Crystal raced through the corridor, her breath hitching. The old wooden floor cracked beneath her feet but she was used to the unstable surface.

She threw herself at the door as she placed the key in the lock, the only way to get it to open. Right then, a high pitched yell tore through the night. She stiffened. Her parents were in a bad mood. Again.

Her head dropped and her shoulders slumped as she walked past her parents’ screaming fit. She knew better than to try to calm them down. It would only get her hit on the head and thrown out of the apartment.

She slipped into the bathroom and quietly locked the door. She dropped to the dirty tiles and hugged her knees. She would just hide out here until they quieted down.

The hot tears bubbling in her eyes were hard to contain. Her feet stung, in fact every part of her body hurt. She had started her day by working at the bakery before going to her high school. After school, she had to walk a few miles to get to the café that had hired her recently. That was her second job; it ran until late at night. And at the end of such a tiring day, she had to come home to this mess.

The loud sound of a door shutting jerked her out of her thoughts. Slowly, she rose to her feet and made her way to the living room. A goofy smile grew on her face as she realized her parents had left. She was all alone, finally.

With a sudden burst of energy, she reached under the couch and pulled out her most prized possession. A worn-out book. Sighing in happiness, she sat down and opened it.

As she turned the pages, the world around her began fading. Witches and dragons were now keeping her company, filling her soul with strength. She was no longer just a powerless kid. She could be whatever she wanted.

Her smile drew even bigger.

She was where she belonged.

She was finally at home.

5 2 votes
Post Rating
Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
27 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Sandra James
Sandra James(@sandra-james)
2 years ago

I love the way you’ve taken Crystal from a horrible situation to a wonderful escape. Very well written and I enjoyed it very much. Well done, Katy!

Eric Radcliffe
Eric Radcliffe(@eric-radcliffe)
2 years ago

We all need a place of refuge at times. Crystal has hers – well written. Katy.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Jay Vaananen
Jay Vaananen(@jay-vaananen)
2 years ago

Great story, all that negative intensity of an unhappy home and then an escape from it, even if it is for just a while. A real emotional ride for the reader, just as a story should be. Excellent.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
musing mind
musing mind(@musing-mind)
2 years ago

At times all we need is a corner in our homes. Very touching story Katy.

Susan Dawson
Susan Dawson(@susan-dawson)
2 years ago

I like the concept of home here. Well crafted ending.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Susan Giles
Susan Giles(@susan-giles)
2 years ago

You took an all-too-common painful occurrence and gave it a happy ending. Wonderful descriptive writing drew me in to the story. Well written.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Leena Auckel
Leena Auckel(@leena-auckel)
2 years ago

Don’t we all find refuge in a good book and go on adventures with the characters of the book. A good piece Katy!

Pragya Rathore
Pragya Rathore(@pragya-rathore)
2 years ago

Ah, an escapist character! Truly relatable. You captured the beauty of living in a fictional world perfectly. I loved your piece.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Mary Kot
Mary Kot(@mary-kot)
1 year ago

When we think of “home”, this definitely isn’t what we are imagining. It’s really a unique perceptive of this word!

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Mary Kot
Mary Kot(@mary-kot)
Reply to  Katy Bizi
1 year ago

You’re welcome!

Panos Bizi
Panos Bizi(@panos-bizi)
1 year ago

Crystal has found such a wonderful escape. It might not be an ordinary home but it’s hers and that’s all that matters.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Lotchie Carmelo
Lotchie Carmelo(@lotchie-carmelo)
1 year ago

I enjoy it so much. I know Crystal finds an unusual home, a nice escape. Sometimes all we need is to be alone and be free.

Lotchie Carmelo
Lotchie Carmelo(@lotchie-carmelo)
Reply to  Katy Bizi
1 year ago

You’re most welcome, Katy. You deserve all the kind words. Hope to read more from you here.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Julie Harris
Julie Harris(@julie-harris)
1 year ago

What a great story, Katy. Books have been a refuge, solace and sanctuary for so many of us throughout the ages! Well done!

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.

Recent Comments


27
0
Selected Authors may submit comments (5 Credits)x
()
x
Scroll to Top

Sharing a Post

Why do my friends need to SignIn to read the post I shared?

Actually, this is a voting security feature. During public voting, only club members can read posts submitted for that contest. Since anyone reading the story is able to vote (click the Like button), we reserve these capabilities to members who SignIn. Before we implemented this security feature, people were voting multiple times and making the public voting process unfair and out of balance. To fix this, our staff finally decided to allow only members who SignIn to read the stories. Membership is free and easy, and ensures our club is safe, secure, and family-friendly!