View

Country:

United Kingdom

State / Province:
Northumberland
City:
Morpeth

Emily in the Park

This steel sculpture of suffragette Emily Wilding Davison in our park is by Ray Lonsdale who featured in my ‘Inspired by Tommy’ story . She is seen spilling her dish of food as if on hunger strike in prison. She was buried here in Morpeth after falling under the King’s horse.

0 0 votes
Post Rating
Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
14 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Carrie OLeary
Carrie OLeary(@carrie-oleary)
1 year ago

What a fantastic artist, his statues are stunning. I wonder what Emily Wilding Davison would think if she saw herself immortalised in this world. What a difference the suffragette movement made!

Carrie OLeary
Carrie OLeary(@carrie-oleary)
Reply to  Susan Dawson
1 year ago

That’s so funny; or is it true? ??

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Lotchie Carmelo
Lotchie Carmelo(@lotchie-carmelo)
1 year ago

She is very stunning. And her statue tells enough about the power of women in every corner of the world. Women are brave and strong in their way.

Linda Rock
Linda Rock(@linda-rock)
1 year ago

So very sad this lady lost her life for her beliefs and the reason I never fail to vote. A beautiful statue that tells her story and commemorates her bravery now captured in your photo.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Christer Norrlof
Christer Norrlof(@christer-norrlof)
1 year ago

Interesting, Susan. If there will ever be a theme that allows for you to write about it, I would like to read more about Emily’s death.

Christer Norrlof
Christer Norrlof(@christer-norrlof)
Reply to  Susan Dawson
1 year ago

Thanks for sharing the very well written article about Emily Wilding Davison, Susan. I had never heard about this important woman before, but now, thanks to you, I have. What a courageous and dedicated woman she was! I am proud to see that she and I share the same birthday.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Susan Giles
Susan Giles(@susan-giles)
1 year ago

A bit of history of which I was not aware. Thank you for educating us!

Eric Radcliffe
Eric Radcliffe(@eric-radcliffe)
1 year ago

Susan how much do we all owe those Heroic Women, who stood up to bring about change, in a time when women were not recognized as having a voice.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Daisy Blacklock
Daisy Blacklock(@daisy-blacklock)
1 year ago

Emily Wilding Davison was such a wonderful, inspirational woman in history, I’m glad that her memory still lives on. The steel structure is magnificent. The park looks like a wonderful place.

Become a PatronHelp support our family-friendly mission

Recent Comments




14
0
Selected Authors may submit comments (5 Credits)x
()
x
Scroll to Top

Sharing a Post

Why do my friends need to SignIn to read the post I shared?

Actually, this is a voting security feature. During public voting, only club members can read posts submitted for that contest. Since anyone reading the story is able to vote (click the Like button), we reserve these capabilities to members who SignIn. Before we implemented this security feature, people were voting multiple times and making the public voting process unfair and out of balance. To fix this, our staff finally decided to allow only members who SignIn to read the stories. Membership is free and easy, and ensures our club is safe, secure, and family-friendly!