She’d waited all day for him to come home so she could break the good news.

But, as soon as he arrived, he broke into a rant.

“The house is a mess!  And you, you’re not the woman I married, you’ve let yourself go!”

Is it any wonder, she thought, with five kids under the age of ten and you never lifting a finger to help.

“I want a divorce!” his parting words, on leaving.

Shocked, she imagined life without him, for her and the kids.

Removing the winning EuroMillions lottery ticket from her pocket… she broke into a smile.

0 0 votes
Post Rating
Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
19 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Carrie OLeary
Carrie OLeary(@carrie-oleary)
1 month ago

Love this, Linda. Sounds like your protagonist has a pretty awesome life ahead of her. Definitely sounds like she has something to smile about 🙂

Thompson Emate
Thompson Emate(@thompson-emate)
1 month ago

Oh! Linda. This is a lovely story. At first, I was emotional thinking of how she would cope with the quintuplets but in the end, I smiled. This deserves a win. A well-crafted story. Well done.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Christer Norrlof
Christer Norrlof(@christer-norrlof)
1 month ago

Now, there’s a twist I didn’t expect! You last line made me burst out with laughter. And a big smile, of course. Very well done!

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Lotchie Carmelo
Lotchie Carmelo(@lotchie-carmelo)
1 month ago

Wow! Lovely. Your twist, in the end, is like a bar of chocolate that makes me smile and want more. I am surprised. I can also sense the greatest regret of her husband. Well done. 

Lotchie Carmelo
Lotchie Carmelo(@lotchie-carmelo)
Reply to  Linda Rock
1 month ago

You’re welcome, Linda.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Melissa Taggart
Melissa Taggart(@melissa-taggart)
1 month ago

Here I am cheering for the protaginist, Linda! She certainly deserves these winnings. The poor thing coming from a loveless home makes me think that it may take more than money to make her whole. But this is certainly a good start! Great work.

Preston Randall
Preston Randall(@preston-randall)
1 month ago

This is such a great relatable story. We all know a version of that miserable, awful guy, somewhere, and to see him finally receive the short end of the stick is just soooo satisfying. Thanks for giving all of us something to smile about.

Last edited 1 month ago by Preston Randall
Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Margarida Brei
Margarida Brei(@margarida-brei)
1 month ago

Absolutely loved this story. The lazy demanding husband versus the quiet wife. How clever of you to end on the word “smile.”

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Marianna Pieterse
Marianna Pieterse(@marianna-pieterse)
1 month ago

When I read the line where the husband asked your protagonist for a divorce, it really frustrated me. It made me think that he was choosing ‘the easy way out’, instead of actually trying to make things better, but reading the last line I smiled too! If he’d known he certainly would have stayed and pretended to be nice until the money was squandered, I have no doubt. Another great story, Linda!

Heather Chrzanowski
Heather Chrzanowski(@heather-chrzanowski)
1 month ago

Oh yes, this story was awesome! Awesome! Really fabulous.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.

Recent Comments

19
0
Selected Authors may submit comments (5 Credits)x
()
x
Scroll to Top

Sharing a Post

Why do my friends need to SignIn to read the post I shared?

Actually, this is a voting security feature. During public voting, only club members can read posts submitted for that contest. Since anyone reading the story is able to vote (click the Like button), we reserve these capabilities to members who SignIn. Before we implemented this security feature, people were voting multiple times and making the public voting process unfair and out of balance. To fix this, our staff finally decided to allow only members who SignIn to read the stories. Membership is free and easy, and ensures our club is safe, secure, and family-friendly!