apps

Featuring -

When you SignIn with Google, your support helps Voice.club continue our family-friendly mission.

16
0
Selected Authors may submit comments (5 Credits)x
()
x
Scroll to Top

Sharing a Post

Why do my friends need to SignIn to read the post I shared?

Actually, this is a voting security feature. During public voting, only club members can read posts submitted for that contest. Since anyone reading the story is able to vote (click the Like button), we reserve these capabilities to members who SignIn. Before we implemented this security feature, people were voting multiple times and making the public voting process unfair and out of balance. To fix this, our staff finally decided to allow only members who SignIn to read the stories. Membership is free and easy, and ensures our club is safe, secure, and family-friendly!