View

Country:

United Kingdom

State / Province:
Nottinghamshire
City:
Edwinstowe

Sublime Symmetry

I know that the patterns on moths are always symmetrical, but I think this is especially noticeable in the Angle Shades moth. I love the curve of the wing, the colours are sublime, blending in to create a thing of beauty. This one’s on the maple tree in our garden. 

0 0 votes
Post Rating
Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
17 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Fuji
Fuji(@fuji)
1 year ago

What a picture, Carrie! I’ve been a fan of butterflies my entire life, but I must admit I didn’t give much thought to moths. With just two pictures, you’ve changed my ignorance to fascination. This one looks like a Native American blanket – such a gorgeous and intricate pattern!

Susan Dawson
Susan Dawson(@susan-dawson)
Reply to  Carrie OLeary
1 year ago

Great to have 2 hobbies in one, Carrie. I do the photography but not macro.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Emily O'Leary
Emily O'Leary(@emily-oleary)
1 year ago

Moths are so underrated! I love the contrast in colour between the moth and the leaf in this picture.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Lotchie Carmelo
Lotchie Carmelo(@lotchie-carmelo)
1 year ago

This photo shows the beauty of nature and I love it so much.

Lotchie Carmelo
Lotchie Carmelo(@lotchie-carmelo)
Reply to  Carrie OLeary
1 year ago

Yes. Thank you for the incredible pictures, Carrie.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Christer Norrlof
Christer Norrlof(@christer-norrlof)
1 year ago

Another impressive photo and interesting comments. This is great. Again, thank you, Carrie!

Linda Rock
Linda Rock(@linda-rock)
1 year ago

I too love the contrast in colour of the leaf and moth. The markings on the moth are quite exquisite. Amazing picture Carrie.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Eric Radcliffe
Eric Radcliffe(@eric-radcliffe)
1 year ago

The Universe Carrie is an amazing place. Yhe wisdom behind nature is utterly mind blowing, and none of it by accident.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Daisy Blacklock
Daisy Blacklock(@daisy-blacklock)
1 year ago

It looks so pretty. It really stands out on the dark red maple tree. I love maple trees.

Become a PatronHelp support our family-friendly mission

Recent Comments

17
0
Selected Authors may submit comments (5 Credits)x
()
x
Scroll to Top

Sharing a Post

Why do my friends need to SignIn to read the post I shared?

Actually, this is a voting security feature. During public voting, only club members can read posts submitted for that contest. Since anyone reading the story is able to vote (click the Like button), we reserve these capabilities to members who SignIn. Before we implemented this security feature, people were voting multiple times and making the public voting process unfair and out of balance. To fix this, our staff finally decided to allow only members who SignIn to read the stories. Membership is free and easy, and ensures our club is safe, secure, and family-friendly!