View

Country:

United Kingdom

State / Province:
Nottinghamshire
City:
Clumber Park, Worksop

Hidden in the Labyrinth

The web of the labyrinth spider, Agelena labyrinthica, named after the maze-like corridors that it builds inside its web. If you look carefully, to the south-west of centre, you’ll see the spider, probably the female, who stays with the egg sac that is at the top of the web.

0 0 votes
Post Rating
Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
15 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Susan Dawson
Susan Dawson(@susan-dawson)
1 year ago

It looks huge, Carrie. Imagine building that.

Emily O'Leary
Emily O'Leary(@emily-oleary)
1 year ago

As much as spiders terrify me, they really are incredible. This picture really captures what wonderful little architects they are!

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Lotchie Carmelo
Lotchie Carmelo(@lotchie-carmelo)
1 year ago

I love spiders. They are incredible. And I love how they make their web as a trap for their food. They are little but a genius architect.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Lotchie Carmelo
Lotchie Carmelo(@lotchie-carmelo)
Reply to  Carrie OLeary
1 year ago

Wow. Thank you for introducing me to labyrinth spider. I have now another learning to add to my knowledge. The labyrinth mother is very impressive.

Brigitta Hegyi
Brigitta Hegyi(@brigitta-hegyi)
1 year ago

I don’t like spiders inside my house, but I love to see the beautiful webs they create. Amazing picture!

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Christer Norrlof
Christer Norrlof(@christer-norrlof)
1 year ago

This picture, in combination with your comments, is incredible and very fascinating, Carrie. Thanks for enlightening us.

Eric Radcliffe
Eric Radcliffe(@eric-radcliffe)
1 year ago

It’s strange Carrie how almost everyone dislikes spiders. Do you think it is just the thought of being trapped/and being a meal?

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Daisy Blacklock
Daisy Blacklock(@daisy-blacklock)
1 year ago

I have never seen a spiderweb like it. They are so clever. I have no idea how spiders manage to do it. They are so small, yet they can place big ideas in your head and inspire you so much.

Comments without a personalized avatar will not be published.
Become a PatronHelp support our family-friendly mission

Recent Comments


15
0
Selected Authors may submit comments (5 Credits)x
()
x
Scroll to Top

Sharing a Post

Why do my friends need to SignIn to read the post I shared?

Actually, this is a voting security feature. During public voting, only club members can read posts submitted for that contest. Since anyone reading the story is able to vote (click the Like button), we reserve these capabilities to members who SignIn. Before we implemented this security feature, people were voting multiple times and making the public voting process unfair and out of balance. To fix this, our staff finally decided to allow only members who SignIn to read the stories. Membership is free and easy, and ensures our club is safe, secure, and family-friendly!