Jack dreamed of a home. Other people had them; talked about them; bragged about them. Every advertisement he watched invited you home to a warm fire, a scrumptious meal or a cosy bed. There were so many possibilities to turn your house into a home. The trouble was that you needed a house first, Jack thought. Although he had saved as much as he could, working at the garage, he was never going to afford more than the rundown rental he currently occupied.

He was grateful to have Marie. Marie of the golden hair and the gentle smile, who didn’t care where they lived, as long as it was together. When Marie moved in, the rundown rental began to reflect the brightness of her laughing eyes. She asked the owner if they could paint the walls and the house was transformed by her colour choices.

When Jack gave her a ring, he promised that one day, he would give her a home. Marie’s smile was a mile wide.

“And I promise you Jack, that I will make a home,” she replied.

Jack worked and saved. On their weekends, he and Marie fixed the front fence and planted a garden. Their rundown rental was no longer rundown.

“Prettiest house in the street,” Marie praised their handywork.

Still Jack continued to study house plans; those house plans were forgotten when Marie’s pregnancy test came back positive. 

Some of their hard earned savings went on furnishing a nursery. Marie kept herself busy sewing curtains and making cushion covers. Each day as Jack stepped through his newly painted front door, he felt the house looked warmer and more inviting. Together they counted down the days.

The sun was shining when Jack brought Marie and baby Jenny back from the hospital. He carefully cradled the most precious gift he had ever received. Marie opened the gate to their lovely garden. She glanced at the joy on her husband’s face and knew that the penny had finally dropped. It was never about the house.

“Welcome home Jack,” she said with her gentle smile.  

0 0 votes
Post Rating
19 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Sandra James
Sandra James(@sandra-james)
2 years ago

Great story, Mary! I love the way it progresses and that penny that finally drops. A very satisfying conclusion 🙂

Alan Kemister
Alan Kemister(@alan-kemister)
2 years ago

Fine story, liked the way it ended. This story should inspire every do it yourselfer fixing up an old house.

Eric Radcliffe
Eric Radcliffe(@eric-radcliffe)
2 years ago

Yes, I loved the freshness in this story, the moral too. How often do we get caught up in what we can not have, when in fact what we have, is after all, what we make it. Well done.

musing mind
musing mind(@musing-mind)
2 years ago

Your story felt so close to my heart. Very well written.

Katy Bizi
Katy Bizi(@katy-bizi)
2 years ago

Such a beautiful story with a well-written ending! The author did a very good job.

Leena Auckel
Leena Auckel(@leena-auckel)
2 years ago

A house becomes a home by the warmth of a complete family. Beautiful piece!

Susan Giles
Susan Giles(@susan-giles)
2 years ago

Enjoyed the story, especially the ending. A good description of a happy home.

Susan Dawson
Susan Dawson(@susan-dawson)
2 years ago

You have managed to incorporate a lot of layers in your story in relatively few words

Lotchie Carmelo
Lotchie Carmelo(@lotchie-carmelo)
1 year ago

What a nice story of a simple living family with the contentment of what they have. As long as they live together and they are complete, they are grateful and happy. A very satisfying end that leaves a moral lesson to me. Thank you. 

Lotchie Carmelo
Lotchie Carmelo(@lotchie-carmelo)
Reply to  Mary Wallace
1 year ago

You’re welcome, Mary. Keep safe.

Recent Comments







Voice.club hosts SubClubs and Voice Apps

Voice.club hosts SubClubs and Voice Apps

Featuring -

When you SignIn with Google, your support helps Voice.club continue our family-friendly mission.

19
0
Selected Authors may submit comments (5 Credits)x
()
x
Scroll to Top

Sharing a Post

Why do my friends need to SignIn to read the post I shared?

Actually, this is a voting security feature. During public voting, only club members can read posts submitted for that contest. Since anyone reading the story is able to vote (click the Like button), we reserve these capabilities to members who SignIn. Before we implemented this security feature, people were voting multiple times and making the public voting process unfair and out of balance. To fix this, our staff finally decided to allow only members who SignIn to read the stories. Membership is free and easy, and ensures our club is safe, secure, and family-friendly!